Chevron Left
Back to Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,692 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design technologies that bring people joy, rather than frustration. You'll learn several techniques for rapidly prototyping (such as Wizard of Oz Prototyping) and evaluating multiple interface alternatives -- and why rapid prototyping and comparative evaluation are essential to excellent interaction design. You'll learn how to conduct fieldwork with people to help you get design ideas. How to make paper prototypes and low-fidelity mock-ups that are interactive -- and how to use these designs to get feedback from other stakeholders like your teammates, clients, and users. Armed with these design-thinking strategies, you’ll be able to do more creative human-centered design in any domain. This is the first course offered in the interaction design specialization series. Browse through previous capstone projects for some inspiration here: https://medium.com/capstone-projects/capstone-projects-2019-abc67d3f6f26...

Top reviews

SM

Apr 10, 2020

I just loved this lesson! Lots of things to explore. A lot of hands-on experience. I am very pleased with the amount of theory and study that I have.

I wish to thank UC San Diego & Scott Klemmer

T

Feb 4, 2021

This course opened my eyes to the foundational basis of design as a problem solving tool primarily. Can't wait to apply all I have learned and make world class designs that make the world better!

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 536 Reviews for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

By admin l

Apr 29, 2021

good course

By Katherine J

Dec 23, 2015

It's good!

By Ian A

Apr 23, 2016

Good intro - I'm learning a lot. But in the end I feel that this specialization is not focused enough on developing portfolio pieces. One portfolio piece at the end of an 8-month course does not seem adequate to me. So I wish we focused more on developing high fidelity work - in addition to the need-finding, user research, sketches, short weekly assignments. This high fidelity, digital work could even be optional, but I need some guidance on what work to develop and how the overall process should look.

Or even being allowed to enroll in the capstone before completing the first 7 sections would be helpful.

By annie a

Jun 29, 2020

It a refresher course for me. But materials need to be updated since the course was developed in 2015, there are so many softwares already that are inexpensive that allows you to do your prototypes. Likewise i am not a fan of peer grading as most of those i encountered are really taking this course seriously. Quizzes should also be improved as it leads to a lot of guess work when you do select all that applies . Anyway the basics are there . Videos are correctly phased as it is not too long to bore you out.

By Diego T

Mar 14, 2017

The course is a good overall approach to Human-Computer Interaction. It teaches how to do participan observation, interviewing, storyboarding and heuristic evaluation.

However, I would say that some of the assignments were too simple in terms of complexity and there was few opportunities to apply the theory in the assignments.

In general I found the course useful for people who want to learn more about how understand better customer necessities, for design in general.

By Nicholas I

May 13, 2017

Good introduction to HCD, steady paced. My two frustrations were with how some of the questions and answers are written. Please review these and improve the writing. Sometimes I would be thinking to myself "Wait, what?..." or I was unaware that multiple answers should be selected. The tool tip text under incorrect answers is still confusing to me, maybe this is a Coursera issue?

By Gioconda B

Sep 7, 2017

The content of the course was great. I believe it would be a good idea to have a data base or links for definitions of the main concepts used in the course. Also, it would be great if the instructor or someone with experience in the field reviews the assignments and participate more on the forums.

By Ana M C

Nov 1, 2016

I believe there is important to have access to the comments of our peers, I've receive some bad grades and I don't know why. And I think part of the learning process is get to know here I'm falling.

By John L

May 5, 2020

El curso es bueno, pero podría tener temas más actualizados según el mercado. Manejo de herramientas, tareas un poco mas complejas y una duración más extensa. Buen curso!

By Rachel H

Dec 14, 2018

It is a great course and I learn a lot but it is sometimes difficult to pay attention because the videos aren't very entertaining

By Deleted A

Dec 2, 2017

could be restructured, more headers during the video, otherwise its easier to just read the text (as non native speaker)

By Lexx L

Dec 28, 2015

The content of this course is good but the production quality of the videos are not vary high.

By Lana F

Mar 3, 2021

The assignments are confusing and hard to understand. I'd love it if they were more clear.

By Roberto S

Feb 24, 2016

It's a great introductory class, but would like more personal feedback from professionals.

By John M

Oct 3, 2020

Subtítulos en tiempos distintos a la voz del facilitador, se hace sumamente incómodo

By Roy B S

Apr 7, 2020

Good concepts, but no practical hands on experience

By Stefie C

Apr 16, 2016

Prefer more references/examples shown in lectures.

By HENRY k

May 3, 2017

excellent course but should be more in depth

By DELA C J K (

Apr 27, 2020

Too hard to accomplish

By Vanessa B

Dec 19, 2022

Everything is peer-reviewed, which doesn't seem like a bad deal or anything.. until your assignments are overdue because there is no one to review anything. I had to peer review assignments from 2015 because there is no one taking this course. I learned a decent amount but will not be continuing with these courses because they are rather outdated and I am being penalized for others not grading my assignments.

By Dener R R

Jan 15, 2021

Achei fraco. Os vídeos são claramente desatualizados e o professor é meio perdido. Os conteúdos precisam urgentemente serem atualizados assim como as vídeos aulas. Pelo valor pago, achei ultrapassado!

By Chakshu K

May 2, 2022

The course feels dated and the assignments are confusing when paried with the video content. The first peer review assignment is after a video that is not related to the assignment.

By Sergei S

Aug 18, 2015

A bit difficult to understand the language for non native speaker. Nearly impossible to complete works.

By rafalgprous@gmail.com

Jul 21, 2016

Buenos contenidos. Un tanto lento y costoso de seguir.

By Deleted A

May 19, 2020

Зачем писать про русскоязычную версию, если для русскоязычного пользователя не сделан даже необходимый для обучения минимум? Русские субтитры не соответствуют англоязычному тексту: перевод неточный; субтитры рассинхронизированы со звуком и действием на экране; материал обрезан примерно на 30% (перевод под видео полный; в субтитрах по какой-то причине — нет).

Все упражнения — на языке оригинала. Как их выполнять — непонятно.

Стыдно брать деньги за такое!