Chevron Left
Back to The Impact of Technology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Impact of Technology by EIT Digital

4.6
stars
96 ratings
47 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to use theories and methods to make predictions of the potential impact of new technology – in general, as well as for a specific application. This will prepare you for the changes that we are facing in society, and also help you take advantage of transformations which are driven by technology. The course takes a broad approach, including social and economic factors. You will study historical examples and learn to recognize recurring patterns and cycles. The curriculum includes general innovation theories, foresight methodology, value chain disruption and strategy. The general process is as follows. First you to learn how to draw a map of the potential future business landscape. After that, you get to identify interesting future business roles in emerging value networks. Finally, we find a path from where we are today to a desired end state. You will analyze how an industry or market may change if the technology which is available today is fully implemented in a 10 to 20 year perspective. In addition, you will identify barriers to such a development and make estimates regarding the timing. The course includes a number of assignments to facilitate your learning – some of them compulsory. The largest assignment is about the introduction of self-driving cars (hence the course icon; source and credit to Google). We all know that the future can’t be fully predicted in detail. However, the methods presented in this course will help you identify potential consequences. In this way, you will get a toolbox for decision making in the areas of technology, investments, career path, research & development or portfolio management....

Top reviews

RP
Sep 27, 2020

A short but steep journey. Manages to tick all the right boxes along the way.\n\nMartin keeps it engaging.\n\nDon't miss the assignments. They are integral to the learning.

JB
Dec 3, 2016

Good balance between business strategy and foresighting models! Interactive and interesting examples are used throughout the course. Very good!

Filter by:

26 - 47 of 47 Reviews for The Impact of Technology

By Ana-Maria S

Sep 17, 2017

Great course! Completely changes my perspective on the impact of new technologies!

By ROBERT C M

Jan 8, 2020

This was a very engaging class, that stimulated me to continue on to learn more

By Sanjeeva P

Aug 31, 2020

Excellent course with provides valuable inputs for futuristic thinking!

By Hasan R C

Jun 27, 2019

Wonderful course from a wonderful professor.

Thank you for your efforts.

By Bartłomiej P

Oct 4, 2019

Very practical knowledge with a lot of examples and engaging tasks.

By Dnyaneshwar M

Aug 19, 2020

To Good a lot knowledge for us...to gain...self esteem..

By Hakan B

Sep 5, 2020

great course to be enrolled.

I loved it.

By Aritra S

Aug 24, 2020

Thank you to give me this leason

By Oskar V

Feb 24, 2017

I enjoyed it. Fun and relevant.

By Chetan A G

Aug 28, 2020

Good Explanation & effective

By Alexander A S G

Dec 12, 2017

superb course

By Ravindra K

Sep 30, 2020

Good Course!

By kennedy m w

Jan 8, 2018

good content

By michel

Nov 16, 2017

Excellent!

By Muhammad Z H

Dec 23, 2019

Thanks

By Arup R D

Nov 9, 2017

good

By João F

Oct 10, 2019

The content is very good and really useful, the teacher is clear and gives relevant real world examples but:

1 - Too much and sometimes repetitive assignments

2 - Quizes are stupidly hard and they should be true multiple choice (know in advance how many right or wrong answers). Had to repeat most of them due to slightly wrong interpretations in what was written (was it an English test?). It looks silly to have all right or wrong answers as in some cases. And actually some of the questions demand presumptions that do not reflect the content approached in videos

3 - very few people are doing the course, so peer-review becomes almost impossible

Still I would recommend it.

By Md S A

Nov 18, 2017

You have to be prepared to do a lot of assignments to complete this course. Which is good in a way but the video lectures should have been more elaborate in my opinion.

By Juan Q

Jul 15, 2020

Cool course! Very interesting!

By Stanislav K

May 12, 2020

There are some great practise exercises that will make you think and brainstorm but some information is too theoretical and its hard to understand how to use it in practice. Quizzes are also extremely non practical

By Matthias Z

Jun 15, 2020

although the content is very good, I can't recommend the course. The reason: you need to take quite a few exams, which will be evaluated by your peer-students. It seems that there are so few students in the course that it took weeks for evaluation of exams. Unluckily, you need to wait for this evaluation. Otherwise, you can not continue. So it will take you hundreds of USD for this course to be completed. And of course while waiting, your motivation decreases, and you also loose momentum. Very disappointing!

By Jens L

Aug 24, 2020

The Exerciser are not reviewed and that prevents to complete the Course with a Certificate