Chevron Left
Back to The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs by University of Toronto

4.5
stars
1,373 ratings
407 reviews

About the Course

This course provides an introduction to: 1. Basic concepts of The Strategies and Skills Learning and Development System (SSLD), their relevance for every day relationships and provide advanced concepts for participants who work in fields of social work and health care . 2. Basic practice principles and methods of SSLD, illustrated by relationship management case studies. 3. The SSLD framework for relationship management assessment; N3C (needs, circumstances, characteristics, capacity) and problem translation. 4. Core competencies in the relationship management application of the SSLD system: Observation learning, simulation, real life implementation, review and monitoring....

Top reviews

M

Apr 23, 2020

Really fun and felt like I learned a lot about myself. If you are looking for insight on your relationships whether it is your significant other, best friend, or family than this class is for you!!!!

JK

May 7, 2020

This course manages to be information-packed and interesting at the same time. Professor Tsang and his team engages the leaner in a conversation-like format in each lecture that is just the lenght!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 412 Reviews for The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs

By Julie T

Aug 4, 2020

Really interesting course. Learned a lot of information about relationships that would definitely aid in the way I build and manage my relationships with others. Also helps with building more understanding and compassion towards others through understanding the reason why certain things such as breakups occur and the reasons why people look for certain bonds with others.

All in all, if you're looking for a course that explores and helps you understand relationships, this one's pretty good.

By Janki S

Apr 8, 2020

Great course. Not only did I learn a lot, but things which I already knew got a new perspective. Not only did I enjoy it but it helped in personal issues too. Another very useful thing is that after the course is over one still has access to it. So one can go back and access the material again and think about it. I think I got more out of it in my second run through it!

Felt some of the examiners were a bit simplistic. But on the whole a great course. Would highly recommend it.

By Naairah S

Aug 9, 2020

It helped me assess and address Needs- these show up in almost every interaction we have with others and also ourselves. It's a blueprint for building healthy relationships, understanding ourselves and others to make sure our needs are met for an encouraging future. The course also addresses the challenges that relationships are subjected to and explains the why's and how's behind them. This is an eye opener, check it out for yourself.

By Karl A R F

Sep 5, 2020

This course gives you confidence and skills to manage your needs and the needs of people you are in a relationship with. The course sets you up for the complexities which relationships bring to your life but with rewarding, calming experiences as your emotion become stable and you provide an enjoyable and slow process in building a strong and caring relationships.

By Lok M T

Apr 21, 2020

This course provides me a very comprehensive knowledge pertaining to human relationship by dissecting the human needs and 3C. It makes me better understand the nature of human relationship as well as equip me with the mindset to deal with any potential relationship issues in the future. A very good course worth taking to better understand yourself and your partner!

By Tran H A

Apr 24, 2020

A fantastic course! Although some parts may seem a bit repetitive, I have gained a deeper understanding of myself and what I need to do in order to improve my relationships. I absolutely love the lecture notes! This is the first course that include them in the materials! Therefore, it is very easy to go through the materials again to revise the course's content.

By MARCIANO M L

Aug 14, 2020

Online dating as the newest way of searching for partner this brought by pandemic in a New Normal. With the help of technology it leads us to a comfortable, much easiest way. Less cost and time to meet someone and getting to know each other. But also we must be aware of the truth that many people use this for fun, to scam and some are using false info.

By Debry W

Nov 22, 2019

Amazing course! Very challenging if you avoid (purposely or not) connection and empathy. In our crazy world we need to understand each other better and learn from each other. I completely recommend this MOOC. Thank you for sharing your knowledge, it already improved the way I interact with my friends and family for good! =)

By Fayaz P

Aug 30, 2021

The course is very insightful and the team has taken pains to cover most of the topics related to relationships. I got an opportunity to learn about the relationship dynamics.

I would certainly recommend anyone who's looking to upgrade their skills in relationship management.

By ALEXANDROS C

Mar 14, 2021

Very inspiring, helpful, interesting and useful program. It helps everyone copes with everyday issues.

I dare to say that it has improved my life.

Dr Tsang and everyone else, Thanks for all from the bottom of my heart!!

Alexandros

By Luminita F

May 21, 2022

I highly enjoyed the content and the way of teaching! Definetely recommended!

By C. S

Jun 6, 2022

A v​ery useful , interesting and empowering course .

By Sushil

Jun 20, 2022

Really understanding of human nature and relations.

By Moniruzzaman A

Mar 4, 2019

Thank you so much for a great course and valuable information. Looking forward to having another nice course.

Warm regards,

Moniruzzaman Ahmed

By Ethan F

Apr 24, 2017

Course design is pretty uneven in pace, engagement and expectation setting. The interactive segments could be better. Also, the core content feels like a hodge-podge of different sources thrown together to support the Professor's lexicon.

By Fred V

Nov 3, 2020

This is less a course than a rambling monologue, based upon the word 'like' (the comparative) repeated more often than I care to count. Very little is quoted from advanced research, most is self-sourced. The innovations, notably about erotic justice, are not developed enough. There is much that can be improved.

By shivkumar h

May 13, 2020

Grading not upto the mark

By Alicia B

May 31, 2020

Very unimpressed with this course. Some basic biological terminology is used wrong, and it suggests that abusive partners act that way because the other person isn't meeting their needs (i.e. victim blaming). There are also some very offensive comments made in the discussion of 'power' in a relationship claiming that being a minority takes away a person's power in relationships. I don't know how long ago this course was created, but it is no longer relevant.

By Katharine M D

May 29, 2018

First week... quiz is already way beyond my comprehension of the videos and "lectures"... I'll be dropping it

By Joyce U

Oct 14, 2019

I can't take the long introductory video before each lecture.

By Naseem A

Apr 22, 2020

It's irrelevant to me. Archived.

By Soubhagya N

May 17, 2021

not good course. disgusting

By Patricia B

May 2, 2017

Very hard to understand

By ROMELYN A

Mar 14, 2022

This course helps me to understand more about relationships. Its complexity and the factors that influence it. To be able to have a stable relationship, you have to have a better understanding of yourself and your partner as well. As I go through each lesson, my realizations become deeper also. I am happy that I was able to finish the course. All the learnings here ( especially the N3Cs) are very practical. I think if all of us can learn these lessons, it will result in a more stable community because there will be fewer dysfunctional relationships. Also, I am excited about my course certificate.

By Luis P

Oct 7, 2020

I develop new skills and knowledge about the arts of relationship which one of the most important things of our lives through the SSLD strategies ,the N 3C ( understand our and other needs is key) the social scripts and patterns, the importance of communication that avoids a lot of mis understandings, build relationships that work for me ,I have learned to be prepared to deal with transformation and termination and finally the importance of the Self .