Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Classical Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Classical Music by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,903 ratings

About the Course

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Top reviews

JL

Invalid date

A very fun and engaging course. This course has helped me gain insight into the world of classical music more deeply. Would recommend for anyone who seeks to learn more into the art of sound.

RR

Invalid date

A truly wonderful introduction to Classical music. Great course content but perhaps most importantly, Professor Wright is perhaps one of the best teachers I've ever had the pleasure of learning from.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,189 Reviews for Introduction to Classical Music

By salvatore s

Nov 26, 2016

A wonderful tour through music, a must for both those comfortable and those less comfortable with classical masterpieces. Very engaging, wonderful way of teaching things.

By Arturo T P

Sep 1, 2020

Muy buen curso, provee los fundamentos de la música clásica de una manera comprensible y entretenida, incluso para las personas que no tengan instrucción musical previa.

By everett p

Apr 6, 2022

I did not have a music course at Yale. I was an engineer. Although I have enjoyed classical music for decades, this course helps me understand it.

Everett Pyatt. 61E

By Vanessa R G T

Oct 16, 2020

Excelente curso. Traz uma panorama geral da música clássica que é ótimo para quem estuda música (ou não) e gostaria de ter um conhecimento básico da história da música.

By Jan S

Mar 31, 2020

It's a "tasting menu" of classical music - a little bit of everything. A big thank you to the creators (and prof. Wright) for taking us into this fascinating journey! ✨

By ZhuYi W

May 24, 2019

It's wonderful. It improved by understading and asthetic a lot. The choices from each musical era is very representative, and I get the flow and development of music.

By Rita K

Oct 30, 2022

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. The professor's lectures and examples were excellent. The content went far beyond what i imagined when I signed up for the course.

By Angela M P A

Jun 19, 2020

Mil Gracias, por los temas expuestos en el curso de introducción a la música, fueron muy valiosos para mi.

Es muy triste que termine pero fue maravilloso.

Mil gracias!

By Jesus I

Apr 29, 2020

Excellent primer on classical music; no music theory needed but some concepts provided throughout.

Took the class during the COVID-19 pandemic; very nice distraction.

By Teh S W

Sep 21, 2021

I've thoroughly enjoyed the professor's lectures and learned quite a lot in this course. My growing interest for classical music is indeed deeper after this course.

By John M H

Oct 28, 2020

I felt like i travelled through time, through all the eras, the great art, great composers and the timeless music . Would recommend it to any musician or music fan.

By Geraldene F

Jul 20, 2020

Wonderfully interesting course, given by an amazingly profoundly learned professor that has enriched my life. i'm very grateful to have been exposed to this course.

By Giuseppe P

Jun 4, 2020

Fantastic introduction to Classical Music, with a great professor and a good mix of theory and examples to keep me interested and committed for 9 weeks. A real gem!

By Carlos T

Aug 18, 2018

Excelente curso. Muy completo. Craig Wright es un extraordinario pedagogo. Transmite los contenidos de un modo claro, atractivo y con la profundidad digna de Yale.

By Maxilia Q

Feb 3, 2023

Es un curso genial donde aprendes no sólo de música clásica sino también de arte en general y muchos datos importantes sobre música que resultan muy interesantes.

By Esmeralda A Q

Oct 14, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it was the most interesting experience during my quarantine; the classes were easy to understand even for a naive in Classical Music.

By Krista W

Sep 6, 2020

Loved this course learned so much that I have enrolled in the 2 courses that were recommended- Music as Biology and Fundamentals of Music Theory - Thank you!!!!!

By Joyce S

May 10, 2016

I love the lectures, I do not play a musical instrument, but majored in history and you include a lot of that during the course.. I wish there were less tests.

By Reina S

Jan 20, 2024

I promised myself that when I retired I would learn about Classical music. Thank you, Professor for helping me keep my promise to myself. I loved this course!

By Stephen D

Jan 19, 2024

Very enriching course and it makes me thirst for knowledge and appreciation of the music. The lecturer is excellent, very professional and an wonderful teacher.

By OZLEM A

Apr 17, 2020

The best thing that I've done during these covid-19 days, is taking this course. With Professor Wright, it becomes a great experience and an amazing journey ...

By Mercedes G

Dec 28, 2020

Gracias, ha sido un gran aprendizaje, me encanta la música y como músico estaba muy muy interesada en saber más de la música clásica, el profesor es el mejor!.

By GOPIKA S

May 18, 2020

Best one.i really liked it. First of all it is my favourite stream to study. And second I got a opportunity to study this course for free.thanks to Coursera ❤️

By Angel F

Apr 28, 2020

The material, explanation, music and video are all excellent. This is the most wonderful course I have taken in my life. I learned a lot. Thank you very much !

By Raquel G

Apr 8, 2024

EXCELLENT!!!

Mr. Wright is the best, congratulations to the team, THANK YOU!

It was wonderful to take this course during the pandemic

Greetings from Mexico City