Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to International Criminal Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to International Criminal Law by Case Western Reserve University

4.8
stars
2,502 ratings
636 reviews

About the Course

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

Top reviews

LS

Oct 25, 2020

Extremely well-organized. Really glad to see how all previous examples and history records were referenced to every topic. Neatly explained topics. Every aspect was discussed and explained in detail.

AM

Sep 22, 2020

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 629 Reviews for Introduction to International Criminal Law

By Laura M

Nov 28, 2015

Videos and readings were very clear, I appreciated the fact that our professor was very knowledgable on the subject of international criminal law. There were many different examples and case studies presented that helped further my knowledge of how international criminal proceedings go.

By Florencia P

Sep 16, 2020

Muchas gracias por la oportunidad que me dieron para poder realizar este curso. Fue muy didáctico, practico e interactivo. Me llevo muchos conocimientos nuevos. Espero poder participar de otros cursos. Gracias nuevamente. Totalmente recomendable!!!! Florencia Parrotta, desde Argentina.

By Kanishka S

May 21, 2020

One of the best course I have had on this platform. The professor is very articulate in his speech and puts forward a very balanced perspective in seemingly complex case situations. Absolutely loved it and highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning International Law.

By Herver R C D

Aug 21, 2020

Fue un curso muy interesante y formativo, que complementa nuestra formación en el campo del derecho, nos permitió indagar con objetividad y seriedad desde el origen del la corte internacional penal has los juicios que han sido juzgados, y que forman la jurisdicción internacional.

By Mdumezulu S N

Jul 14, 2019

The course has been enlightening and very helpful in guiding me towards a better grasp of International Criminal Law. The convenience of the coursera.org online learning environment also means I can do this at a pace and distance that fits in with my daily responsibilities.

By Marcelo J M M

Aug 01, 2020

O curso é super conciso e as leituras proporcionam ao aluno um desenvolvimento completo das habilidades necessárias para o Direito Penal Internacional, atravessando horizontalmente as áreas do Direito Internacional Público, Política Internacional e Direito Penal. Incrível!

By Violeta A C B

Jan 29, 2016

Un curso muy interesante y didáctico, útil para quienes no estudiamos derecho. Se discuten casos difíciles y los ejercicios han sido diseñados de manera creativa; además el instructor no sólo conoce la dimensión legal y teórica, sino que tiene experiencias qué compartir.

By mark p

Jan 17, 2016

absolutely outstanding MOOC; makes great use of all the possibilities of this educational media platform... relentlessly driven by a plethora of highly relevant ICC and other International Tribunal cases and Michael Scharf's undying enthusiasm for all matters criminal...

By Rajagopalan T G

Jun 15, 2020

It was very helpful as it was my first online course and it was a great experience to be introduced to International Criminal Law as I was unaware of how the International Court Proceedings work. I am very thankful to Prof. Michael Scharf for making it clear and simple.

By Belén A T

Jun 28, 2017

Un curso extraordinario, breve y conciso. Perfecto como pequeña introducción al mundo del derecho penal internacional. Los videos son muy buenos y las lecturas perfectas. No te exige mucho tiempo, así que es perfecto para complementar otro tipo de educación o trabajo.

By Oliver R

Aug 15, 2020

Estoy muy contento de tomar este curso de Derecho Penal Internacional, mis expectativas eran diferentes, y estoy gratamente complacido de que me haya proporcionado una visión completa y muy ilustrada de los más notables casos de derecho penal de los últimos tiempos.

By Nicole

Feb 12, 2020

The course is definitely worth taking! You will surely obtain so much value from this course but also highly appreciate and be thankful for all that you learn within this course. It is an excellent course in general. Thank you for delivering such an amazing course!

By Matilda F B

Jan 13, 2018

Studying this course in the past few days has made me aware of how much I can benefit from this website. I think Michael Shalf is brilliant in the way he delivers the lectures. Great video on Nuremberg.Loving this website. I'm starting to enjoy learning again.

By Malaya K T

Jun 06, 2019

As far as my experience concerned, this course was of great use in our professional career and it is also very much helpful in my graduation. The learned Professor of this course deals with the vast topic of this course very gently and in a precise manner.

By Emayaval N

Sep 02, 2018

EXCELLENT COURSE THAT EVERY LAW STUDENT HAVE TO LEARN. THE FINAL EXAM WAS JUST AWESOME. DIDN'T EXPECT QUESTIONS OF SUCH HIGH STANDARD. LECTURE VIDEOS WERE SO INTERESTING AND UNDERSTANDABLE. PROFESSOR MICHAEL SCHARF HAS DONE AN EXCELLENT WORK. THANK YOU SIR

By Nuha A M

Jul 01, 2020

I will miss Sir, the way he teaches it's very easy to understand a complicated course like international criminal law. This course made me more curious about this topic. It was a great journey. I wish I could learn all the subject about law from sir. ❤️

By Deleted A

Mar 11, 2020

This is a very intense study and lots of lectures that are of excellent quality. A fascinating study!

Dr. Sharf, I think your test mechanism is the best I have ever seen and should be adopted on some part of the MBE.

High Regards!

Steve Joel Moffett, Sr.

By Lucas A C

Sep 28, 2020

Este es un curso de primer nivel. El profesor Michael Scharf enseña las competencias básicas del derecho penal internacional con mucha claridad y profundidad. Sin dudas un curso muy útil para aquellos que gustan del derecho internacional público.

By Sharmila V

Jul 28, 2020

To me, as a beginner, this course was extremely enjoyable. The presentation was very clear, concise and well presented with easy to understand examples. The additional simulations and reading material added to an overall enriching experience.

By Kristopher R

Jun 18, 2019

So interesting. Found it a really, really terrific introduction to ICL. Learned so much understanding about how all this works globally. Thank you Professor! Every world leader needs to take this in order to learn more about his/her liability.

By Nor H Y

Sep 26, 2020

With no law background, I almost wreck up my brain learning this. The instructor was so knowledgeable and I really enjoy this course. Really love Criminal Law, and after this course, I gain a better understanding on International Criminal Law.

By Edith N

Sep 17, 2020

i commend this course to every legal person in any international Tribunal all over the world.

be it a Judge, Lawyer, prosecution, Researchers even clerk for effective and efficiency IF, their area of specialty is not international criminal law.

By Susan M

Nov 26, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. The prof was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic and presented modern, relevant examples to illustrate different aspects of international criminal law. He's obviously an expert and I am going to read his book!

By Claudia X O R

Jun 17, 2017

Me encanto este curso, aprendí mucho con las lecturas, aunque confieso que me costo mucho porque me tocaba traducir párrafo por párrafo, pero me divertí mucho y lo mejor de todo fueron sin duda los vídeos y las simulaciones, muy recomendado

By Nikolay D

Dec 22, 2019

This is an excellent course which is both highly informative and interactive. Thank you to Michael Scharf for putting together such a formidable introduction to international criminal law. I wish he had taught more courses on Coursera.