Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to International Criminal Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to International Criminal Law by Case Western Reserve University

4.8
stars
3,097 ratings
796 reviews

About the Course

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

Top reviews

AM
Sep 21, 2020

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

LS
Oct 24, 2020

Extremely well-organized. Really glad to see how all previous examples and history records were referenced to every topic. Neatly explained topics. Every aspect was discussed and explained in detail.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 794 Reviews for Introduction to International Criminal Law

By Kaylee C

May 12, 2020

This course is genuinely interesting and well done. As a non law student, but as a person very interested in the subject, I found the material well explained and presented in a way I could easily follow. The professor is clearly passionate about this subject and that brings out a larger impact of this material. Thank you for sharing this great class!

By Sara H

Mar 27, 2021

A 100% recommended course not only for those who like international criminal law, but also for anyone who has an interest in international law or any crime at the international level. I would repeat it a thousand times and I can attest that it is one of the best and most complete courses on an instroduction to international law that I have taken.

By Vivian E D

Nov 1, 2020

Terrific course!! I learned so much about International Law and its proceedings, things which I (and everyone who lives on Earth) should be aware of. Professor Scharf does an excellent job at creating simple and easy to follow videos, with great examples to accompany them, and which truly enlighten you to how International Law works.

By Najah M M A D

Jun 16, 2020

I really really thank you with all my heart..

I've got a lot of advantageous and expanded my lawful international law knowledge with new information which me and other Arabs lawyers cannot find it in their Arabic references.

The paralegal and the legal student research in the Master degree in Syria... Najah Muhammad Maher Al-Dakkak!

By MARIA F A R

Jun 14, 2020

I thank the representatives of the virtual course Introduction to International Criminal Law hoping that the course contributes to my expectations thanks to all the excellent exhibitors; I want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart for giving me this beautiful opportunity to participate in this virtual course. see you soon

By Meropi D

May 14, 2017

I think that the lectures were absolutely perfect and I liked the reading material. Very good idea to include the introduction to international criminal law notes, especially for those who are not familiar with the subject at all. I enjoyed the fact that at the final quiz, the questions were based on a hypothetical case-study.

By SUZAN g

Dec 3, 2018

I really enjoy this course teachers are greate this course improved my knowledge of international law rules where they apply and why lcc is important for safer world more than that it will teach you justices doesn't mean only court room it has it own spirits and it comes to live when you give it a body by lcc courts

By Dennis O

Nov 23, 2020

Michael Scharf's teaching methods are some of the very best I have seen. His inclusion of videos from relevant movies and speeches along with his pop culture references to explain some of the challenging concepts of international criminal law is to be applauded. I love this course and will come back to it.

By Jean-Marie V W

Aug 14, 2021

Very instructive and well structured course. Enthusiastic instructor. Comprehensive reading material and well chosen cases. Maybe Prof. Scharf speaks a little to fast for non-English natives but this is balanced by very good transcripts and the readings. I wish we had more courses of this kind and level.

By Afolasade B

May 31, 2020

This is a really interesting/intriguing course. An eye-opener to international law. It provides a step by step explanation on the process of International law and how to deal with international war criminals.

The Professor made the ride easy, I hope to meet him one day! I totally recommend this course.

By Satinder K B

Aug 10, 2020

Course has been designed in a very simple, easy to understand format. I having very little legal background could appreciate the case studies, simulations and reading material quickly speaks about the quality of course content and its presentation. Kudos to Professor for delivering this course.

By Sushant P A

Jun 29, 2019

Coursera, through this course and all its other ones has made learning law more experiential and interactive. The role-play exercises and simulations have made me understand Law even better than your videos did. The study material is always top-notch. Overall, the best experience in education.

By Kristin P

Nov 5, 2017

This was a great course. Professor Scharf is well spoken and engaging. I think being responsible citizens are those who engage with and are knowledgeable about the rest of the world and how things like this work. This course helps you understand systems most of us are very far removed from.

By ENAS A A

Dec 3, 2015

one of the most important courses I`ve learned ...really appreciate being in that course ...I did it one time before and now I joined for the second time to repeat it even I didn`t participate any assignments or exams ...valuable materials you should have if you are really interested in law !

By Laura M

Nov 28, 2015

Videos and readings were very clear, I appreciated the fact that our professor was very knowledgable on the subject of international criminal law. There were many different examples and case studies presented that helped further my knowledge of how international criminal proceedings go.

By Florencia P

Sep 16, 2020

Muchas gracias por la oportunidad que me dieron para poder realizar este curso. Fue muy didáctico, practico e interactivo. Me llevo muchos conocimientos nuevos. Espero poder participar de otros cursos. Gracias nuevamente. Totalmente recomendable!!!! Florencia Parrotta, desde Argentina.

By Kanishka S

May 21, 2020

One of the best course I have had on this platform. The professor is very articulate in his speech and puts forward a very balanced perspective in seemingly complex case situations. Absolutely loved it and highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning International Law.

By Boo A K

Jun 12, 2021

Quite impressed by the way Prof Scharf taught. Being a student of legal studies, it was hard to follow when I was taught at my university however, Prof. Scharf made it really easy to comprehend. Thank you Professor and case western reserve team and coursera for your unflagging effort.

By Mohamed A

Oct 30, 2020

It was very best course of my life. I have learned so many things that I did not. The instructor is really a great teacher, well organized, clear voice and above deep knowledge of the subject matter. I want to thank to him dearly and I want the institution that offered me this course.

By Óscar M B N

Jan 10, 2021

Great Course, the Professor is a great academic, explains everything with real cases. The readings are interesting and they're appropriate for anyone that has a basic knowledge of law. The Simulations are interesting too, and they really help to digest the contents of the course.

By Herver R C D

Aug 21, 2020

Fue un curso muy interesante y formativo, que complementa nuestra formación en el campo del derecho, nos permitió indagar con objetividad y seriedad desde el origen del la corte internacional penal has los juicios que han sido juzgados, y que forman la jurisdicción internacional.

By Mdumezulu S N

Jul 14, 2019

The course has been enlightening and very helpful in guiding me towards a better grasp of International Criminal Law. The convenience of the coursera.org online learning environment also means I can do this at a pace and distance that fits in with my daily responsibilities.

By Marcelo J M M

Aug 1, 2020

O curso é super conciso e as leituras proporcionam ao aluno um desenvolvimento completo das habilidades necessárias para o Direito Penal Internacional, atravessando horizontalmente as áreas do Direito Internacional Público, Política Internacional e Direito Penal. Incrível!

By Violeta A C B

Jan 29, 2016

Un curso muy interesante y didáctico, útil para quienes no estudiamos derecho. Se discuten casos difíciles y los ejercicios han sido diseñados de manera creativa; además el instructor no sólo conoce la dimensión legal y teórica, sino que tiene experiencias qué compartir.

By mark p

Jan 16, 2016

absolutely outstanding MOOC; makes great use of all the possibilities of this educational media platform... relentlessly driven by a plethora of highly relevant ICC and other International Tribunal cases and Michael Scharf's undying enthusiasm for all matters criminal...