Chevron Left
Back to Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
2,161 ratings
762 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wished you knew how to program, but had no idea where to start from? This course will teach you how to program in Scratch, an easy to use visual programming language. More importantly, it will introduce you to the fundamental principles of computing and it will help you think like a software engineer....

Top reviews

ED
Apr 4, 2016

the course is what the name says it is, an introduction to programming, great course for any code beginner. Lecturer is doing amazing job and keeping the lectures interesting, easy and understandable.

MT
Jun 3, 2020

for a total beginner in coding, this course was the perfect start! It was easy to understand, and easy to program (coding wit already?)\n\nThank you so much for offering such a wonderful way to learn!

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 754 Reviews for Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

By Yash P

Nov 29, 2020

Good course

By Mohamed H M

Aug 20, 2020

perfect

By Aniket K S

Jan 9, 2021

Easy

By kayvan K F

Aug 30, 2016

good

By Rendra P

Apr 2, 2016

good

By tauha i

Apr 30, 2020

.

By Kristine R

Sep 22, 2020

A very interesting and interactive course with helpful quizzes and questions throughout the modules. The two project assignments were really fun to try out, especially the game assignment. I do see the pratical benefits of students reviewing eachothers projects as this would be an impossible task for staff to undertake (lectures not given in real time, no funding for this, etc) but I have a gard time accepting that peers don’t give honest reviews and don’t take the time to double check your code or try out different results in your assignments. If the dishonest reviews are based on hasty half heartened tries or just due to a lack of understanding the English language and the instructions given, I don’t know, but it bothers me that other people’s lack of engagement is what determines your final grade. As for the programming language; Scratch is not something to rely on if you’re Interested in pursuing a career within programming.

By Rebecca T

Jan 24, 2021

I wanted to like this class, but it's hard to navigate through this course when the material is for an earlier version of scratch. Many of the functions are very different between the two versions. It's even more frustrating because you are expected to use the older version of scratch to complete homework assignments. The material needs to be updated to apply to the most easily available version of scratch that is currently out there.

By Masako S

Jan 5, 2021

The contents are interesting. However, the video needs lot more work. Codes are almost invisible. Explanations hard to follow. Because the study material were provided, I could see what is being taught. In my experience, the teacher speech that contains too many "we" in the speech is not that friendly for learning. The body language just invites negative feelings.

By David S

Sep 2, 2020

This course covered the basics of computer programming and software engineering. Though it use scratch desktop as it programming tool, knowledge from this course can be applied in any other programming language with regards to the approaches to designing a program.

By Brieuc A

Jun 21, 2019

Very clear, easy to understand, and taught with a lot of good humour. A warning, however: if you are serious about programming and want to learn a lot in a short time span, this course will be much too light and superficial for you.

By Sara R

Jul 17, 2020

This course was nice but too childish for my tastes, I could not focus during the lessons, although it is very simple and well-structured.

By Wendy E

Sep 14, 2015

Intresting sinds my volunteering job with Coderdojo Belgium and my teaching job in 8th grade. I only expected more excercices.

By Okoh O S

Apr 28, 2020

Good course. Recommended for those integrated in creating games and and other animations projects.

By Muhammad T S

Oct 3, 2016

This Course is very Good For Children.

By Michael D

Mar 20, 2017

Videos took to long. and uh fnck y=u

By Ashish K

Jul 2, 2020

i have complete my cource but there is no certification given to me

By April F

May 7, 2020

It goes really fast in the videos and it has been hard to keep up.

By Moriah H

Oct 14, 2020

didnt care for instructors

By Arpan s

May 7, 2020

Not good so difficult

By Dina A

Jul 2, 2020

to repetitive

By Syahrul N

Jun 28, 2020

ntg

By Jennifer k

Feb 22, 2021

info is out of date. course references an out of date scratch program. unwilling to upload practice videos from this site due to this fact and risk uploading unsecure info to my home pc.

By E. O

Sep 19, 2020

not interesting enough to continue putting time/effort into it