Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to English Common Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to English Common Law by University of London

4.8
stars
1,295 ratings
383 reviews

About the Course

The common law of England and Wales is one of the major global legal traditions. This MOOC will give you an introduction to this influential legal system including its history, constitutional background, sources and institutions. You’ll learn about the different ways in which laws are made and interpreted, the English court system and the increasing importance of European Union and human rights law. Now is an especially exciting time to be learning about English common law, given the potential changes that lie ahead in today’s political, economic and social environment – all these pose challenges to and opportunities for the law. Each week we’ll focus on one aspect of English common law, using video lectures, readings, discussion questions and activities to enable you to learn about and evaluate key issues. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London’s world-class LLB degree, you will find this course interesting and stimulating. Please note that participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

FA
May 21, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to English Law. The lecturers outline things in a very clear manner and the readings cover the topic well. The quizzes are quite demanding. It is a very enjoyable course.

HJ
Jun 3, 2019

This course is a well designed one. It provides us a good comprehensive guide on the legal practice in England. I'm grateful to the designers of the course and 2 lecturers for presenting us this.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 391 Reviews for Introduction to English Common Law

By Anxhelona B

Mar 23, 2021

So insightful, especially for a non-law student. I would suggest this course to anyone who wants to do a law conversion course in future!

By Andres J G A

Dec 26, 2020

I like the course becouse it gives me a new way to interpretate the english legal system, their sources of law and the judicial precedent.

By Dante F

Aug 12, 2020

Great course! Love the format of the didactics and assessments. Really provides an excellent basic knowledge of the English Legal System!

By Athira S

Mar 27, 2020

I have to say the method of teaching was outstanding. Anyone could easily understand and also it was very interesting.

Thank you so much.

By Amir Z

May 10, 2021

In my opinion, This course was a really great introduction to English common law system and as a Civil law student, I really enjoyed it.

By Nikeeta S

Aug 15, 2020

Amazing course!Little complex for a 14 year old but still. I am looking to apply at oxford for law so this would help me a lot thanks!

By Frances S

May 19, 2020

Great introductory course with in-depth structure. It flows easily and the mix of videos and reading made the course easier to digest.

By Renan d R S

Jun 6, 2020

incredible course, incredible teachers and incredible material, great experience, I will not say anything else to not give spoilers.

By Ilikan H

Jun 14, 2020

Gives a very nice brief overview of the English legal system without going too deep and complicated. I'm glad I took this course!

By Akolisa A

May 1, 2020

Excellent course. Good introduction to English law and I believe that it will help me in my LLB program that is starting tomorrow

By Rupert H

Apr 26, 2020

This course has been really interesting, well structured and it has definitely inspired me to further study Law later in my life.

By Larry J P

Nov 28, 2021

the course is well taught and resourced with a realistic timetable, the 'what i would expect' from a law course.

larry john page

By Jason J T

Jul 18, 2021

It builds fundamental in my legal career. All the lectures and exercises delivered are of high quality, and in a concise manner.

By NETHMI N D S

Aug 13, 2020

I have really enjoyed doing this course as I have learnt so much, while receiving the information in a clear and simple format.

By Aanya C

Aug 10, 2020

This course gave me a good insight into English Common Law and I would love to pursue the same in the years to come. Thank you!

By Agathe B

Jul 5, 2020

A very interesting course that is great for beginners looking to learn about the English Common Law. I really recommend it.

By Stephanie D

Dec 14, 2020

O curso é bem completo. Eu fiz para complementar a matéria da faculdade.

As professoras tem um inglês de fácil compreensão.

By Uros K

Dec 21, 2020

It was very informational and pleasurable to study, i look forward towards courses who adopt a similar interactive model!

By Liam M

Sep 23, 2021

T​his is a very well-presented introduction to English Common Law that includes both historical and contemporary issues.

By KHIKHINASHVILI L

Jun 29, 2020

Introduction to English Common Law is the most detailed and interesting course that gave me a lot of necessary knowledge

By Sergio P C

Jun 9, 2020

Un excelente curso para los amantes del derecho, te dá las bases que te podrá ayudar a entender el sistema Common Law.

By Flavia R

Oct 25, 2020

This course is very interesting, it explains all the aspects of the common law in an accurate way. I really loved it.

By Ana R E

Mar 11, 2019

Excellente introduction to de English common law system , im learning the consuetidinary system in English judicy law

By Sonia A S

Feb 1, 2021

Fantastic course! It's a perfect introduction for anyone wanting to gain more knowledge on the English Legal System.

By Muhammad T M

Jul 18, 2021

It was a nice and comprehensive course about English Common Law and learnt a lot of things already not known to me.