Chevron Left
Back to Internet History, Technology, and Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Internet History, Technology, and Security by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
2,047 ratings
553 reviews

About the Course

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

Top reviews

SB

Jan 07, 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

SI

Apr 26, 2019

Great Instructor! I have learnt alot from this course as well as the instructor. I am thankful to coursera for providing me this opportunity to learn from an instructor like Dr. Charles Severance.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 542 Reviews for Internet History, Technology, and Security

By mohit p

Aug 27, 2015

it is really good, what turing has been done for the british government and all history of internet...................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! well done..keep it up......all coursera team......!!thank you for all your time and sharing valuable information with us....!Thank you....!!

By Lorraine B

Aug 21, 2015

Really interesting material on the inner workings of the internet and how it came about. Would recommend it to anyone with an interest in computers and networking. Content is very engaging and pitched at a level that even a non computer scientist like myself finds it e

By Lódri P

Feb 12, 2016

Was very, very usefull and totally worth the time, energy to watch the videos, do the quizes. Dr. Chuck is a really great person, easy to understand. Recommend this class for everybody whose a little interested in the making of the biggest innovation in the 20th century.

By Jayro G F

Feb 24, 2016

I've learned so many good things i did not know about internet, it's just so amazing to look back in the history and find out how much effort people put into practice to build what we call today internet , Absolutely a great course!, Absolutely a great course!

By Nicholas H

Aug 16, 2017

I totally recommend the course. It is well paced and great for both people who use internet technologies in practice or those who just ant to learn the foundation of those practices and their origins. Take the course finish it up the lectures are fun and engaging.

By JM L

Nov 05, 2015

Additionally to the very interesting and useful content proposed in this course, I have found it very much enjoyable and pleasant thanks to the talent of Dr. Chuck. Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck you are really a wonderful person and I hope to meet you in person one day.

By Raymond L B

Aug 22, 2015

I loved this course! The professor did a great job explaining the history of the internet and more importantly the reasons behind a lot of the actions. I highly recommend this class for anyone that wants to know more about how a lot of today's technology works.

By Erez A

Nov 04, 2015

This is an amazing course. I love it! The topic is already interesting but the instructor makes it a top class. He makes us re-live the history of computing and the internet so we can feel what it was like

Thank you so much for offering the class on coursera.

By Stanislav K

Jul 07, 2017

Terng pbhefr jvgu n terng cebsrffbe! Jung V yvxrq zbfg vf gung vg abg bayl cebivqrf fhssvpvrag nzbhag bs grpuavpny qrgnvyf ohg fubjf ubj, jura naq ol jubz n cnegvphyne grpuabybtl jnf vairagrq naq ubj vg nssrpgrq bhe jbeyq.

Gunax lbh irel zhpu sbe gur pbhefr!

By Daniel Ś

Aug 17, 2015

It's really great too see the history of Computers, Internet, etc.

Fantastic to watch all the interviews with the people who created Internet, First Web Server, WWW.

I really enjoy it and it feels like exciting journey back in time!

Thank You Dr. Chuck:)

By Tarit G

Jun 25, 2020

In this course, I have learnt a lot about how the internet works. The lectures were like stories, the instructor made the content very simple to understand and fun. I have learnt many topics from Dr Chuck. He is one of the best teachers for me.

By Victor L G d S

May 19, 2020

This is a great course to start learning more about computers. It is straight foward and easy to understand. The professor is amazing at explaning how everything started and how we got here.

Thanks to you most of the doubts I had got cleared.

By Ethan R

Aug 03, 2016

The subject of this course is interesting, and is presented in an informative way. The interviews that are scattered throughout the lessons are a combination of extended learning and a break, and are very educational. Overall, a great course.

By Deleted A

Oct 21, 2015

Excellent course for learning about the history of computers, how the Internet came to be and evolved as well as its inner workings and various security technologies around it (all explained perfectly for the non-technical savvy individuals).

By Abhishek K

Oct 19, 2015

This was my first course on Coursera and it was awesome. A great journey of 10 weeks with Dr. Chuck filled with lots of learning and enjoyment. Keep coming up with more such courses. All the best Dr. Chuck and Coursera Team.

Regards,

Abhishek

By Stefanos D

Sep 15, 2015

Amazing course, very informative and well-structured. Dr Chuck is really fun and makes learning pleasant.

Additional sources are given throughout the course,a lot of trivia to discover...

Really satisfied with this course overall.

Thank you!

By Edouard V

Oct 12, 2016

I had a lot of fun learning with Dr SEVERANCE, the content of the course effectively covers the three topics of History, Technology and Security, is nicely organized, and very accessible for someone without a scientific background.

By Ameerah R A M A

Mar 20, 2020

I learned many new things about IT from this course. The course is very informative and the instructor Dr. chuck maid it fun and easy to understand. Thanks you for your efforts dr. Chuck and hope to take more courses with you.

By Qingyuan M L

Nov 26, 2016

Loved learning about the history of internet, how it evolved, and the culture of the groups that developed it! Security chapters were so much fun where we got to practice decryption and encryption. Eddie the cat was cute too!

By Jim R

Oct 11, 2015

Fascinating course about how the internet developed and how security works. Seeing interviews with some of the prime movers and developers in this field was particularly rewarding. The encryption exercises were great fun too.

By Michael W M

Oct 03, 2016

Dr. Chuck is a wonderful teacher. His delivery is superlative. Love the choice of videos too. They really add to the experience. I bought the course book and found it to be very helpful. Thank you Dr. Chuck and Go Blue!

By Liz B

Feb 07, 2017

Super interesting, particularly as got into the internet in during some of this era, felt like time travel. Especially appreciated the interviews with the web /security pioneers, brings the topic to life. Thanks Dr Chuck!

By Sivakumar.P

Aug 18, 2015

The broad range of topics covered for this course aligned to the topic is excellent. This is useful to get a broad and in depth idea on not only on History of Internet but also of the computing industry. Thanks for that.

By Vadim Y

Mar 02, 2017

Interesting material presented in a captivating way. There are a lot of interviews with people who were involved in designing and implementing the technologies that constitute the modern internet. Highly recommend.

By Mirza G

Jun 12, 2018

Great course from a non-techie's perspective. I am a lawyer working with IT related issues, and this course is a must have! Dr.Chuck is amazing and I really feel it is worth the effort. I recommend this to everyone!