Chevron Left
Back to Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,653 ratings
544 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design technologies that bring people joy, rather than frustration. You'll learn several techniques for rapidly prototyping (such as Wizard of Oz Prototyping) and evaluating multiple interface alternatives -- and why rapid prototyping and comparative evaluation are essential to excellent interaction design. You'll learn how to conduct fieldwork with people to help you get design ideas. How to make paper prototypes and low-fidelity mock-ups that are interactive -- and how to use these designs to get feedback from other stakeholders like your teammates, clients, and users. Armed with these design-thinking strategies, you’ll be able to do more creative human-centered design in any domain. This is the first course offered in the interaction design specialization series. Browse through previous capstone projects for some inspiration here: https://medium.com/capstone-projects/capstone-projects-2019-abc67d3f6f26...

Top reviews

SM

Apr 10, 2020

I just loved this lesson! Lots of things to explore. A lot of hands-on experience. I am very pleased with the amount of theory and study that I have.\n\nI wish to thank UC San Diego & Scott Klemmer

T

Feb 4, 2021

This course opened my eyes to the foundational basis of design as a problem solving tool primarily. Can't wait to apply all I have learned and make world class designs that make the world better!

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 529 Reviews for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

By Zuzana V

Nov 16, 2021

Very valuable information, but some of the assignments could be written more coherently - especially since it's a ux course.

By Nakul G

Sep 10, 2016

Very well laid out Course structure. Would have loved some more practical and relevant examples of existing apps/processes

By Komal D B

Sep 28, 2015

Expecting more content like the actuall experience of creating wireframe. step by step and finally complete wireframe.

By Akhilesh R

Jan 7, 2017

Gives you good end-to-almost-till-the-end experience on a project from needfinding to user research to storyboarding.

By Mónica C

Aug 27, 2015

Well organized and the videos explain a lot. The are some resources named in the videos but the links are missing.

By Jasvinder S

Dec 23, 2016

Would be great if we get the feedback and reviews from lecturer or professor rather the from the peer reviews.

By Bharat B A

Aug 15, 2016

Very well designed. Estimated time required to complete the assignments were inappropriate, it took me longer.

By Jonathan P

Jan 18, 2016

Overall good; some of the projects were a tad light, and there were some bugs I'd like to see fixed, but good.

By Suyash R

Jul 9, 2017

Understand the design in a simple way. It was a nice introduction. But there is a big chances for improvement

By Sebastien P

Jun 5, 2017

Well thought out, very useful. Some bugs in the product. (For which I've reached out to customer support.)

By Kaushik S

Sep 9, 2015

Very detailed and structured content. Is it possible to get printable content as well along with videos?

By pankaj y

Aug 8, 2018

Everthing is fine but when questions comes there are not any message about marking of those questions.

By Rivka H

Sep 30, 2017

I learned about interviewing, storyboarding and heuristic evaluations with some hands on experience.

By Bethwel K

Dec 28, 2020

The practical assignments were really interesting and made me understand the concepts even better.

By thomas c

Jul 2, 2020

Very well thought through in terms of content. Just wth there was a professional marking the work!

By Marzena K

Aug 30, 2016

A great course to revise existing knowledge and to get some new tips in HCD. Warmly recommended!

By Christine H

May 17, 2016

Good class, except for quizzes were complicated at times. User input instructions was not clear.

By Sue A W

Apr 25, 2016

Great introduction to human-centered design conceptually applicable across multiple disciplines.

By Sven L

Sep 7, 2017

Very good introduction. I learned a lot and the homework were very nice and interesting to do!

By Roland C

Sep 5, 2016

Pretty good course on User Centered Interface Design. Rich, clear and very well documented

By Rajiv N

May 23, 2016

Awesome course! It would be more awesome if the assignments were easier to understand.

By Chitra V

Feb 1, 2021

I really like the course work. i like the fact that peer reviews are serious.

By Muzayun M

Aug 16, 2015

I wish we could still get a course certificate, even if you haven't paid.

By Christen E

Apr 3, 2017

I very much enjoyed the teaching style and the interactive assignments

By Shannon C

Dec 19, 2019

This course is helpful in learning and practicing interaction design.