Chevron Left
Back to Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course) by Michigan State University

4.7
stars
811 ratings
257 reviews

About the Course

In this project-centered course*, you will create a content-rich infographic on a topic of your choice using Adobe Illustrator (which you can download for a free, 30-day trial). You might choose to create a visual representation of data from the world of sports, entertainment, politics, or science, to explain a business trend or environmental issue, or even to present a theme or development from your personal life. Your finished infographic will engage your target audience and convey information clearly through effective use of design elements such as typography, color, and structure. Whether you’re a graphic designer, a writer or the intern in the department, you’ll learn: • what an infographic is and what makes a good one • how to work within your limits • how to work with a team (if you have one) • why infographics are effective • techniques for spotting data in stories • six valuable steps for planning an effective infographic • how to use and make some of the building blocks of infographics: maps, charts and flow charts • ways data can be visualized to clarify it and give it meaning • how to effectively design a good infographic by effectively using elements like type, color and an underlying grid structure • some free or cheap, online tools for making various kinds of infographics As you work on your project, you’ll learn more about why infographics are effective, what makes a good infographic, and how to plan and design an infographic for maximum impact. You’ll explore various approaches to data visualization, and you’ll practice creating visualizations like maps, charts, flow charts, and simple drawings in your free version of Adobe Illustrator. Please note that if you are new to learning graphics software, making these graphics could take much longer than estimated as you learn and grow. What you’ll need to get started: This project-based course is aimed at anyone interested in understanding, designing, and using infographics - from students and hobbyists to professional graphic designers. We’ll use Adobe Illustrator for some components of the project. If you don’t have access to the full version of Illustrator,you can download a free version at www.Adobe.com/Illustrator. If the free 30-day trial runs out, you can "purchase" it for a month for about $20. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project centered courses are designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of like-minded learners providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. When you enroll in certain courses, you’ll be asked to pay a small fee to share your work with others for peer review....

Top reviews

RV
Oct 24, 2017

Really good! Karl Gude is great and knows how to explain in a clear way. Very useful course if you want to practice your Adobe Illustrator skills, and end up with projects to add on your portfolio.

CS
Jun 7, 2017

Wonderful and intuitive course, great performer. I recommend this course to everybody who wishes to immerse in the world infographics and to receive feedback on his or her progress in design.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 255 Reviews for Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

By dwilaras a

Jun 2, 2020

I think better if Karl or other instructors also review our project

By Anna C

May 6, 2017

Good course. To little support in relation to using the software.

By Kareem J S

Aug 31, 2019

Great Course. however, the content should be more rich

By Mariana V

Dec 26, 2016

very practical and vocational course. I reccomend it!

By Katarzyna

May 28, 2016

Good course, explaining basics on infographic.

By Dara G

Jan 21, 2019

Great course! Learned lots of new things.

By Nour H

Feb 16, 2018

This course was tremendously useful!

By Ruben C

Sep 19, 2020

Great course, simple and effective

By Ahmed I

Sep 11, 2016

This is a nice practical course.

By Babafemi A

Jul 16, 2017

Concise and well presented.

By Gordon C

Oct 2, 2016

Great info and advice.

By 陈大暑

Aug 9, 2016

Clear and pragmatic.

By antonio

Feb 21, 2019

Fun and informative

By Akshata D

Jun 15, 2020

nice course

By Juliana T R

Jul 11, 2019

The contents are very good although it feels like it's been there for a while without any kind of maintenance. Some links are broken, some information is not updated (specifically talking about Illustrator's free trial period being now shorter, which put some students in a difficult position).

Overall, I felt there were not enough students for a peer-reviewed system as for some assignments it took long to get a grade because there wasn't enough peers to grade it (and reading the forum this seems like a fairly common issue). Moreover, when I had only one project left to review before I could complete the course, there was some sort of error in which it kept saying "Review one more..." but the page was blank with no projects loading. I kept refreshing, logging out and back in, but the problem persisted. I refuse to think there were simply no projects waiting for a grade because there's always so many people asking for a review in the forums. This led me to missing the deadline and having to reset the deadline and wait longer to complete it.

I'd recommend it for the contents particularly for someone with a very basic knowledge of Illustrator although for someone who's been in the graphic design field for a while it might seem too basic.

By Tania W

May 10, 2020

The instructional video and course material by Karl Gude are amazing however the course is completely self taught with zero interaction with the instructor and only peer graded work. Since I have no previous experience in this topic - and the course is aimed at students like me who have no previous knowledge of infogfraphics - having my work peer graded by someone with equally little knowledge or experience is useless. I would at least expect instructor comments and grading on assignment projects, if not being able to communicate with the instructor. Particularly if you pay for the course. I would give the instructor 5 stars but reduce this to 3 stars because you can actually access all that content on youtube and I have received no professional feedback on my work.

By Stephen T

Feb 6, 2018

It is nice. There is a feeling that it is completely automated. The everything is peer reviewed, and you don't seem to get any input from the professor or the mentors. I have also read on the message board, a year go someone with the exact same complaint I had. The first project should say you need a chart and a map for your infographic. I had a really good idea for my first project, and then I realized my idea did not fit the parameters of the second assignment. But it was still a fun topic, and not passing a few times did make me improve my work. So i am glad I too it.

By Audrey K

Apr 11, 2016

You have to use adobe illustrator to make the infographic and I didn't think the course did a good enough job giving the basics for that. I had to do a lot of googling to figure out how to do stuff on my own. All of the assessments are done by the people in the course and I thought people were a little too harsh. If someone is completely new to AI then it is a bit much to expect the infographic to be magazine quality.

By Ali S K

Mar 2, 2016

that's very good, but it could be better if there is a way to pay and get certificate. we are in educational and science word not politic word. I live in I.R.Iran and there is no way to pay.

I suggest you to provide some prepaid card for Coursera, that we can use of them, same as ITune gift cards.

By Katrina G

Dec 8, 2020

This is mostly for people with entry-level to Illustrator. I already have some experience and for me, it was too easy.

By Marianna

Feb 12, 2018

Too concentrated on Adobe Illustrator. This should be highlighted in the course description!

By Kavya P P

Jun 10, 2020

It was awesome however more focus could have been on teaching illustrator

By Zhao y

Apr 27, 2017

Handy and Informative

By Alice H

Aug 7, 2017

The videos in this course need to be cleaned up a lot. In the assignment for Week 2, there is a crucial requirement in the assignment that wasn't even COVERED in the videos. And despite emphasizing the need to proofread the infographics we make, there are typos riddled throughout all of the videos.

Also, NONE of the additional Illustrator tutorials that link to his YouTube page work. Please upload them to the actual course, or don't include them at all. I think it's unacceptable that this hasn't been addressed.

This course seems to be sloppy and thrown together--as though the instructor phoned it in knowing he'll get royalties off of it anyway. Please do better.

By Rachel S

Sep 14, 2016

Minus 3 stars for 3 complaints

1. Infographics for Journalism might be a better title. The grading guidelines for the project see all specific to one type of publishing.

2. Grades assigned by fellow classmates are very subjective and sometimes miss the points made it the material.

3. Some of the class material is posted on YouTube and has advertising. I didn't buy into the class so I could watch ads!