Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
2,579 ratings

About the Course

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top reviews

SE

Oct 6, 2022

This was an excellent course in the history of ancient Egypt. I have always been fascinated by their culture & this course taught me many things that i was not aware of. I really enjoyed this course.

JM

Oct 17, 2022

This course offers a comprehensive introduction to Ancient Egypt and its civilization. By taking this course, you gain a understanding of basic concepts of the Anicent Egyptian life and afterlife.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 782 Reviews for Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

By George P

May 6, 2020

Wondefrul course, the teacher is brilliant I love the teacher and his lessons. Mani thanks professor David P. Silverman

By Saffron U

Feb 9, 2019

Varied and detailed course covering most of the bases you could want from Ancient Egypt. Enjoyed this course very much!

By Jordan M

Jun 24, 2020

Very put together course. I would have enjoyed it to go a little more in detail, but for an introduction it was great.

By Deborah R

May 28, 2021

Buy Davids book, it is beautifully illustrated and very helpful during this course. An excellent, enjoyable course.

By Horacio A

Nov 11, 2020

Buenos días, me gusto el curso ya que da una mirada rápida a todo lo que significa el Egipto antiguo.

Muchas gracias.

By Dennis S

Oct 25, 2020

I like the course, informative and well done. I wish there was a way to submit questions other than the discussions.

By Megan J P

Jul 9, 2017

I feel that I have learned a lot from this course. I am a historian and plan on using this knowledge in the future.

By Robert L

Mar 5, 2017

It was very interesting and the Professor was very knowledgable. I enjoyed the course work and readings.

Thank you.

By Cyrus W P Y

Nov 19, 2016

This is an extremly intrested couse it talkes about pharohs, gods, and the best of all mumification and after life!

By Shriya M

May 18, 2019

Amazing course i learnt a lot about egyptian history. Dr Silverman lectures were very interesting and informative,

By raashid a a

Feb 27, 2019

I really liked this course and how it gave me a week by week teaching of ancient egypt. It was really interesting!

By סיון ג

Mar 8, 2023

I was very impressed by the extensive information about ancient Egypt. The course was interesting and informative

By Florencia E

Feb 2, 2023

A very interesting introductory course for those who know very little about ancient Egypt! very well explained!

By Devi D

Jun 11, 2020

Thank you so much for the wonderful lessons, sir.

Definitely a great course whoever craves to learn about Egypt

By Alice W

May 21, 2020

A brilliant, concise and fascinating mix of history, archeology and ideas beautifully presented by Dr Silverman

By Svetlana I

Apr 3, 2020

Great basic course for those who want a brief introduction to the world of Ancient Egypt. enjoyed it very much!

By Bruna F

May 28, 2020

It was really a fun and interesting time to participate in this course! Absolutely loved it! Thank you to all!

By Aiman N

Apr 10, 2020

It was a very well researched course. Excellent faculty and resources were used during the duration of course.

By Michelle B

Jun 4, 2020

I enjoyed the course. I think it was a really good introductory overviiew of this very dynamic civilization.

By Camilo J H

Feb 1, 2017

Great course, the material was very good. I didn't get a chance to check the book recommended for the course.

By GERALD J K

Oct 20, 2022

Interesting. Slides were useful. Textbook was very well done & i will appreciate having it in my libray.

By Louisa H

Apr 14, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, there was a variety of topics covered and viewpoints on those different topics.

By smisha

May 21, 2020

Dr Silverman rekindled my love for egyptology. The visual demonstrations and the lectures were captivating.

By Ana P C R

May 31, 2019

Un curso fascinante,interesante y muy bien presentado para todos los amantes del Antiguo Egipto.Me encantó