Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
16,261 ratings

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

AM

Invalid date

A very detailed and comprehensive course with lots of skills to acquire and knowledge to gain. I would recommend it to every person since web development is skill with lots of demand in global market.

AB

Invalid date

Excellent course for people with intermediate knowledge of programming. Very eloquently teaches Bootstrap framework and Javascript along with AJAX. Must take course for any aspiring web developer!

Filter by:

5451 - 5475 of 5,694 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Tummala D

Sep 29, 2020

The course was great until JavaScript kicked in....trust me for beginners, the depth level of basic Javascript concepts is inadequate . No doubt Yaakov is a good teacher but he could have made a detailed session on Javascript concepts...jumping straight into the functions will not only make the beginners lose interest but also it wastes their time .

By Nuanjan S

Jul 19, 2019

The course is great, except some part of the program version that the course use a little bit older than my version. It takes me some time to find the right answer. even if this course provides a lot of resources, I still had a difficult time to understand. But in gernaral, the course helps me learn a lot of basic HTML5, Css, some JavaScript.

By Harish K

Sep 21, 2020

The course is really great but there's a catch, begineers might struggle in Javascript phase as the instructors jumps directly to working with functions with only little basics covered and might end scratching your head which was my case .

p.s: learn Javascript function basics and then proceed with Javascript

By Florent G

Aug 26, 2022

Probably perfect in the range 2015-2017, but time has passed and too much materials are out of date. You will learn to use float layout in CSS, bootstrap 3 with jquery, ajax, and many JS tricks needed in 2015 but not relevant anymore with ES6.

Time to move on, and find course sa bit more up-to-date!

By Dsouza K V

Mar 10, 2022

The HTML, Bootstrap sections were great, although the Js section I found really difficult to understand and implement. Overall i'll say this isnt really a good course to learn web development but rather just to follow along and build a website. Also course content is VERY OUTDATED!

By Olanrewaju M

Aug 4, 2023

This was a great course for beginners. I'm giving it 3 stars because most of the contents are outdated especially the bootstrap and Ajax. I'll suggest Coursera and the instructor to kindly update it. This will help learners focus more on the relevant and important aspect

By Thomas S

Aug 12, 2021

I like the training provided and the instructor explains well, but the graded assignments with adjusting only parts of a much larger website is not the best way to test students' knowledge. It would be better to edit a simpler version of the final product.

By Bardia B

May 24, 2023

All in all, it was a good course and practical and important material is presented in it. But in general, the time required to complete the course is a bit disproportionate to the material presented in it, and I think the time could have been used better.

By Shivam S

Oct 7, 2021

The content till Module 4 is so amazing and well taught, but Module 5 was really tough and not well explained according to me could've been better. But Thank you for taking me from a complete beginner to learning the Basics of Front End Development.

By Badr J

Dec 9, 2016

It is no that perfect.

The instructor focus on explaining what the code do instead of implementing it in the same video.

I think the only downside is that he prepare his code and we can't implement the code at the same time because it is already given

By Nicolas B

Oct 5, 2020

Good to start with a minimum of ease in understanding, but explanations are often missing on the right points while insisting on obvious things. Coding live would help avoiding this issue. Often difficult to understand, while it is basics.

By SUPRIYA P

Sep 1, 2020

Week 4 and week 5 could have been more better with explanation for beginners, suggestion to use video or screenshot for assignment to be done, as what is expected is sometimes not clear from the problem statements

By Johanna C

May 29, 2023

This course relies heavily on GitHub to upload your assignments, GitHub is not user friendly at all and I spent far longer trying to upload the assignments then actually completing them, it was very frustrating.

By SWAPNIL G

Jul 13, 2020

The course is average but the content has become obsolete now. The course is using BootStrap 3 which is not in use for 3 years.Also, the JS portion of how to use it while developing a website is very very less.

By Anthony V S

Mar 30, 2022

Great information, but it needs to be updated because none of the sources are the same as the videos. I spent more time on setup than actually taking the course so I decided to try another course.

By Muhammad Y

Jan 2, 2020

Course Is Awsome .Instrustor gives his best .The only thing that troubles me is that its not updated using bootstrap 3 for assignmnet and here i get badly stuck .Except this everything was perfect

By Eys R

May 4, 2023

As a noob to github, and the date of this tutorial. I can not keep up with the lesson if i have to figure out how to use git hub, because some of the features available the are not available now.

By Чайникова П Н

Jul 6, 2022

Html and css parts are perfect, but you won't learn much of javascript here. Ajax part was really difficult to understand. Also course needs to be updated because technologies are quite old

By Andres R

Sep 4, 2022

I think that this course should be longer, and with more practices. While it explains itself pretty well, I believe it should be spread, so that it can be taught in 2 months or so.

By Mayank A

Sep 22, 2021

This course has been good till the 4th week, but in the 5th week the instructor was in hurry and things were not that clear as it should have been. Couldn't learn ajax properly

By Ravi K

Feb 13, 2022

This course is outdated, it needs to be update. maximum methods and techniques are modified nowdays. Instructor of this course was greate and has explained very well.

By Takeen J

Sep 12, 2022

The Course helped me very much but anyone who wants to start should pay attention that this is a very basic course and a little of each technology is discussed.

By Deleted A

Aug 24, 2020

This is a very nice course but it is outdated. The versions of bootstrap and jquery used here are too old. It would be nice if cousera updates this course.

By Chandan K

Jun 14, 2020

other things are good but ajax parts and some JS lectures are not easy to understand for a beginner but those are difficult for intermediate guy like me.

By Mubin L

May 26, 2020

Backdated content and as the course goes forward the instructor tried to bring a lot of contents without giving proper and understandable introduction .