Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL) by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
4,010 ratings
886 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you'll walk through installation steps for installing a text editor, installing MAMP or XAMPP (or equivalent) and creating a MySql Database. You'll learn about single table queries and the basic syntax of the SQL language, as well as database design with multiple tables, foreign keys, and the JOIN operation. Lastly, you'll learn to model many-to-many relationships like those needed to represent users, roles, and courses....

Top reviews

NB
Apr 24, 2020

Great course. The amazing thing about the instructor is that you will find something new and exciting in every course and that's why I loved this course and the remaining courses offered by Dr. Chuck.

AM
Sep 21, 2020

Hello ! I am Physics major student in Myanmar.In my university there is no Programming course.I get this course during COVIDE-19 period and I get many knowledge about SQL Programming language.Thanks.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 886 Reviews for Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

By Ruhullah M

Jan 18, 2021

this was an excellent SQL starter course. course made me understand and execute SQL very efficiently and professionally. I hope I can find the right continuation course to expand on what I already learned from introductory course.

By Jeon H S

Oct 21, 2018

Very concise. The whole lecture takes no more than 3 hours, yet still it teaches you all the necessary basics to start with. Highly recommended to those who want quick introduction to SQL and basic relational database concepts.

By Heli B

Jul 9, 2020

If you do not have a computer science background, this will be a good start to get the basics of or to get familiar with SQL. This course does not go in-depth, but gets you ready for an intermediate to advanced course on SQL.

By Akhil M

May 9, 2020

Found the material good and engaging. Kudos to the instructor for teaching it in a fun manner. You can easily brush up all the SQL related stuff you have studied and learn new things as well. Take the course. You'll Have Fun!

By Arvind S

Nov 11, 2017

Very good course for someone wanting to understand web development and databases. Also, a good segway to someone who wants to start into product management. Also, the videos are very self-explanatory and easy to understand.

By Ahmed A

Jul 24, 2020

One of the Best, if not The BEST, SQL courses out there. No one is better than Dr. Charles to introduce you to an entirely new field to you and make you come out of the course with such trust in your new acquired skill.

By Lavon C

May 17, 2020

Great course! I really enjoyed the personal touches from Dr. Chuck. He truly made you feel like you were a part of the course in person. The course was easy to follow along and worth it for those trying to learn SQL.

By Brandon A

Aug 23, 2018

This is an excellent class for anyone wanting to learn SQL. I had a broken understanding but now made clear with this class. I would start with this one first and then do PHP course one and then course 3 and then 4.

By Thomas T

Apr 30, 2018

Awesome course for learning the basics of SQL and database management. Dr. Chuck was great and I would definitely recommend the course. I look forward to furthering my skills and taking more courses with Dr. Chuck

By Charissa E

Sep 26, 2019

This course is a fine introduction to MySQL. Professor Severance gives engaging and informative lectures. The teaching staff, specifically Stephen Catto, actively moderate and respond to the discussion boards.

By Waleed A

Sep 12, 2018

This is the most amazing course in SQL, i've dealt with SQL before and i enrolled in different courses about SQL, but none of those could describe and explain SQL like the instructor here, appreciate your work

By Vishnu K

Feb 8, 2021

Dr.Chuck is phenomenal. He explains all his topics in-depth, and I learned a new programming language in a week! One thing I would suggest is that he should give us those handouts that he uses in the lectures.

By Sofia M G L

Apr 1, 2019

I really found it very useful how the course explains good practices to build databases, since that is probably the most important part of the process. The explanations, like always, are very clear and useful.

By VANKADHARA N S K

Apr 26, 2020

it is a very good course for the beginners to understand how data is handled using sql, the course has a very good approach to reach the learners which is very useful in understanding the basics very clearly.

By Avinash R

Jun 20, 2020

I'm from India and I totally loved this course mainly because of the way the instructor has taught. Made every video very informative at the same time unboring :D thank you very much for the course. Cheers!

By Abhishek S

Jul 3, 2020

Doing an online course is already rigorous enough and sometimes it takes an exceptional tutor for these things. Not only studying but grabbing the fundamentals without much effort is how Dr. chuck teaches.

By Mohammed T M

Apr 27, 2020

The Instructor was an expert in SQL and the lectures were very engaging from the start to finish. The explanation was done really well for each every topic. Would love to take more courses from Dr.Chuck!

By Jesse I

Sep 16, 2018

The assignments in the class was pretty challenging at first to be honest but I was able to learn a lot and figure out how to do the homeworks through watching videos and by reading power point slides.

By Lucie J

Nov 9, 2017

Efficient and friendly way to learn basics of SQL. I appreciate that phpMyAdmin was introduced but the course can also be followed from the command line (or a combination of both, which is what I did).

By Sandesh S

May 3, 2020

This course is best if you are new to MySQL. Dr. Chuck explains everything about how managing databases started and how it has evolved time to time. He explains everything from basics.

By eswar a

Sep 19, 2018

CREATE TABLE Review (

rating INT ,

NAME VARCHAR(452) ,

INSERT INTO Review (NAME, RATING) VALUES ('GREAT PROFESSOR CHARLES SEVERANCE',5 );

) ENGINE = GOOD BYE CHARACTER SET = coursera

By Silalipi D

May 23, 2018

The course was very helpful to me in regard to designing structured databases. The concept was explained in a systematic manner and its use was demonstrated using simple examples.

By DIKSHA

Jul 25, 2020

Dr.Chuck is wonderful. He makes every topic so easy, understandable and interesting. I have become a huge fan of his work after going through his courses. Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck.

By Gerhard L

Jun 9, 2019

A great and simple introduction to relational databases. Dr Chuck is a great online tutor and it is a pity that more MOOCs don't have such engaging lecturers. Highly recommended!

By Muhammad A M

Jul 7, 2021

Awesome course for beginners who want to learn about SQL. The course becomes a bit challenging in the mid but it's great to push limits. Instructor made SQL easy to understand.