Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2) by Rice University

4.9
stars
1,088 ratings
274 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 2 of this course, we will introduce more elements of programming (such as list, dictionaries, and loops) and then use these elements to create games such as Blackjack. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Asteroids". Upon completing this course, you will be able to write small, but interesting Python programs. The next course in the specialization will begin to introduce a more principled approach to writing programs and solving computational problems that will allow you to write larger and more complex programs....

Top reviews

IS
Jun 22, 2016

This course is the best course I have ever taken. It covers all the topics very well. And importantly I love the treat at the end of every week. The ultimate showdown between the two best instructors.

JG
Apr 1, 2020

A very elegant yet fun way to explain python. I have used the skills learned here and build very useful scripts and python-based micro-services in my current company that have enabled many use cases.

Filter by:

251 - 268 of 268 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

By Lorena D G S

Nov 17, 2017

(:

By NGUYEN K H

Jul 6, 2017

ok

By Jian G

Nov 1, 2017

instructors didn't take much time to explain. I understand that time is limited that they can't touch on everything about it. However, in the mimi-project Blackjack, they use some class features that are not mentioned in the lecture. For example, how to use class methods in other classes, how to use Card initializer in other class, etc. People with previous Python knowledge may find this easy, but to me, a very new beginner with no knowledge at all, it is very confusing.

I like this course so I hope it can be better and benefit more people. Overall, this is a fantastic course and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn Python in a challenging but enjoyable way.

By Marien W

Apr 20, 2017

The audio volume throughout the videos should be improved; consistently, my ears were bombarded during the first shot(s), but as soon as the side-shot plus code came into view I had to crank up the volume in order to understand what was said.

Otherwise, it was a very well thought-out and enjoyable class, thanks!

By Mark C H

Jun 10, 2016

The intro leads you into some really great games and programs. The main downside is that some of the coding projects seem like "fill in the blank" exercises rather than programming on your own. For a real beginner though its exciting getting those cool games out there.

By 俞越

Sep 25, 2017

The practice material is kind of ... complex. The complex is not necessary to my point of view.

Overall, this coursera is a great course. It really gives my the sense of accomplishment and achievement when I finish one and one project.

By Alvin T

Sep 10, 2018

The videos and materials are interesting, and developing games may help motivate the completion of the assignments for some

By Jose A A

Aug 6, 2017

Muy instructivo y entretenido. Profesores con muy buen sentido del humor y apasionados por enseñar.

By Daniel M

Mar 6, 2018

Was Fun to learn the fundementals of programmiing with python.

Thank you.

By Sajiv K

Oct 3, 2017

Good course but does not go deeper into python concepts.

By Venkatesh B

Apr 27, 2017

It is one of the latest programming language

By Sumit s

Nov 11, 2019

great job sir.

By Raghav J

Aug 9, 2016

very nice

By FU K C

Oct 22, 2019

Great!

By VISHVAS R B P

Jul 7, 2020

nice

By Gouranga B

Mar 23, 2019

good

By Devashish N

Oct 1, 2018

More In-depth videos are required for week 7 and week 8 exercises.

By Howard B

Jun 13, 2016

This is ok and I enjoyed the humour and feeble running gags in the lectures.

But it doesn't justify the rip-off pricing at all.