Chevron Left
Back to A Brief History of Human Spaceflight

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Brief History of Human Spaceflight by University of Houston System

4.3
244 ratings
71 reviews

About the Course

This course provides a view of the history of spaceflight, from early writings telling of human's fascination of space through the early Russian and American space stations. Developed as an interesting and entertaining slice of space history that is accessible to anyone with an interest in human spaceflight...

Top reviews

PH

Dec 01, 2015

Great summary and overview of manned spaceflight in the 60s and 70s. Plenty of archival footage and rarely seen recordings from both the U S and Soviet space programs.

DM

Nov 29, 2016

Really enjoying this course hope you will do more courses on the Space program i.e. Space shuttles etc, and rocket science/maths would be good as well..

Filter by:

51 - 70 of 70 Reviews for A Brief History of Human Spaceflight

By rabinder h

Jun 26, 2017

Good Course

By Sebastian S

Feb 22, 2017

Really fun and interesting class if you want to learn a lot more details about a fantastic time in science history. Videos could be improved somewhat avoiding repeating information included in lecture pdfs. Other than that, everything was great!

By Steven H

Jul 23, 2016

Clear easy overview with great archival video

By Colleen S

Mar 16, 2016

At the rate we are probing space, I think we should all take this course.

By Julia C

Jul 18, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot from it. Information for the course is provided in different formats which is nice too. The links to old footage and audio from spaceflight in the past were fascinating. I wouldn't mind doing this course again in a few years time when my memory of the specifics has faded!

By Cleber L

May 20, 2017

Great! Now I can understand what happen

By Richard K

Jan 27, 2018

interesting, but choppy presentations

By Iván F G J

Jan 24, 2016

A good introduction to the History of Spaceflight, was great to learn more about how the mankind could to start exploring the space.

By 黄中

Aug 20, 2019

Many interesting knowledge about the history of space exploration, perhaps a little more details.

By Ella K

Oct 26, 2015

Great topic and content. But there are several things that make this course cumbersome. It would be better to have a few shorter videos than to have one file of 30 to 60 minutes. Also please do not use hardcoded subtitles in the video, because there already is a option to enable subtitles. The last recommendation is to not mix videos and resources. Use the videos to lecture material, to narrate a story or show clips, but put all the resources (mandatory or optional) on a separate HTML page (as other courses usually do).

Thank you for making the history of spaceflight come to live for me!

By Tony A

Oct 24, 2015

Good course, but could be more challenging. For people growing up with the space race it has a lot of interesting video and written material.

But there are a lot of simple errors in the material and the assignments. Hopefully that will be addressed. I'd give it 4/5 once it's all sorted.

Recommended if you can cope with the odd frustration.

By Mary R

Jan 31, 2016

Its an interesting course.

By Laurent M

Nov 04, 2015

Videos could be bigger and reduce the echo in particular

By Tony L

Feb 02, 2018

The layout isn't clean. Audio often doesn't sync with video. Links for additional required reading in the videos that aren't clickable. The course as a whole seems incomplete. Not user-friendly at all. A little work could make this a fantastic course. On a positive note; the content is great and is suitable for all backgrounds. The instructor seems quite knowledgeable in the subject.

By CEDRIC T

Sep 13, 2019

The course is a good intro for those who have no prior knowledge of space flight history. For those who have the course is definitively a history class, not a science or engineering class. Materials are good but could be presented in a more modern way with support of higher quality. Too much time is spent on the pre-history of spaceflight while very little is explained on the Soviet program and more recent programs. Automatic moon landers and moon artificial satellites are only briefly described.

By Suganth R

Jun 21, 2017

This course although a storehouse of valuable information (lots of exclusive videos) about space exploration, tends to be a historical recollection at times. Overall a good one to boost your knowledge on human endeavor in space.

By Aubin, P

Nov 06, 2015

Very interesting, but I was really hoping more. For example, the professor does not teah us directly, like all the other courses on Coursera. It is only texts and archive videos.....Youtube would have done the same. Disappointed.

By Jason M

Oct 11, 2015

The URLs for the course's required readings are presented as non-clickable text in the course lecture videos. There is no list of URLs for the readings available which I could find, and to take this course students are required to copy dozens of long, cumbersome web addresses from the videos.

By Zdenek K

Jul 02, 2016

just a collection of materials you'd find in any museum..

By Erika C

Jul 03, 2016

Nothing but badly put together videos and recommendations for readings. The only terrible course on Coursera I've come across, and I've done a few dozen of them.