Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Imagemaking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Imagemaking by California Institute of the Arts

4.5
stars
2,370 ratings
522 reviews

About the Course

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Top reviews

ID
May 21, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC
Oct 8, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 518 Reviews for Introduction to Imagemaking

By Henintsoa T A

Sep 13, 2016

I loved it, it pushes me to get out of my confort zone. the course helped me a lot especially in discovering new technique for image making.

By Kassy S

May 27, 2016

From the lectures, we've got the techniques of making various types of images and also the basic points of making images and compose images.

By Viktoriya F

Jun 2, 2020

Excellent course. I never thought that I am able to design my own book from scratch. Thanks a lot for a new knowledge and believe in me!:)

By Celeste S

Aug 8, 2019

A really cool course. I loved the way how every topic was develope and the way this made me watch the things in a different perspective.

By David A V D S

Apr 28, 2018

Has been hard comprehend all the process that is need to express a message, but have help me a lot this part of the course. Very well!

By Claudia M L T C

Sep 19, 2020

A great way to learn about composition, variety of styles and waaay more, all in a chill virtual classroom. Nice, just what I needed!

By Adriana C N T

Mar 21, 2019

I really liked this course, for its content and practice exercises. Awaken creativity and the results of my work, I surprised myself!

By Ellie R

Sep 29, 2018

Great course that pushes you to explore the breadth of possibilities in creating images aside from the traditional and realistic way.

By Yurshevich A O

Dec 25, 2020

Great course! There is really a lot of useful information in the course. Huge practical work. Thanks a lot for the new knowledge!

By Katsiaryna K

Dec 5, 2020

It was a good course to learn hoe to create visual content and compose in into a book and how to form a book as an object of art.

By Hasan I M

Dec 26, 2019

I think some video music need to lower a bit. Cause, can't hear the teacher's voice clearly. Besides this the course is helpful.

By SYED Q

Jul 18, 2017

I really like that course and I will try my best to do more. Its really Important for every Graphic Designer and becoming artist.

By Stephania A Q

Oct 22, 2020

a very good course. very complete, I really learned a lot, although I would like it to be longer and with a more advanced level

By Alexander H

Jul 31, 2017

Increíble este curso práctico donde de ejerce todo lo aprendido en los anteriores.. Toda la especialización esta muy bien hecha

By Oluwaseun O O

Oct 23, 2016

i was never comfortable with image making, but this course had given me a lot of confidence and i made a drawing i was proud of

By Sana P

Jan 29, 2017

Thank you very much for this great course. I have learned a lot and definitely gained new skills that will help me in my work.

By Salem F A

Apr 14, 2019

Thank you coursera and thanks for the teacher for the great information

I learn a lot in the previews courses thank you again

By Kritika D

Apr 24, 2019

Love this course especially the detailed section where we look at reference books. Gives so much clarity to the students..

By Ayesha B

May 29, 2017

It was innovative. It was lighthearted. And it was more 'project-based, so one gets to see what they have done in the end.

By Stanislav

Jan 30, 2017

It was great to come through this course with its

marvellous lections and interesting submissions. Strongly recommend it.

By Joana W

Sep 27, 2020

I really loved this course! It's was super interactive and fun. It gave a boost to my creativity. Totally recommended.

By mandy B e

Jul 15, 2021

I LIKE THIS CLASS, I LEARN A LOT. of this 5 star class about art and designs things THANK YOU MANDY EVANS .

By Artak A

Jun 20, 2019

Greate! Makes the brain constantly stir also brings a variety of techniques in the everyday life of a novice artist

By Tóbiás L

Feb 9, 2021

It is a great course, and if you follow all the steps it is challanging enough to improve your approach and skills.

By Soh W K

Oct 25, 2018

Insightful ways of getting your Image Right for your Artwork!

The teacher even teaches you how to make a Image Book!