Chevron Left
Back to How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course) by École Polytechnique

4.6
stars
2,159 ratings
802 reviews

About the Course

What you will achieve: In this project-based course, you will outline a complete scientific paper, choose an appropriate journal to which you'll submit the finished paper for publication, and prepare a checklist that will allow you to independently judge whether your paper is ready to submit. What you'll need to get started: This course is designed for students who have previous experience with academic research - you should be eager to adapt our writing and publishing advice to an existing personal project. If you just finished your graduate dissertation, just began your PhD, or are at a different stage of your academic journey or career and just want to publish your work, this course is for you. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-Centered Courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

TD
Nov 20, 2021

I really liked the course and the contents are great. Except for the language problem, everything else is very good, and really enjoyed learning from peers and instructors. Thank you for the platform.

SM
Apr 11, 2020

The content was very good and explanation was excellent just there was a slight problem with instructors accent but don't worry you will get used to it no time but the course is excellent and helpful

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 802 Reviews for How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course)

By Sanjay J

May 12, 2020

Best

By Parrthipan B K

May 5, 2020

Good

By Doc M Ȝ

Sep 12, 2019

good

By Alexandra R

May 26, 2021

m

By Abdulrahman S A

Jan 7, 2021

h

By Badie G

Oct 17, 2020

The contents of this course are excellent and very important. The delivary was straight and simple. However, it's clear to me that this course was not updated for a long time. You see sometimes the Speech to Text function either delivers wrong representations or just misses the spoken words. The organizers can communicate with the instructors to correct the captions.

In addition, the last assignment need redesign. I was confused (and looks to me others are too) of what exactly was required. It makes sense to write your own checklist which acts as a summary and an actual tool to be used by the students later, but lack of a reference made it vague. For instance, one peer review actually put up an abstract of a paper, not a checklist. Another I found some introductory sentence like "this is a checklist for...", but then nothing is shown. Since we were asked to develop a table, that what you would expect to see, not what I saw for at least 3 peer review assignments in addition to my own Preview of the final assignment.

By Yara Y E

May 5, 2020

This course is well-structured and informative. I learned everything from how to write a well laid-out scientific paper to choosing the appropriate journal and, finally, having it published. It added to my knowledge of basic principles and it drew my attention to aspects that I previously overlooked.

However, there were two factors that hampered my learning journey. Firstly, it was sometimes difficult to work out what some of the instructors say due to their foreign accents. As a result, some parts of the transcript below the video were not translated into the intended words. Secondly, I do not prefer to have my assignments corrected by other peers since they will never be as proficient as instructors giving the course. The peers who reviewed my assignments assigned grades that do not match the efforts, and gave poor remarks such as "good" and "done," with no comments or recommendations.

Nevertheless, I would love to thank Coursera and École Polytechnique for putting together this useful, interesting course.

By Scott M

Jul 3, 2021

As someone new to academia and writing research papers I found this course very interesting. There are a few glitches in the links. For example exercise 4.2, Papers in AMJ links didn't work, but I was able to access a different way. The times for creating your two assignments might have been a little under-estimated, but overall the times were right on. As far as the abstract assignment, it is tough to leave for peer reviews, because publishers, and different disciplines might have different criteria. For instance, I used an abstract from a submission I did recently. The paper received an 89.66%, but the paper was recognized and wanted me to come speak at their conference. I do appreciate the readers/reviewers input however, and feel it will help in the future. I would have liked a little more information on the research and methodology (but that probably is enough for another course). Overall, I thought it was a good kick-start to being more active in research and scientific writing. Thanks

By Soraia M

May 8, 2020

Dear Ecole Team,

Greetings from Uruguay! My name is Soraia Marino, I'm a gradute student of International Business Bachelor.

I hope you are doing well during this quarantine. I appreciate this course a lot because in the future I would like to keep writing Academic Papers on the field of Culture and International Business. I already had submmited some papers but unlucklily I did not succeed. I guess, one day it will happen to me and I will be very happy.

I appreciate all the effort editing the videos, sharing new papers and making recomendations for our future work. Therefore, I experimented some difficulities regarding the second peer assigment, most of the assigments I correct were not even close to be acceptable , it did not reach the minimum pages. What is more, the reviews I got were not even close to be fair. I would strongly recommend to reduce the numbers of pages or show an example in english of a Check list before submitting the assigment.

Thank you so much.

Best Regards,

Soraia Marino

By Mário R P T

Jun 10, 2020

This MOOC allows us to obtain some systematization about the most suitable process to write and publish a scientific paper. However, the entire course is done with PhD students from the 1st year, which does not seem a good strategy, as they still need to have more knowledge to carry out a course with more success. On the other hand, the English of the students is very French, and most of them cannot understand themselves very well, with the exception of Heloise, whose command of the English language is the best of all. Despite this, the effort of these students to engage in a MOOC must be valued.

By Carlos O

Nov 3, 2020

I found the course a quite good experience, it forced me to write (or put in practice) some of the stuff that was not gather together yet. On the other hand, it was sometimes quite difficult to understand part of the videos due the strong accent of some of the colleagues, even subtitled. A couple of exercises were demanding and, depending of the academic moment of each one, they could be pretty annoying. But in the end, it worthed the effort. "Merci à l'équipe pour la création et la mise à disposition de ce cours!" (Google translator also helped a lot!) :)

By Carmela B B

Apr 10, 2020

I have enjoyed this course, the information is good and useful. I am an undergraduate student, so I have some difficulties. For instance, in week 3 the assignment was writing an abstract. If you don't have experimental results, it is not possible to write this abstract. I would like to suggest change this task, for that undergraduate studying who are also interested in doing the course. In my opinion, this course is not only useful for paper, but it is also helpful for final experimental projects degree and master studies.

By Hessam A

Oct 18, 2021

One benefit that differs this course from other courses was its projects, and I failed the assignments more than once. For the first time I wrote my assignment, I thought I learned everything, but when I couldn't pass the projects, I found I didn't know actively, But I've learned everything passive. Then I reviewed lessons more than once to get everything passed and used in my papers; I can write an essay correctly and understand how journals and editors work.

By Richelle A M

Aug 11, 2020

The course gave useful tips on how to properly write the essential elements of the manuscript. Several points were also made which I did not know before like you need to know your community and the editorial board of the journal.

I hope the learners will be serious in answering the assignments. Some of the assignments I peer reviewed were just submitted without effort just because they want to finish the course.

Congratulations to the Course team!

By kashyapi t

Feb 18, 2020

it was indeed a great initiative by the institute ecole polytechnique to teach how to write and publish a scientific paper and i thank each of the professors who has provided immense knowledge and clarity through short precise videos and learning materials. Eager to learn more and awaiting for some more course on research publication paper. Just a humble request kindly provide the materials in english since i couldnt understand french. please

By Tahmin M

May 1, 2020

Very informative and helpful for masters/phd students in the field of science. The complete course will give you not only an overall idea of publishing a scientific paper but also the instructors being phd students will talk about some special tips to avoid desk rejection of paper. In the last week, I really find it helpful to gather information from an editor and an author's point of view. It was really helpful.

By Jessica M T F

Apr 21, 2020

Overall it was a very good online course which can help students to achieve the goal of a publication. However I think in the final week these sessions with the researcher and the editor were too long and not that relevant for this course. Besides that, valuable information was provided and very practical tips too. Thank you all!

By Husam E A M I

Jun 15, 2017

hi........

i am really enjoyed the course ...get more

confident in my self to start writing my paper, It is so great course

can you make more specific tasks about the question you ask us to answer in the discussion

and i would really like to learning using one paper as example and discuss it from writing till publishing

By KAJULURI S S

Jun 25, 2020

Excellent course for the guys to get involved with research writing. I am novice at start but now I got atmost knowledge on how a scientific paper is published and the process that follows to get your paper published. I thank coursera as well as the instructors who detailed it to me.

By Muhammad Q A

Nov 3, 2021

The course is really good to take as it helps me in writing my first ever research article which is currently under reviewing process however, the instructors should improvise his English accent little bit so that the deliverance of content becomes more clear and meaningful.

By Md. S I

May 21, 2020

Thanking Course Teachers & Moderators ...

I'm feeling good to complete this course. It was a pleasant experience.

But a simple change regarding the review system especially checklist review would make this course more batter. More participation as a reviewer is required.

By Fizza F

Jan 24, 2020

The course made me note some really important tips and techniques, which I can actually implement before submitting a paper to a journal. It was user-friendly and was in simple language. I appreciate the hard work of the team behind this course. Thank you.

By London T

May 22, 2020

This course covers the basics of writing a scientific paper, towards publication in an academic journal. One suggestion for the course is to include examples of poor, mediocre, and good abstracts, introductions, presentations of results, etc.

By Damrongrat S

May 23, 2020

The course is great and I encourage everyone to join it. However, I found that there are some distractions from the speakers' gestures and some words that are hard to interpret for non-native. Still, it is very good, overall, and I love it!

By bahreh k

May 30, 2020

Hello dear friends

This course was helpful and full of valuable information, but honesty, somehow boring.

Furthermore, the French accent was hard for me to understand.

I appreciate all your efforts and time for this course.