Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to English Common Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to English Common Law by University of London

4.8
stars
1,253 ratings
379 reviews

About the Course

The common law of England and Wales is one of the major global legal traditions. This MOOC will give you an introduction to this influential legal system including its history, constitutional background, sources and institutions. You’ll learn about the different ways in which laws are made and interpreted, the English court system and the increasing importance of European Union and human rights law. Now is an especially exciting time to be learning about English common law, given the potential changes that lie ahead in today’s political, economic and social environment – all these pose challenges to and opportunities for the law. Each week we’ll focus on one aspect of English common law, using video lectures, readings, discussion questions and activities to enable you to learn about and evaluate key issues. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London’s world-class LLB degree, you will find this course interesting and stimulating. Please note that participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

FA
May 21, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to English Law. The lecturers outline things in a very clear manner and the readings cover the topic well. The quizzes are quite demanding. It is a very enjoyable course.

HJ
Jun 3, 2019

This course is a well designed one. It provides us a good comprehensive guide on the legal practice in England. I'm grateful to the designers of the course and 2 lecturers for presenting us this.

Filter by:

376 - 385 of 385 Reviews for Introduction to English Common Law

By Brenda X

Dec 28, 2020

Great job!

By Doug P

Apr 26, 2020

The title is a bit of a misnomer, because it's really about the English and Welsh law system (including statute law and international law as well as common law) and enforcement systems.

Bits of it are incredibly basic but bits of it have some interest. I did learn bits - but not much.

Whomever wrote the English subtitles obviously never studied the course; there are many "sounds alike" errors in there. The course is also out of date by at least 5 months (things change!) and there's 1 important broken video link, some text as images etc. so some accessibility issues.

It's a bit of a mickey mouse course really; and the £37 for assessment and a certificate is ridiculous. Nice earner for the University of London.

Not taxing though

By Eric J

Jul 23, 2020

I give this course a 3 star out of 5. The reason why is that although the information is pretty good and decent it was still a little repetitive. Another thing is that the background music in every video is annoying and horrible background music I have ever heard in my life. The information could have been better and executed properly. Like some information I couldn't understand and most of them were very confusing. The videos are okay but a bit boring. Overall, decent course but could have done better with this course.

By Saba D - B

Apr 17, 2021

In general, I was satisfied with the content, BUT please update the content, e.g when was the last election for European Commission or who is now the president... they are not up-to-date

By ramazan y

Jan 16, 2021

Bunun benim için zor olduğunu düşünüyorum, bu yüzden dinlemeyi anlamak için ingilizcemi geliştirmem gerekiyor. umarım kendimi geliştirebilirsem genel hukuk okumaya çalışırım

By Anita K

May 20, 2020

Good overview, but it is let down by the lack of video tutorials. The course is using Reading materials as core teaching materials and not just as additional information.

By Michael A O

Jun 11, 2019

A strong course with some great ideas in it. I would have liked to see a more explicit and embedded recognition of the rule of law throughout.

By Sergio S S

Jun 5, 2020

The classes should be more completes.

By Sharon A S

Jun 15, 2021

Confused as to why participation with peers was optional throughout the course but compulsory at the end. I am extremely disappointed that this was the method used to determine if someone will receive a certificate or not. I enrolled in the above because I wanted the knowledge but had absolutely no interest in interacting with any other student. Yes, the overview of the course speaks about quizzes, peer review etc. but it is unconscionable of you to make participation with peers optional from the beginning of the course but make it compulsory at the end. If in the first instance, this would be compulsory, I would have withdrawn from the course.

I really enjoyed doing the course but my inability to get my certificate has left a very bitter taste in my mouth. I will not make the mistake of signing up for any other course.

Please update your questions for End of Week Quiz 6. The EU questions are in relation to elections in 2014. There was an election in 2019.