Chevron Left
Back to The Importance of Listening

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Importance of Listening by Northwestern University

4.6
stars
1,523 ratings
306 reviews

About the Course

In this second MOOC in the Social Marketing Specialization - "The Importance of Listening" - you will go deep into the Big Data of social and gain a more complete picture of what can be learned from interactions on social sites. You will be amazed at just how much information can be extracted from a single post, picture, or video. In this MOOC, guest speakers from Social Gist, BroadReader, Lexalytics, Semantria, Radian6, and IBM's Bluemix and Social Media Analytics Tools (SMA) will join Professor Hlavac to take you through the full range of analytics tools and options available to you and how to get the most from them. The best part, most of them will be available to you through the MOOC for free! Those purchasing the MOOC will receive special tools, templates, and videos to enhance your learning experience. In completing this course you will develop a fuller understanding of the data and will be able to increase the effectiveness of your content strategy by making better decisions and spotting crises before they happen! MOOC 2 bonus content in the paid toolkit includes access to Semantria's analytics engine to extract some data on the markets you are developing and have it analyzed. As a student in this course, you are being provided the opportunity to access IBM Bluemix® platform-as-a-service trial for up to six months at no-charge with no credit card (up to a $1500 value). NOTE: By enrolling in this course, given access to IBM's Bluemix technology for one month for free as well as Lexalytics' Semantria tool. For those earning a Course Certificate, you will be given an additional five months of Bluemix and three months of Semantria at no cost with a special key code. By enrolling for a Course Certificate for this MOOC, you are acknowledging that your email will be shared with Lexalytics for the sole and express purpose of generating your individual key code. After the key code has been generated, Lexalytics will delete your email from its records. Additional MOOC 2 faculty include: * Steve Dodd (SVP Business Development, Effyis - dba BoardReader and Socialgist - Global Social Media Content Access) * Seth Redmore (CMO, Lexalytics, Inc.) * Chris Gruber (Social Media Analytics Solution Architect, IBM) * Russell Beardall (Cloud Architect, IBM) * Tom Collinger (Executive Director Spiegel Research Center and Senior Director Distance Learning, Medill Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern) * Tressie Lieberman (VP Digital Innovation, Taco Bell)...

Top reviews

MA
Oct 6, 2020

I didn't have any idea to how control social media, but after this course that was so practical learned how to control , monitor and observe the operation and also how to find solutions to thrive.

AM
Feb 16, 2021

Thank you Coursera, DOST and Northwestern University. I really enjoy the course. I hope I had much time to finish the whole course. Hopefully, if there is another opportunity like this, I will.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 301 Reviews for The Importance of Listening

By Farhad

Feb 21, 2017

A little bit ambiguous and vague, however it gets better in the next sessions in my opinion.

By Sarah I

Dec 4, 2015

Parts of it seemed a bit salesy, but I really enjoyed the insights from Tressie Lieberman.

By Borkica I

Jan 6, 2016

the course is interesting, but i honestly enjoyed the first course more

By Nishant K S

Jul 1, 2020

course needs to be more up to date in terms of social tools provided.

By Kirti S

Dec 9, 2019

Very good course, covers and give most of the important information.

By KAREN C

Sep 6, 2018

VERY GREAT TOOLS AND REAL LIFE EXPERIENCES PRESENTED IN THIS MOOC!

By Scot S

Aug 3, 2020

I really enjoyed the interviews and real time marketing examples.

By Ivan Z

Jan 17, 2019

some interviews about real events, kind of informative

By Michelle S

Nov 21, 2019

Great course, but a little dated. Needs some updates.

By Alejandra V

Mar 3, 2019

Es un poco lento y tedioso.Pero en general esta bien,

By Hany H A E A

Feb 8, 2019

very good course with many detailinf and informations

By Edward a G

Oct 4, 2017

Material was outdated, but that's understandable.

By Saverio L

Jul 12, 2016

A really interesting and useful course!

By Marcy

Apr 23, 2016

Great content and wonderful presenters.

By Josh G

Jun 19, 2016

Thank you. Excellent information.

By SUN.Xizi

Mar 10, 2017

Very constructive and helpful

By Nicholas M

Mar 17, 2016

The material is very Helpful

By Luz E P A

Sep 28, 2016

Great really useful!

By David C K

Nov 17, 2020

Great course.

By Enerst X

Jun 26, 2020

great content

By Rivière M

Feb 8, 2016

Nice class

By Jumana S

Feb 3, 2016

i

By Christine_Akers

Feb 18, 2016

I liked this course, but there is room for improvement.

For the assignment where you list keywords and hashtags associated with your target audience using Social Mention, the keyword results are only as good as the search term you use. And there was not much guidance on how to determine that search term. For instance, my target market is comprised of sales and marketing managers in corporate and creative environments. What should I search for to find out what they are talking about? I truly don't know. I took a guess and completed the assignment, but it would be helpful to understand the strategy for using social mention successfully.

Secondly, the IBM Blue Mix section did not work. I signed up (using my Coursera email) but never received a confirmation email. I checked my spam folder. I created a support ticket through IBM and received support emails, but never got the confirmation email. They re-sent it several times but it never came through. Viewing the discussions, I was not the only one this happened to. And I had stopped watching the videos because I thought I needed that access to finish the course. Getting that straightened out would be a huge improvement.

By Travis L

Feb 8, 2021

While this course provides a lot of excellent theories and suggestions for how to accomplish social listening, the websites and tools that they reference are outdated and are no longer free to use for this class making it difficult to do the actual assignments. At times the course almost comes across as an affiliate marketing ploy to get you to sign up for a bunch of services promoted by the course. That being said, this course lays some solid groundwork for students to put together a strategy for monitoring social media channels and becoming influential within social media channels to bring greater value to their brand. Should a student be apart of an organization that is looking to dedicate resources to building out a social media strategy, the learner will have a great starting point by which to help their organization seek out and engage the proper vendors to help them build this strategy effectively.

By Anaïs N

Apr 10, 2016

I found the course useful to better ground and assimilate the ideas presented in the first one.

But on the other hand, as mentioned by other learners, I do find it a little too much on the commercial side.

I did find very interesting to learn to use some of the tools such as Klout. I think that in time, and working in the Social Media department of a company, I would get the chance to see the interest of Lexalytics but I DID NOT understand anything related to Bluemix... I felt it was superfluous in this course.

All in all, I did appreciate the course as it made me think more deeply about my goals, but I'm not entirely sure it was worth the €71. I feel it could have been shortened a tad bit and go more to the point.

I do look forward to the next course though as I am learning a great deal no matter what :)