Chevron Left
Back to International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
972 ratings
195 reviews

About the Course

International Law in Action explains the functions of each international court and tribunal present in The Hague, and it looks at how these institutions address contemporary problems. On the basis of selected cases, and through interviews with judges and lawyers, you will explore the role of these courts and tribunals and their potential to contribute to global justice. The first module of the course will investigate how judicial settlement is different from other more political forms of dispute settlement, such as negotiation and mediation. It offers a brief historical overview and introduces the judicial and arbitral bodies based in The Hague. In the remaining modules you will learn about the functions of these courts and tribunals, and some of the challenges and prospects that they face. Three cross-cutting themes tie together all of these modules: (i) The interaction between law and politics; (ii) The continuing role of State consent; and (iii) The ability of international courts and tribunals to protect the public interest and global values. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into the functions and features of the courts and tribunals present in The Hague. You will gain a familiarity with each court or tribunal. You will develop realistic expectations of their capacity to address contemporary problems and an awareness of their limitations. You will also be able to discuss some of their most prominent cases. If you would like to have a better understanding of international law in action in The Hague, this is definitely the course for you! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera...

Top reviews

MV
Apr 28, 2019

It was good overview course about three main international courts in The Hague. The lectures were good structured and clear. Interviews were impressed and made international court practices "real".

TD
Mar 23, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging\n\nThis course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 192 Reviews for International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

By Carla Z G

Sep 15, 2018

Thanks for this course, I had the opportunity to understand the role of the International Law, the Tribunals, the UN the Judges and also the Huge, playing an important in the interstates relationships to equilibrate the world order

By Ihor K

Apr 22, 2017

Very well-structured lectures which gives general but nevertheless full understanding of the topic. Good examples from court practice were needed. Interesting interviews with people working at international courts. Great course!

By Sarah

Jun 11, 2020

This course is information dense and riveting with each piece of information you learn. It is a good starting point if you are interested in international law and I highly recommend it . I've enjoyed this course immensely !!

By Putri P

Sep 13, 2017

This course is great for the ones interested in pursuing career in international court and tribunals. The fact that this course offers great interviews with some important people related to the course are very intersting

By Fathi R

Aug 19, 2020

Good morning, it was a very excellent course in which I was able to learn about the courts located in The Hague, as well as the legal procedures followed in these courts. Thank you very much for granting me this course.

By madhu l

Jun 29, 2018

This is a great course giving complete overview packed with details for any starter in International Law irrespective of their background. The global order and law and the future will be shaped by courses like these.

By Laurynas V P

Oct 28, 2017

The course is very interesting! What I like the most that there's an additional video lectures in which professors explains how and why things work like that (ICJ, PCA etc).

Looking forward to keep learning more!

By Gabriel A Q S

Jun 11, 2021

It is an interesting course. You will get a better understanding of International Courts and Tribunals. I strongly recommend this course to everyone who are willing to learn something about international law.

By Rubén B S

Apr 18, 2016

I really enjoyed this course... for those of us that love international law and international relations this one is a must to understand the complexity of the international community and the future of it.

By Luis E M P

Jan 20, 2018

Es genial. Mi primer curso en línea y me parece interactivo, didáctico, entretenido y enriquecedor. Definitivamente una guía para comprender el derecho internacional desde un enfoque jurídico-político.

By Maria V

Apr 29, 2019

It was good overview course about three main international courts in The Hague. The lectures were good structured and clear. Interviews were impressed and made international court practices "real".

By Minevere L

Jun 15, 2020

This course was extremely good. Course materials were very clear and concise, videos and interviews very helpful and informative. I'm very satisfied and thank you for all your contriboution!!

By Taylor D

Mar 24, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging

This course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

By ELENA E

Jun 14, 2020

Great opportunity to learn more about international courts and tribunals, their nature, competence and goals. The course also provides you with useful, practical information on the topic.

By Hany G

Dec 24, 2020

I am incredibly happy to take this course, the scientific material is very important here to get a general view of the subject, which helps to determine trends in the subsequent steps.

By JULIA P D M

Nov 21, 2020

Esse curso é sensacional, muito completo, contém entrevistas, e esclarece bastante a compreensão acerca dos tribunais internacionais que existem, bem como sua função. excelente!

By Yury

Jun 18, 2016

Este curso é excelente , o material é fantástico , e os professores são altamente qualificados, parabéns a todos que contribuíram para a realização deste excelente curso.

By Yassine E G

Sep 23, 2017

It was a great program. I appreciate so much the quality of education and also the professors of this course. In short, it was an amazing and unforgettable experience.

By Dhruv S

Aug 14, 2016

Fantastic Course, taught wonderfully well by the three extraordinary instructors. A definite to do for an introductory understanding of the international legal system.

By Alonso R M

May 10, 2016

I recommend this course to everybody, it is very complete and the teachers are amazing. you will learn all about the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague.

By Debora C

Aug 31, 2016

Complete, well done! I really have appreciated video lessons and peer review work! I have enrolled also in the next course on the International Criminal Law.

By Keshav J

Jun 8, 2016

It was a fantastic education on basics of International law for the students like us who are from developing nation and have no access to quality education.

By Rayssa R

Jun 14, 2021

Experiência incrível!! O curso é uma boa oportunidade para conhecer um pouco mais sobre os tribunais internacionais e o direito internacional. Vale a pena!

By Asma Q A

May 28, 2020

Really , I’m so happy finished this course , may be I take many time to complete it , but no problem , finally I feel proud to do it , thanks God .

By Felipe T G

Mar 28, 2017

El mejor curso. Muy completo y debidamente organizado. Me ha gustado mucho y ha satisfecho mis expectativas. Espero poder seguir aprendiendo mucho.