Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems by University of Colorado Boulder

4.6
stars
969 ratings
237 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5360, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Top reviews

KS
Jul 30, 2020

This is an extremely good course and I learned a lot. Thank you very much sir "Timothy Scherr " and all the people who make this a such a nice one. Also thank you very much "COURSERA" !!!

PM
Nov 5, 2020

This course is very basic level and I encourage all the electronics students must take this course. Thank you Timothy Scherr Sir, he explained all the concepts with detailed explanation.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 239 Reviews for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

By Ali A

Nov 8, 2018

The course was great. I learned a lot about FPGA architecture and choosing the right kind of tool for a particular task. The week 2 peer assignment needs a bit of some fixing, but the rest was awesome.

By John S

Aug 12, 2020

Some procedures through the tutorials in the course are told without explanation, why we use this or why we do that.

But overall this is an amazing course, and I learned a lot from it. Thank you all ❤️

By Karthik P

Nov 16, 2018

It had been quiet a knowledgeable course with the best aiding CAD tools and elobarate walk-through to work with it. Definitely a good starter into world of FPGA design.

By Mohamed R H

Jul 22, 2021

​Great course for who wants to start FPGA learning. The most effective weeks I have learned from are two and four. I am looking forward to start the second course.

By FARHANA S J

Jul 5, 2020

Bit harder course, but after finishing it, will surely improve knowledge on FPGA. Have few bugs on graded submission part. Overall great experience.

By Husam k

Oct 4, 2018

awesome course, hope there would more courses similar to it and if possible it would be great if you provide a step-by-step VHDL programming course

By Thierry

Feb 19, 2019

Very good introduction to fpga design! I regret recommended hardware is not on the market anymore and some recommended lectures are outdated.

By Kaijun F

Dec 27, 2017

Good course. Could improve by giving a little bit more background information or project goal of the circuits we build in the course.

By Jasper H

Nov 17, 2017

Good introduction to FPGA design, programmable logic and use of the Quartus II software. Can't wait for the follow-up modules.

By Kyle H

Nov 28, 2017

Material is introductory, but thorough. Quizzes had some issues, and the 'correct' answers need to be rechecked carefully.

By Arjun A P

Jul 27, 2020

Found this course very useful. But the explaination of circuits could be improved as it is a beginners course

By David T

Dec 17, 2019

Very nice course giving a good overview of FPGA, though sometimes not detailed enough. It is an introduction.

By RAVAL V H

May 31, 2019

excellent course to get familiar with basic of Quartus prime design tool

By 张智博

Dec 23, 2020

I learned a lot about the history and structure of FPGAs.

By Sandeep D

Jun 27, 2020

Good opportunity to learn with practical knowledge.

By Valentin K

Oct 4, 2021

Course gives is you a really big picture.

By PRASHANT G

Nov 21, 2018

Good course,step by step understanding .

By Cường N Q

Jul 12, 2021

Very good for a newbie in FPGA design!

By Megha M S

Jul 19, 2019

please provide fully free courses

By Akshay S

Feb 21, 2021

Really knowledgeable course.

By S V

Apr 9, 2020

very informative course

By Sushrut M S

Jun 6, 2020

Nice and informative.

By Akshay

Feb 16, 2021

Really good course.

By WU-TE Y

Jul 5, 2020

It's good lecture!

By Laxman N

Aug 24, 2020

Very helpful