Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to International Criminal Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to International Criminal Law by Case Western Reserve University

4.8
stars
2,596 ratings
665 reviews

About the Course

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

Top reviews

LS
Oct 24, 2020

Extremely well-organized. Really glad to see how all previous examples and history records were referenced to every topic. Neatly explained topics. Every aspect was discussed and explained in detail.

AM
Sep 21, 2020

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 662 Reviews for Introduction to International Criminal Law

By cm4ever

Jul 12, 2016

It's amazing, I've learnt so many things and I haven't even completed the course (yet)! As it goes, it becomes more and more interesting, compelling to complete it and, maybe, even go for a certificate.

By Aanie S G S

Oct 18, 2020

This course really improved my knowledge about law. And it was very useful and interesting to do this course.

Thanks to coursera for offering this course

And thanksto Cast Western Reserve University.

By Petra R

Jul 21, 2017

Only just started but absolutely loving it. I can't believe how much I have already learned!

Just finished ahead of time, it was GREAT and I really would like to see another one to build up on this one!

By Laiba S

Oct 25, 2020

Extremely well-organized. Really glad to see how all previous examples and history records were referenced to every topic. Neatly explained topics. Every aspect was discussed and explained in detail.

By ANOUSHKA M

Sep 22, 2020

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

By Jade M S

Aug 29, 2020

i learned the importance to exist an international criminal court to judge all theses crimes that can not be just judge in the domestic law, because they affect the whole world with their gravity.

By Juan P J

Jul 24, 2020

It is one of the best courses I have seen, it is excellent, a graduated professor, with great experience and many studies, congratulations, have made the best course in international criminal law.

By Eleazar L M A

May 23, 2020

Excelente curso, el guia es uno de los mejores profesores que se pueda tener, el programa muy interesante e instructivo, mucha calidad de verdad, este es un curso que recomiendo ampliamente.

By Raymundo G S

Nov 4, 2017

definitivamente es bueno para los que nos gusta esta materias tiene un empuje en lo personal me jalo pero me falto mas tiempo para una buena calificación pero seguiré adelante y mejorare

By Cecilia O

Jul 6, 2019

Lo mejor que me ha pasado es llegar a ser alumna de este gran profesor y el orgullo de terminar satisfactoriamente el curso, el cuál cuenta con un alto nivel internacional.

Gracias por todo

By Viviana E M M

Sep 4, 2019

Muy buen cruso aprendí derecho penal internacional, litigio internacional y practiqué inglés jurídico, aspectos importantes para el ejercicio de la abogacía enfocada en lo internacional

By Dennys F A M

Oct 18, 2015

Simplemente excelente, tuve algún problema por el idioma en los exámenes, sin embargo es una gran materia que brinda mucho conocimiento en materia penal internacional, muchas gracias.

By elohim

Aug 15, 2018

Thank you for letting us know a little of your knowledge and your patience in answering us with your valuable opinions.I send you a fraternal hug and my eternal recognition.Thank you

By Shahir m

Oct 10, 2020

I loved the course as I learnt a lot which would help me in the future. I want to thank Mr Scharf for spending his time going through the key topics about International CrimInal Law

By Leidy V C P

Jul 20, 2020

Es un curso demasiado interesante, el profesor es muy claro en todo lo que dice y aporta muchisimo al aprendizaje de un abogado. Las sesiones son dinámicas y las lecturas sencillas.

By MANUEL R R R

Sep 17, 2020

Un buen curso donde puede aprender tanto lo teórico como practico del derecho internacional penal y de como realizar la interpretación jurídica y de la equivalencia del derecho.

By Melvin D G

Sep 20, 2019

Excelente curso, sería genial que los documentos adjuntos estuviesen en Español, o en su defecto en el idioma oriundo del participante, muchas gracias, por tan excelente curso.

By Juliana A M

May 24, 2020

Really easy to follow, but the contents was not simplistic and they really added to my knowledge and understanding of the International Judicial System. Would really recommend

By Annesha K G

Nov 15, 2015

This course is flexible & stuffed with huge information which is really helpful to build our knowledge. Thank you very very much for providing this course.

Annesha Kar Gupta

By Мелехина А П

May 16, 2020

It was really interesting and informative course. I learned a lot of new information and of course I have broaden my horizons. Thank you for your efforts and this course.

By LUZ A C P

Dec 19, 2018

Excelente el curso, felicitaciones. agradecería se tradujeran los materiales escritos, las simulaciones y los exámenes y así la evaluación seria un poco mas equilibrada.

By Anamar C

Nov 20, 2020

Excellent Professor Scharf. I learned a lot of new concepts. Hope it helps me in the future. Professor explains very clear, I understood everything, thank you very much!

By Cleo T

Nov 21, 2016

Very interesting and I enjoyed the manner in which Michael Scharf taught. Additionally, I liked the course because it is very interactive and there is a lot of freedom.

By Mamajonov A

Jul 31, 2020

I have obtained a lot of good knowledge related to International Criminal Law and I am really thankfull for www.coursera.org and of course for Professor Michael Scharf

By Guillermo I A

May 7, 2019

I have taken already different courses of Coursera, and I can assure that this course ir really well developed, with deeply knowledge of both theory and case analysis.