Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function by Rice University

4.7
stars
1,472 ratings
288 reviews

About the Course

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

Top reviews

BR
Nov 21, 2020

Thank you very much Professor! I really enjoyed your lessons and passion for teaching. I am glad you are able to share your talent with the world via this medium. Looking forward to the next class!

AR
Aug 5, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 286 Reviews for Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

By Mr. R B

Apr 26, 2020

It is a nicely crafted course for beginners and for persons who are interested to know more about immunology. Although I had to make some extra efforts to pass the exam, the overall experience was great. It was both learning and fun.

By SaiTejasri.M

Nov 23, 2020

It's really very nice course with detailed information and explanation by showing pictures which made more easy to understand but at some points felt like difficult to digest but totally it's very informative n useful n helpful

By Krisna P

Aug 25, 2020

thoroughly enjoyed it. the instructor is amazing and saved my life as my teachers weren't able to teach this subject in a manner i could understand will now go on to complete the other two

By Ariel A

Oct 28, 2019

The first three lectures were really great and questions are well constructed. The discussion and presentation got a little confusing on the last two lectures.

By KARTHIKAYINI T

Jul 22, 2021

This course was helpful to learn basics in immunology. I liked the way that the instructor used cartoon drawings and models to explain the concept. Thank you!

By CHANDRAYEE G

Aug 17, 2020

This was an excellent course. I learnt a lot new terms and the whole session was much more enjoyable due to the great personality of the professor.

By KAREN J S 1

Aug 27, 2020

The professor takes you through immunology using a collection of memorable metaphors that enable you to visualize the concepts clearly.

By bianca k b

Aug 18, 2020

I like it very very much. but I can´t get my certificate, it says to verify my account, I alredy did it but it is not working

By Hanh P

Aug 20, 2021

G​reat course. However, I wish I was taught week 6 before week 3 4 5. It was confusing not knowing the whole picture first.

By Mohammod K I

Mar 10, 2019

The quiz are really hard specially at 5th and 6th week syllabus. However, this course dives deep into immunology.

By Koyna J

Jul 27, 2020

This is a very nice course. This course helps me a lot to gain knowledge in my interested feild.

By Julie G

Feb 21, 2021

Great course, I think I could have used a little more clarity on the characteristics of V<J<C

By Emmanuel O D

Sep 30, 2020

Is very much interesting, it give the basic of immunology, just that is too lengthy

By Mohamad A M

Aug 12, 2019

An excellent course for medical students who are interested in Immubology

By Malvina P

Jan 10, 2020

A good course, but the impression is spoiled by minor flaws. 4.5 stars.

By Prajakta V

Jun 19, 2020

Very informative and a really good understanding of the Immune system

By Hugo A C R

Aug 10, 2020

Reaching the end it gets a bit boring, nonetheless, you will learn

By yara m

Jan 16, 2021

Thank you very much for this course . It is very helpful for me

By Stephen P

Dec 24, 2020

A good course with quality explanations of low-level concepts.

By Hadley S

Jul 23, 2020

Much more difficult than advertised, but a great way to learn.

By Saad A

Aug 22, 2020

A little bit Hard but very informative and had fun learning

By Anjali S

Oct 18, 2020

Good Course. very informative

By Nor T

Oct 3, 2021

it was fantastic experiment

By Ana L M O

Aug 11, 2020

Falta legenda em português!

By asmaa f f k

Jan 27, 2020

amazing