Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Classical Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Classical Music by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,726 ratings

About the Course

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Top reviews

SL

Mar 6, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

EV

Oct 15, 2020

Wonderful course where Craig Wright delves into all eras of classical music and takes you along for the wonderful ride! Craig Wright is one of the best instructors I have come across! Enjoy the ride!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,124 Reviews for Introduction to Classical Music

By ChangYun L

Nov 5, 2022

This course/journey is really great especially with a master who is so nice, gentle and knowledgeable guiding you through all of these. I really appreciate a lot because this course could be so hard if you need to go through by yourself. With his help, everything seems a bit easier and joyful, still there are some difficult parts about music theory. Really thanks to him~ Now I can start to enjoy classical music more than before.

By Jana H

Sep 9, 2020

My father had a Master's degree in music, and taught music for 30 years. I myself worked for a major symphony orchestra (not as a musician). And yet, I still learned so much from Craig Wright and this course! He explains so many aspects of music clearly and in a memorable way, that even if you think you know a lot, you will learn something. This class is definitely worth your time if you are at all interested in classical music!

By Stephanie S

Jun 13, 2020

I came with relatively much previous knowledge about the content of the first third of the course and very little previous knowledge about the content of the last two thirds of the course. Yet all parts of the course were equally instructive, fun to watch, neither boring nor overdemanding. I can't imagine how that is done, especially in a MOOC where you can know nothing about the people who will watch it. The result is amazing.

By Don M

Jul 24, 2020

Excellent introduction to and review of classical music. I have been listening to music, especially that usually designated as "classical", for many years, and have learned a great deal more than I thought I knew, from taking this course. The instruction and the quality of the sessions from a production point of view were first-rate. I highly recommend this course to anyone with an interest in music -- regardless of era.

By Stephanie J

May 28, 2020

My mother and I decided to take this course during lock down and a perfect excuse to connect with each other every day as we completed the 9 week course. Craig has been an amazing professor, we enjoyed every minute of it and are looking forward to seeing each other again hopefully at a concert hall listening to Vivaldi! Many thanks to Yale for making this course available online - very well put together. We are grateful.

By Alexis C C

Mar 25, 2021

Excelent teacher, very creative to show contents. Maybe the only complain that i have it's that you guys didn't give some spanish subtitle to your lessons, wich is something sad if you think on the excelence of your videos.

Maybe the only other thing to improve its the final video that you show, because sometimes its seems to be done very quickly at expense on the scene cut.

However, greetings from Santiago of Chile.

By CD

Jun 8, 2019

Prof Wright is amazing in terms of his knowledge of the subject, ability to teach and keep his student interested. For someone like me who had no prior exposure to music theory, the course became increasingly harder and I had to take some of the lectures twice. I'll take this course again in the future as I will forget some of the things :-)

I wish Prof. Wright has more online classes. Thank you for an amazing class!

By Ligeng Y

Jan 14, 2022

Friendly to beginners and does not require almost any music knowledge. Prof Wright explains the basic concepts in a very clear and concise manner. Went through the evolvement since medieval, and a very good survey of the history. Also went in depth on selected giants like Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Wagner, and Debussy. Highly recommended to anybody who is not majored in music and want to take a first course on music.

By David N

Oct 31, 2019

Allocate plenty of time for this course, but your diligence will be rewarded with a rich overview of a beautiful subject. Professor has an interesting style which might take some getting used to, but worth the effort. This course really grew on me as it went on and has left me with many fond memories and increased my love of music!

Brilliant use of everything from rock song to religious chants to illustrate points.

By Peter S

Mar 23, 2017

I've been a musician since I was ten, but never learned music history before the Beatles. This course opened my eyes to vast stores of music and musicians I knew little about, but now appreciate in a whole new light. I also understand a lot more music theory after taking "Introduction to Classical Music"!

Thank you, Craig, for so generously sharing your knowledge and your passion for the subject. Highly recommended.

By MRMC

Feb 13, 2016

Very comprehensive materials compared to similar course which I took also on line from my school that I had to pay. I don't wish to diminish the training and education of my teacher on line because she was a very well equipped professor of classical music too that I really learned a lot from her. This time, it's almost like a continuing education for me. Thanks to the very well versed professor of his subject.

By Sandra V

Jun 7, 2020

I'm really happy of what I've learnt. I've always liked classical music, but now I have more reasons to like it even more and to challenge myself in recognising all what I have learnt and see how I've grown in music.

I also feel sad to have finished this course, as a really got used to get ready for my lessons and enjoyed the videos, Tests and all the knowledge from the team. It was a really worthy experience!

By marcos v g

Apr 26, 2020

It was by far the best coursera course I have made and I have taking courses for more than 10 years, it was a fantastic journey through classical music and for that I thank you deeply Mr Craig Wright. I am somehow a bid sad that this course finished after 4 months. I thank you deeply for the course. You are an unvaluable and fantastic teacher with fun and remarkable knowledge of classical music and beyond!

By Isabel F

Jun 17, 2018

This MOOC was super nice to do. I wanted to get a bit of theoretical background and ways to describe what I hear. Before, I did not really have the right words to talk about classical music listening experiences. It was great to see the love of music conveyed by the professor. I particularly enjoyed how the connection to art of the respective period was made. That helped me a lot. Highly recommended course.

By Irene H

Jul 27, 2020

Many thanks for a wonderful introduction to classical music. Prof. Wright is a very skillful instructor who used various ways to make the course interesting and comprehensible even for those with little formal training in music. I learned so much from him, the guests, and the TA. I will remember these lessons whenever I go to the symphony or listen at home and have occasions to discuss music with friends.

By Indraswari K

Mar 16, 2022

I really enjoyed this course and learned a great deal from it. It opened my eyes that music and other forms of art, in particular visual art, go hand-in-hand in their development of styles. I greatly appreciate the enthusiasm of Prof. Wright and the TA in guiding me through the course. The way they interacted with us made me feel as if I was following the course directly, not through an online platform.

By SUMITA S

Dec 22, 2019

Absolutely fascinating. Very comprehensive and excellent presentation. I loved the comparisons with visual arts. Professor Wright was amazing. I look forward to more courses on music by him. I took exactly a year to complete the course because of my busy schedule and I am so happy I could reset my deadlines along the way. Thank you very much Professor Wright and Yale University, and of course, Coursera.

By Oberon D

Jun 4, 2017

Having never really taken much interest in classical music I found the initial introduction and teacher captivating. It has now given me a huge love for the style and history in general of music be it classical or not. I would definitely recommend to anyone interested in music and of any level of understanding of music, beginner or expert - you will benefit from this delightful series of lectures.

By Julie D

Apr 20, 2020

A brilliant course with a wonderful lecturer. I now have a far better and broader understanding of music in general, and how classical music was composed in particular. As for Bach, Mozart, Beethoven and Wagner...a genius is a genius, and you don't need to have any understanding of music to grasp their greatness but this course helped me see what they were doing to create such musical splendor.

By Hercules C

Feb 8, 2021

Fantastic course, beyond my expectations. Very well organized with a very nice and competent professor who can intelligently teach complicated concepts in a brilliant and easy way. In addition to learn how to listen to classic music, the course stimulated me to further study music. Congratulations, Professor Craig! Finally, but not least, congratulation Yale for the best courses in Coursera!

By Tom D

Feb 21, 2017

A very well structured, balanced and presented course. Mr Wright's presentation is light and humorous without compromising the academic content of the subject matter. He manages to convey his own long standing enthusiasm and passion for music while, at the same time, presenting the supporting facts and historical context in in a very efficient and effective manner. First class throughout.

By Linda L

Jul 31, 2021

This is an excellent course. The visuals and audio material were wonderfully selected and produced an all-round picture of classical music for beginners. Two things disturbed me: the. instructor. always. spoke. in. such. a. choppy. manner. (quite disturbing) and his not so excellent playing on a digital (!) piano didn't make listening enjoyable. You'd think Yale could afford a grand...

By Shannon S

Dec 28, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Some reviews say it would be easier to take this course if you know how to read music, but I respectfully disagree. I do not have a music background and I found this course easy enough to follow but still challenged me enough to make it interesting. I am happy to say that I will now go on to listen to and enjoy classical music through a whole new lens!

By Mercedes E

May 4, 2020

Loved it, Professor. Thanks so much for sharing your passion for music. Took me back to that beautiful magic work of classical music.

Id love to know the name of the piece used on the very last quiz, where we had to identify to which period each piece belongs...Id need the name of the first sample. Female voices singing, modern music. It was kind of Glass stuff, but not sure.

Thanks!!!

By Scott R

Mar 4, 2018

Really enjoyed this introduction to classical music! Professor Wright was a very engaging and entertaining teacher. Particularly enjoyed how the lives and works of the different featured composers were explained in context of their influences, the art movement of their time and where in the world they were composing. Feel very inspired and would like to try to compose music myself.