Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to CSS3

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to CSS3 by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
8,654 ratings
1,774 reviews

About the Course

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

Top reviews

MK
Sep 25, 2020

This course is a recommendable for all beginners who are interested in designing and styling their web pages. The whole course is interesting and challenging at the end of the course and I enjoyed it.

GC
Dec 19, 2020

This course helped me hone my CSS skills. Even though I had some knowledge on the subject, I understood and practiced many things that I had difficulty understanding before. Thanks, Professor Colleen.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,750 Reviews for Introduction to CSS3

By Anne T G

Feb 25, 2016

This was challenging, but interesting, engaging, and I learned a lot about the different ways to style elements on a page. I feel pretty confident in making my own web page after this course.

By AFIFAH K

Aug 13, 2020

This course is really great because their module/curriculum is easy to follow even for absolute beginners. Besides, the good spirit of the teachers/professors spread to its online students :)

By moussa a m

May 3, 2020

the instructor was really awesome , the content was so helpful and enjoyable ... my English is not good enough to say what i feel now .. i wish Allah bless you all and slam ......../Egypt

By Deleted A

Nov 1, 2015

I can't believe I learnt that much!! Thank very much for offering so much quality in your courses and let everyone to be part of it, even if someone can't afford the certificate. Thank you!

By Wilfredo E S S

Dec 30, 2019

I recomend the course it gives you the basic knowledge of ccs3, the teacher and the materials, as well as the asignments are great and very fun to do.

Thanks Coursera for the economic help.

By Brandon K

May 1, 2019

This course won't make you a Designer, but it will give you a solid understanding of CSS. Comparing this course to other resources, it's one of the better ones I've found. Worth the $50.

By Leah D

Sep 7, 2016

This was a great intro to CSS for a non-programmer. I felt like I could make so many changes to a site after this course that now I want to know how I can do more! On to the next course!

By Aisha S

Jul 5, 2020

Great to learn the basic concept of CSS which make me understand how the stylesheet work and how to find out our materials and resources to strength our web design skills. Thanks a lot!

By Viale V

Dec 9, 2017

Great chance to learn by doing.

Colleen van Lent is very understandable and motivating. The final page looks good and I feel I can retain a high percentage of what we saw in the course.

By Erica W

Mar 16, 2021

This is the second course I've taken from this professor, and they are always clear, concise, and easy to follow. Great for beginners and people who need to refresh their skills alike!

By Dana M

Mar 10, 2016

I loved this class. Colleen did a great job in explaining, teasing, and enticing us to learn more about CSS3. I had no idea that all this power was available to me. Thanks, Colleen!

By DEVRAJ S

May 1, 2021

Colleen ma'am is an amazing teacher. It's been a pleasure to learn from her and i hope to keep learning looking forward to next course .She explains concepts really well and thank you

By Amaad S

Dec 6, 2020

very good informative course , very intellectual and very good course. Proud to be a part of Michigan online and looking forward to keep taking courses from Michigan University. Allez

By Dushyant M

Aug 10, 2016

Very helpful introductory course to get one started to make beautiful-looking web pages. The instructor is friendly and paces each lesson perfectly. All in all a very good experience.

By Bhavesh

May 25, 2020

I am pursuing BTech form CENTRAL UNIVERSITY OF HARYANA and joining this course firm not only to gain knowledge but also to get some real-life experiences for my bright future ahead.

By Vishal W

Dec 24, 2020

Best course for beginner to start CSS. I recommend you to 1st start with HTML, then this course. Reading a book/e-book while completing course will help you. course is very great.

By Anisha D

Sep 17, 2020

Absolutely loved the course! It was interactive and was taught with utmost patience. Thank You for this wonderful introduction into the world of CSS, and in fact, webdev as whole!

By Jacob B

Jan 6, 2016

As a beginner, this is a must take course! Dr. Colleen van Lent is excellent at hitting the right points, delivering the right content at the right time. Easy for anyone to learn.

By Anjima R

Aug 15, 2020

As this was a completely new thing for me I was doubtful about how well this course will turn out to be. Indeed this learning process was excellent. Loved the explanations given.

By mcvean s

Jul 31, 2020

An amazing course to get started with styling your web page! Combine this with an amazing instructor and it is a course that is highly recommended for beginners and others alike!

By Ryan F

Nov 2, 2018

This course, and entire specialization so far, has been fantastic! Teaches you the basics of CSS3 along with continuing on the foundations of HTML5. Fun to put it all together!

By Jui S

Jul 8, 2018

The course builds on the previous HTML5 course. It helps to understand and learn basic and fundamental concepts of CSS3. The projects help to put learnt skills to practical test.

By Matthew A

Nov 14, 2016

Excellent course! I find myself going back over my notes, over and over. There was so much included in this course, it's hard to remember it all. But it's definitely worth it!

By Edilbrando R D W

Aug 8, 2020

Muy bueno el curso, facil y intuitivo gracias al profesor que facilita las herramientas de aprendizaje. Es mejor que la universidad donde estudio. Aprendes mucho en poco tiempo.

By P R A

Jun 27, 2020

Great course recommend to everyone who wants to learn css especially the peer graded assignments are the best thing in the whole course(only after video lectures) and readings.