Chevron Left
Back to Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,498 ratings
502 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design technologies that bring people joy, rather than frustration. You'll learn several techniques for rapidly prototyping (such as Wizard of Oz Prototyping) and evaluating multiple interface alternatives -- and why rapid prototyping and comparative evaluation are essential to excellent interaction design. You'll learn how to conduct fieldwork with people to help you get design ideas. How to make paper prototypes and low-fidelity mock-ups that are interactive -- and how to use these designs to get feedback from other stakeholders like your teammates, clients, and users. Armed with these design-thinking strategies, you’ll be able to do more creative human-centered design in any domain. This is the first course offered in the interaction design specialization series. Browse through previous capstone projects for some inspiration here: https://medium.com/capstone-projects/capstone-projects-2019-abc67d3f6f26...

Top reviews

SM
Apr 10, 2020

I just loved this lesson! Lots of things to explore. A lot of hands-on experience. I am very pleased with the amount of theory and study that I have.\n\nI wish to thank UC San Diego & Scott Klemmer

SM
Feb 27, 2018

This course sustained my interest throughout the videos with lots of practical information and good pacing. I found the assignments to be challenging and fun to do. Really enjoying this course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 485 Reviews for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

By Santiago B

Oct 15, 2018

Great material, very useful concepts to recall and learn, definitively will help to start improving the design process

By Miguel R Á

Apr 29, 2020

It was a great course and a real travel. I go with a lot of knowledge and waiting for the rest of the specialization!

By Rishi J

Oct 3, 2016

Learnt some new and amazing things, that will help me in my career as a Product Manager with a technical background.

By Karthikeshwar

Oct 12, 2020

Awesome! It was a fresh air of knowledge about a field slightly different than mine. It was very interesting too!

By Amy

Aug 14, 2020

Wonderful course with great lively professor Scott and assignments to work on! Thanks so much for the experience!

By Rishabh

Apr 30, 2017

Great course to understand the basics of HCI.

Level of assignments is good and the sessions are quite interactive.

By Rose-Gaëlle B

Feb 21, 2017

Great course, learned a lot, not just through the lectures, but also through the projects I had to peer-evaluate.

By Eva

Oct 25, 2018

The course is very complete as an introduction, it gives us all the necessary bases through practical exercises.

By Amogh K T

Jan 9, 2016

Excellent for learning basics of interaction design , such as how to conduct need finding and rapid prototyping.

By Ajay C

Oct 28, 2017

The course is clear and concise. Provides useful information on heuristics principles, applications and usage.

By Hyejin I

Sep 11, 2015

Thank you Scott!

This course is so Informative and doing assignment is so helpful to develop my research skill.

By Abhijit V

Aug 21, 2019

the course is really good .it introduces some new ideas that students can incorporate into their daily work

By Mario E M R

Jul 10, 2016

Very clear, and really focuzed. Great introduction to a very important theme like is "Human-centered design".

By Alicia G

May 18, 2020

This course is extremely insightful and a great introduction to Human-Centered Design. I loved every minute.

By Ivan E

Mar 30, 2016

More fun fun links and different materials about examples and theory should be provided by the facilitators.

By Uriel J

Oct 17, 2020

It's a very interesting and insightful introduction to Interaction Design. It's definitely worth the time!

By Guillermo L

Jun 10, 2017

Nice Mooc, well prepared, good examples, well orchestraded.

quite attractive, for anyone interested in UX.

By Ariel P

Apr 24, 2017

Very useful and insightful. I was able to use my learning from this course to my new job as a UX engineer.

By Kensuke

Dec 3, 2020

Great course. I appreciate the peer-reviews and also self-critique during the reflections on assignments.

By Katie T

Oct 31, 2016

Great overview of the topic. Videos are informative and exercises are relevant but not overly burdensome.

By Rashmi G

May 25, 2017

Excellent exercise in introduction to Interaction Design. Fun-filled assignments, and creative projects.

By Tamella H

Sep 6, 2017

Very informative course with a lot of practical work. Great start for people who are interested in HCI.

By Zunaira E

Oct 3, 2016

Excellent course! Very informative, and well designed. Assignments are very engaging. Great experience.

By Shahriar S E

Oct 16, 2018

A really well thought out course that takes the learner from the first steps of human-centered design.