Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
2,578 ratings

About the Course

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top reviews

SE

Oct 6, 2022

This was an excellent course in the history of ancient Egypt. I have always been fascinated by their culture & this course taught me many things that i was not aware of. I really enjoyed this course.

JM

Oct 17, 2022

This course offers a comprehensive introduction to Ancient Egypt and its civilization. By taking this course, you gain a understanding of basic concepts of the Anicent Egyptian life and afterlife.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 782 Reviews for Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

By Julia C

Jun 14, 2017

I loved this course. It was taught with enthusiasm and there were lots of illustrative examples of objects

By Tiara R

Aug 4, 2020

Excellent course. The course textbook is referred to as a reference for several egyptology publications.

By Lillianne d H G

Apr 25, 2019

An interesting course very well organised and led by professor David P. Silverman. I highly recommend it.

By Elizabeth C

Sep 27, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this excellent course. I am now very keen to continue learning about Ancient Egypt.

By Martha s

Apr 20, 2020

Me pareció sumamente interesante el curso, es increíble toda la cultura que tenían en el Egipto Antiguo!

By Wallyn D d J S

Mar 22, 2020

Muito completo, dá uma boa noção sobre diversos aspectos do Antigo Egito. Agradeço por todo o conteúdo.

By Abigail C

Sep 27, 2020

Fantastic course, I learned a lot and am very grateful to be able to expand my knowledge in this area.

By Rodolfo A

Aug 18, 2020

Excelente curso online, da una muy buena base para seguir aprendiendo mas sobre esta gran civilización

By Rummenigge S d N

Dec 11, 2016

Dr. David Silverman is just great. I learned much about Ancient Egypt, even in an introductory course.

By Deleted A

Jan 28, 2018

COURS INTERRESSANT , CONSTRUCTIF, AGREABLE A SUIVRE .

MERCI A MONSIEUR LE PROFESSEUR david SILVERMAN

By Francis C

Jul 21, 2017

Very lively and documented course.

English slow enough for good understanding by foreigners.

Enjoyable.

By İrem Y

Jul 20, 2017

ı really like the course and the professor Silverman. ı learnt a lot from him. thanks for everything.

By Justine B

Feb 14, 2021

An absolutely fascinating exploration into numerous aspects that made up the ancient world of Egypt!

By Jen A

Aug 21, 2020

Great intro - was able to complete quickly due to easily accessible and interesting subject matter!

By Malaika J

Nov 3, 2022

Lots of interesting knowledge about one of the greatest civilizations of humankind in this course

By Candela M K

Apr 29, 2022

Súper interesante, abarca múltiples aspectos de la cultura e historia de Egipto. Muy recomendable!

By Mary R

Aug 14, 2017

Very informative and interesting! I would love more courses on Ancient Egypt from this University

By zcecily

Dec 6, 2016

very intesting. what i like most is the collateral readings, very helpful for ancient egypt fans.

By D E

Nov 13, 2017

This was very interesting and informative course on Egyptian mystery and purpose of their faith.

By Emma I P

May 20, 2019

Mr. Silverman is such a good teacher and charismatic! Also bought his book, i highly recommend!

By Nicola R

Feb 18, 2018

Good course - interesting information giving a broad background of key topics in Ancient Egypt.

By Kurt A

Jan 12, 2021

Excellent and had more depth than I expected for the timeframe. Would wholeheartedly recommend

By Caroline W

May 5, 2020

Fantastic and interesting course! Really enjoyed the interaction with the Penn Museum displays

By Mary J B

Jun 30, 2019

This course is Informative, fascinating and interesting. I enjoyed it and plan to take another

By Luis L

Nov 26, 2018

Excellent teacher and to be able to see important pieces in the Penn Museum was a plus. Thanks