Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
16,251 ratings

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

HR

Invalid date

it was a great experience to learn something innovative from johns hopkins university.

teachers have explained each and everything properly

thankyou coursera thankyou johns hopkins university

AM

Invalid date

A very detailed and comprehensive course with lots of skills to acquire and knowledge to gain. I would recommend it to every person since web development is skill with lots of demand in global market.

Filter by:

5601 - 5625 of 5,687 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By nzm k

Jun 2, 2022

github part is outdated i cant figure out what to do been stuck on the same video for 3 days still cant figure out how to do it the explanation for this at faq is poor written and useless.our rich teacher uses a mac which is completely different from windows.im send my thanks to teacher because probably %90 of the students use windows but no he cant use windows gotta stick to mac i dont care if students get confused im gonna use my mac and im still getting my money no matter what so i dont care at all.

I HIGHLY DONT RECOMMEND PURCHASING THIS COURSE

By Meghan P

Feb 7, 2024

Very frustrated with this course. All the information is outdated and it is preventing me form completing the assignments. Starting with content from week 1, it's so out of date that even after hours of extra research I still can't figure out what I am supposed to do. This has caused a domino effect making it hard to follow along and complete any of the work from there after. I was told it would be updated soon, but now 6 months later there is still no update. Waste of time and money.

By Jonathan P

Jan 1, 2024

While the class is offered for free, its outdated materials and lack of clarity posed significant challenges. Despite diligently following the provided resources, including the FQA page and discussions, the information remained confusing and inadequate. Regrettably, this led to frequent moments of frustration and confusion. Improved updates and more responsive support channels would greatly enhance the learning experience.

By Ahmed E

Feb 22, 2022

The course is bad and the instructor doesn't explain the topics clearly. I relied on Youtube the whole course and it is 100% better than Coursera. I don't recommend this course to anyone or You can take it if you want to but you will need to rely on other sources like YouTube. Youtube is a true Goldmine. University courses on Coursera are not that good. That's my opinion.

By Samuel M

Mar 28, 2022

This Course would be five stars if it weren't extremely outdated, at this point the information conveyed is 7 years old - which for software development, is a lifetime. The module I currently find myself in is impassable without help from external sources, as most of the information is now no longer relevant.

The course needs updated urgently!

By Lisa D

Jan 17, 2022

This class is 7 years old and out of date in many ways. There is an FAQ that is mentioned regularly as a reference but I cannot find it. Further, the web tools used in this class have had many in depth improvements and releases in the last 7 years. I think it's time to record some new videos or archive this class.

By Jamie C

Dec 27, 2021

Incredibly outdated. In desperate need of updates corresponding to new versions of Bootstrap, etc. The instructor is fine, but the old versions of everything referenced makes completing assignments nearly impossible without having to do outside research that takes as long if not longer than the course's videos.

By Kevin B

Mar 4, 2022

The speed at which the instructor goes through the startup process is way too fast. Also everything looks super outdated. I'm not very impressed. I have voiced some concerns in the disscusion area and have recieved no help so this is very much a dead class. I regret signing up for coursera plus now.

By Luísa C

Jul 21, 2021

The course is not updated. The module 3, wich is to build a restaurant site, it's impossible to keep up with the class with these update errors. It is very unfair to the student to make him watch 3 modules until he realizes that the course is out of date. I feel like I have wasted my time.

By Evans O

Mar 11, 2022

I just signed up for this class and the instructor is wasting my time talking about github instead of HTML and CSS. I have been listening to him for a while and I am beginning to wonder if I am in the wrong class. Is this a node.js class or HTML/CSS class ?

By Cristian P

Sep 8, 2023

It's a good course, but not ideal for beginners. I understand you wanted to cover many topics, but I feel you were rushing in the last 3 modules. Also, it would be nice if you program the code on the fly so we (as students) can follow along and practice.

By Mislav B

May 12, 2023

Don't waste your time on this course. The course used to be good, it's outdated. Boostrap 3 was used in the course, and now Bootstrap 5 is current, which switched from jquery to Javascript, everyone gets stuck on bootstrap. No one answers on the forum.

By Jitin

Jun 26, 2020

I won't give any star .....it was waste of time ....he was telling evrything in mac but I'm window user ......can't uderstand lots of things thats the only reason I'm leaving this corse in the middle. So much complications were there .

By Leena A

Dec 23, 2022

Course is completely outdated. You will need to spend a huge amount of time trying to figure out how to use current versions of software required. Also, if you have no computer background, this course if absolutely not for you.

By Ayan A B

Dec 17, 2022

Outdated Guide for installation of required software, and also did understand a single thing. Sorry but I hoped a lot from this course

Would not recommend anyone to learn from this UNLESS you are quite adept at GitHub

By Mohammad H

Jul 13, 2024

This course is useless in these times, so many updates have been made to all the applications and this course does not make any sense now, so many things shown in the course are gone now.

By Michelle B

Sep 8, 2023

although i've barely started this course, i've found it to be outdated and the tutor to literally be a lecturer (as in he will lecture you on what you need to do) Such a shame!

By Mradul S

Aug 2, 2021

peer grading is not good for those how have no review of assignment and he have to wait months for reviewing that and without reviewing he unable to get certificate.

By Ray H

Aug 24, 2023

The video lecture in week one setting up the environment github and sublime 3 has no resemblance to the github website. This course is not for beginners at all.

By Corrin F

Mar 4, 2024

Didn't progress very far and have unenrolled! The course is very outdated and is a struggle to follow along even with simple starting tasks because of this.

By Matthew B

Nov 15, 2017

Everything is out of date. The course needs to be updated for the new release of Bootstrap. Working through these assignments is nearly unmanageable.

By Matt E

Jun 30, 2023

Completely out of date and on MAC. For beginners, this is impossible. Can't even get through the GitHub setup without going off the course material.

By Bri D

Aug 21, 2023

Extremely outdated and confusing. Looks like others have requested help and questions have gone unanswered for MONTHS. Don't waste your time.

By BIANCA K

Apr 10, 2022

trying to follow the videos to setup my development enviroment and when I do the exact same as the instructor it does not work for me

By Robbie G

Nov 16, 2021

Not well organized and poor standard for John Hopkins. Even a genius, the difficulty level, beyond the scope of beginner programming.