Chevron Left
Back to Journalism, the future, and you!

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Journalism, the future, and you! by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
275 ratings
88 reviews

About the Course

You will learn about the career paths that are available in journalism, and what opportunities the skill sets of a journalist can offer in other fields. You will explore areas such as being an international correspondent, self-publishing in journalism, as well as how to freelance in the field. You will be empowered to develop your own path in journalism, from being an active and informed consumer, to being a journalist. The worlds of business, communications, politics, education and marketing all utilize elements of journalism. This course also examines how to keep the trust of audiences through ethical, and responsible, journalistic practices. Sometimes, journalists need to be aware of their own safety. We will intelligently discuss how journalists around the world handle pressure, threats and other dangers while doing their jobs. Journalism - and journalists - are agents of change. Are you ready to become one too?...

Top reviews

SR
Jun 29, 2018

Fantastic Class! I have a BA in Journalism and I felt the Coursera/MSU SoJ Classes were indeed tougher and give a much better example of 'real world' than you will find in most class rooms.

VS
Dec 6, 2016

Genuine course, which makes budding journalists aware about the dangers involved, dedication required, & precautions to be taken, as well as importance of business aspect in journalism.

Filter by:

76 - 86 of 86 Reviews for Journalism, the future, and you!

By ALEXANDRE V

Sep 22, 2016

Very good! There's room for improvement in the assignments, especially the quizzes that have simple questions and some have only one.

By Swathi C

Jun 27, 2016

A basic course into ethics, principles etc of a journalist. Assignments are straight forward and interesting.

By leen a h

Oct 27, 2020

great course, it helps the student to remember the most remarkable points of journalism.

By Gautam D

Nov 23, 2016

Excellent course if anyone wants to take up Journalism in the future.

By Nicolas B

Nov 15, 2017

It was a great course ! A lot of writing, which is good.

By Carla A

Jul 22, 2020

Good course...very informative

By Rudhransh S

Dec 28, 2017

N/A

By Vorian M

May 8, 2018

The quality control of the course is not very good. Some videos repeat the same take twice. Some questions are misplaced. Some of the peer review prompts are placed as questions for the student, which causes confusion.

The lecturers are very little personal. i.e I dont connect with them so I dont get too inspired and loose motivation with this particular course (not the subject).

I feel a bit like in a sausage machine, yet there are not enough students on the course to review my assignments, or for me to review assignments. I keep on having to go back to, a for me completed course, to see if there is anyone I can review to get my certificate.

This goes for all of the courses in the series, regretfully.

By Priscilla P

Nov 14, 2016

O curso é bacana, mas os vídeos poderiam ser mais interativos. A maioria é apenas o professor falando e algumas listas. As tarefas também poderiam ser mais diversificadas, porque são quase sempre as mesmas e elas cansam.

By Lijuan Z

Mar 12, 2019

There some technical issues with this course:

the assignment and preview is not working! makes it impossible to complete the course.

By Alexandre K

Jan 6, 2021

The three first courses of the speclialization were very good. This one was not necessary, itcould have been done in the three other. The issue was the quality of the assignments given. Most students did not understand what was needed and seemed to produce out of subject assignments.