Chevron Left
Back to Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Internet of Things: How did we get here? by University of California San Diego

3.9
stars
1,024 ratings
320 reviews

About the Course

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top reviews

DR
Mar 7, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

GP
Jan 4, 2016

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 306 Reviews for Internet of Things: How did we get here?

By Gary F

Jan 18, 2019

Excellent title. Pretty much summarizes the entire course. Through out the entire course you will definately wonder why you are here. Your answer must be for IoT every time. If that's the case, then stay tune. If you manage to reach the end, you will also know how you got here.

By Praharsh R D

Apr 10, 2020

This is a great course for people looking to know the history of IoT and as the name suggests how did we get here. the only thing wrong with this course is the assignment part as it is hilt disjoint and there are a lot of problems with the grading system.

By Siddhant S

Jun 6, 2020

The quiz questions were out of the topic. The course material and the quiz questions did not match. As a result it was very difficult to finish the course. Prior knowledge is very much required.

By Kumaran A B

Jun 21, 2020

The present course does not talk about Amazon Cloud services or dragon boards.. Just the mention of it wont help. I am not sure if it is trimmed down version or anything.. but not happy..

By Ying X

Oct 18, 2018

Mainly disappointment in the quiz. Too many not mentioned in the lecture and takes too long to find the answer and in the end not finding the research rewarding

By Ramy R K

Jul 11, 2017

Most of the course is about history with fair technical information. there are topics which are discussed in less than 1 min , how can i be an expert in 1 min ?

By Hiroshi T

Aug 15, 2020

The lecture and content does not match up with many of the quiz/assignment question. Might have to look through and provide more information in the videos

By Dartagnan S M

Jul 16, 2020

The tests didn't match the content. Some of them even have wrong answers. Good content. But needs a Dragonboard to continue further the next courses

By Lalit M

Jul 6, 2020

course is good ,,But the quizzes and assignment is not according to the course so please fix them

By Andrés D L O

Aug 18, 2020

The content of the week 2 videos, has nothing to be with the questions of the tests.

By Michael P

Sep 18, 2020

Lectures and other course materials are not consistent with content of quizzes.

By Ian A H

Jul 6, 2020

Quizes and Assignments contain material not covered by course.

By Ho H M N

Jul 9, 2020

I don't think the lectures are related to the quizzes at all

By Mehak B

May 23, 2020

The quiz questions are unrelated to content taught

By Deleted A

Feb 9, 2016

It is good but for an introduction its too long.

By Oussama B S

Mar 11, 2018

the exams have no relation with the course

By MUNIRA A A A

Sep 13, 2020

very difficult but i did

By Michel G k

Aug 27, 2020

we need more information

By David B

Mar 28, 2016

Good content

By MD M U R

Apr 22, 2016

Too short.

By Matt J

Aug 2, 2020

The quizzes at the end of the each section barely relate to any of the video content and require you to google topics that were mostly not at all discussed in the course. The first week is about the history of the telephony industry which may be somewhat relevant for developing a cellular IoT solution, its just a very small piece of the rest of the Internet of Things ecosystem. Far too much content is dedicated to how telephones work when most of IoT solutions are not voice telephony applications and to the history of AT&T. The content feels like it was pulled from a course on the history of the telephony industry that was repurposed. Only saving grace of this course is that its only 2 weeks.

By Lim C Y

Jun 5, 2020

The quizzes given are not based on the learning resources provided within the course. Instead, you have to rely on researching on them yourselves or have prior knowledge in the field. There is also a lack of feedback for the quizzes, and when answers don't seem to tally with what you have found online, you are left scratching your head and questioning your own life's existence. In short, it was an extremely stressful and excruciating experience doing this course especially since this was not within my field of knowledge. Do not attempt this course if given the choice unless you have a background in this field or are extremely interested in this topic.

By Jason S

Oct 4, 2020

The course content provided was only a high-level overview, while the questions asked in the quizzes were not anywhere in the course materials. Hours of additional individual research online was required to answer the questions and pass the course. The assessments were not a tests of whether one viewed and understood the material, but a test of their ability to do independent online research.

By Alexander T

Jun 27, 2016

You should rename it to 90s style history of comunication from Bell to nowdays with useless facts about it.

I watched almost all first block but then I understood that I learnt nothing than I tried the IoT block, but it still wordy and superficial. Use more media to show your main ideas, take a class of public speaking and stop shaking a remote all the time you dont even use it.

By Jon D

Oct 10, 2016

I was incredibly excited to start this course. The outline looks amazing. For learning mediums like this, you have to start strong. Keep up the great work, you all look like you know what you're doing. You should certainly put some polish on all these videos. It's near impossible to follow along. I'd be curious in seeing the data on how many of your students finish this course.