Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,818 ratings
363 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Self-Driving Cars, the first course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. This course will introduce you to the terminology, design considerations and safety assessment of self-driving cars. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand commonly used hardware used for self-driving cars - Identify the main components of the self-driving software stack - Program vehicle modelling and control - Analyze the safety frameworks and current industry practices for vehicle development For the final project in this course, you will develop control code to navigate a self-driving car around a racetrack in the CARLA simulation environment. You will construct longitudinal and lateral dynamic models for a vehicle and create controllers that regulate speed and path tracking performance using Python. You’ll test the limits of your control design and learn the challenges inherent in driving at the limit of vehicle performance. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws). You will also need certain hardware and software specifications in order to effectively run the CARLA simulator: Windows 7 64-bit (or later) or Ubuntu 16.04 (or later), Quad-core Intel or AMD processor (2.5 GHz or faster), NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher, 8 GB RAM, and OpenGL 3 or greater (for Linux computers)....

Top reviews

DP
Jul 27, 2020

This introduction course really helped me recalling all my basic learning. Really appreciate the Professor. It will definitely help me for enhancing my skills in the field of autonomous driving.

FM
Jun 27, 2020

This course is awesome ! This is one of the great courses for you who want to learn about self-driving cars for the first time. The assignments are challenging, especially the final project.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 359 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Driving Cars

By Mohamed I A

Jun 30, 2019

the course materials presented here is very organized and well developed, they prepare you well both theoretical and practical through out assignments . Ionly hope they focus on students help through out discussion board.

By Vaishnavi G

Jul 19, 2020

Interesting course. Its a good start for someone interested in and relatively new to self-driving vehicles. Towards the end, it focuses majorly on controllers - in the last few weeks and in the final assignment as well.

By Kale K A P

Aug 1, 2020

coursera is a great platform to lear things which are very helpful in our career . and this self driving cars facinates me how great work of math behing the working of level 5 anotomy vehicles

By Ahmed G Y

May 18, 2020

Such an amazing course to introduce a technological revolution that will be a breakthrough in our world! Of course, there is some challenge to finish the course and expect some difficulties.

By Guruprasad M H

Apr 9, 2019

The programming exercise needs a little more introductory . For someone new its very difficult to follow and adapt and meet the deadlines. This could potentially be demotivating

By Swapnil P K

Jun 25, 2020

This Course is very useful .The lectures are well paced and the hands on coding exercises spread throughout the course make sure that you imbibe what is taught in the lectures.

By Keshav K C c

Jul 28, 2020

The course content was really good and it helped me to dive into the world of self driving cars. Programming Assignments helped me implement what I learnt during the course

By Vikhyat k

Dec 29, 2019

Course was quite well structured but if Professor could include more live examples it would be quite helful for learning.Thanks again i learnt a lot from this course.

By Li Y

Jul 4, 2020

This course gives me a first impression of self-driving cars, e.g. texonomy, safety, control and so on. From those experiences, you take a huge step into this field.

By Gadiraju S V

Jun 27, 2020

At first it is difficult for me but just working on some formulas really helped me to concentrate.The Jupiter notebooks need to have some good guidelines.

By NISHANT R M

Sep 11, 2020

for completing this course you need great knowledge of c language otherwise you will not able to complete this assignment and this is great course

By Brilian P A

Jul 5, 2020

The instruction for programming assignments is not clear as the other course for instance deeplearning.ai course so it confused the learner

By KISHOR

Sep 23, 2020

This course provides awesome resources and learning possibilities to the corresponding field of study and overall this course is great.

By Ananda S B

Oct 11, 2020

A very comprehensive overview of the topic, with well explained theory and good exercises to make sure the overall progress.

By Jeev

Jun 15, 2020

This course was interesting. I got to learn new topics. I felt the coding part of this was challenging and was fun to do.

By Mohammed G M E

Jun 9, 2019

although assignments were very difficult , but the course is very intersting and is good start in this field

By Sumedh M U

Sep 21, 2020

This was the best course that i had done ever, it has helped me alot to know about the self - driving cars

By Vishnu A S

May 4, 2020

The course explains AV's very well from the beginning if you are a beginner and i loved the course

By Yilin G

Aug 26, 2019

Nice course to learn basics of self driving cars. The final course project is really interesting.

By Ahmed S S A

Aug 23, 2019

The final project was so difficult for me, I think more support and illustration are needed.

By Partho A

Aug 31, 2020

I want to unenroll. Please help me. The 3 dot option is showing only to rate the course.

By Hassan A

Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, just that the programming assignments are poorly designed and abrupt.

By Shubham S

Sep 1, 2019

The assignments could be more illustrative. The rest of the course is well designed.

By ADHISH V

Aug 4, 2020

Great content will try to do the rest of the courses also from this specialization

By Wentao T

May 14, 2020

some homework is too hard, and I think the professor should give more hints.