Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
2,373 ratings
692 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 675 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By Ahmed Y H H O

Mar 03, 2019

really well prepared

By JianfeiWei

Mar 06, 2019

Thanks a lot!

By Jing

Mar 08, 2019

Wonderful class and very good arrangement of assignment

By Kuznetsova G O

Mar 07, 2019

Everything in the course is explained clearly and thoroughly and the tasks are very useful. I would recommend this course to everyone who has weak knowledge in programming and would like to start with some course. Thanks to all lecturers. They did a great job!

By Caterina W

Mar 16, 2019

Really great course - I have no coding skills and this course is doable and enjoyable.

By Jared W

Mar 18, 2019

Great course. Would highly recommend to others seeking to learn python

By Filip Z

Mar 18, 2019

Excellent course! I think this is the perfect continuation after finishing Dr. Chucks introduction to Python specialization.

By Tim G

Mar 26, 2019

This has been a great course so far. The instruction being done in small "chunks" makes it easier to absorb the material. The mini-projects are a nice challenge that go beyond just what is presented in the lessons. However, the mini-project Descriptions, Program Templates, Code-Tips, Discussion Forums and CodeSkulptor Docs have all provided the necessary insights to complete the mini-projects. I don't think I could have completed a couple of the mini-projects without them.

By Fernando L

Mar 24, 2019

Very useful course, 100% recomendable

By Angelo A d M F

Dec 20, 2018

It's a very good introduction to Python through simple games. The course is well planned and organized and it explores some key concepts of Python programming.

By Lili Z

Dec 23, 2018

The instructors make this course be easy to learn!

By Ramneek k

Dec 21, 2018

I love this course. Great teachers, Great Material and also Great peers!!

By shubham j

Dec 23, 2018

great for any level

By Lien C

Dec 24, 2018

BEST TEACHERS EVER!

Thank you so much for putting in so much effort in creating this amazing course and the specialisation!.

I have learnt so much about programming and had great fun all the way through!

By Daniel R

Dec 12, 2018

Very good course, I wish that they had used Django or some other python framework for GUI interaction though.

By Ying C H

Dec 27, 2018

A really good course for a beginner!

By Rudy H

Mar 29, 2019

Learn a lot from this course, lots of exercises and fun projects. Looking forward to the 2nd parts. Must take this course if you are serious about learning python or programming in general.

By Thomas P

Mar 29, 2019

Amusing and educational!

Which is the best combination!

I look forward to completing Part 2.

By Jiahua M

Apr 07, 2019

Very well structure

By BERTHINY D B B

Apr 09, 2019

Very good content.

By Yiying Z

Jan 24, 2019

Great course!!! Have a very fun studying experience!!! Thx profs!!!

By Bart L

Feb 08, 2019

Excellent course. If you are familiar with other programming languages, this course might be a bit easy. Nonetheless, I still learned a lot!

By Omais R K

Feb 08, 2019

Great course to start learning programming.

By Anna-Kristina P

Dec 13, 2018

A great introduction to using python and with really interesting mini projects that make you want to complete the course.

By Oliver P J S

Jul 21, 2018

spot on