Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to CSS3

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to CSS3 by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
8,919 ratings
1,829 reviews

About the Course

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

Top reviews

MK

Sep 25, 2020

This course is a recommendable for all beginners who are interested in designing and styling their web pages. The whole course is interesting and challenging at the end of the course and I enjoyed it.

GC

Dec 19, 2020

This course helped me hone my CSS skills. Even though I had some knowledge on the subject, I understood and practiced many things that I had difficulty understanding before. Thanks, Professor Colleen.

Filter by:

1776 - 1800 of 1,813 Reviews for Introduction to CSS3

By ABEL D P

Jul 12, 2020

Need to be made more specific and in depth so that it can enhance the knowledge of the learners.

By Tanya R

Oct 14, 2021

The HTML5 course through this instructor was good but she lost me after the 6th video on CSS.

By Pranjal G

Apr 8, 2020

I think the content can be more informative with more coding example .

By Lokesh N

Feb 23, 2020

can include more videos on styling and more tags on html like forms

By MD A H

Jan 8, 2021

Good course. It's like academic course. Good for beginners.

By Deleted A

Nov 4, 2017

continue aneducation through coursera is very good

By Shantanu S

Jul 8, 2020

IT IS GOOD FOR BEGINNNERS AND HAVE A GREAT COURSE

By hari h n

Jun 17, 2020

It's good if she explained every code clearly.

By Girish D K

Aug 4, 2020

Need to explain in more detail in videos.

By Mayank S T

Jun 2, 2020

the explanation of everything is not good

By Osaid F

Aug 19, 2021

much better if its completely practical

By Axel R

Mar 31, 2019

It took far too long to get Peer-graded

By Rahul G

Aug 12, 2016

Its a good course but I expect more..

By Khaled A A

Nov 26, 2016

Contain could been more in depth.

By Md A Z

Jul 3, 2020

There were no flexbox or grid

By Deleted A

Sep 2, 2016

This is a very helpful course

By Martin K

Aug 11, 2016

Too vague on topics

By Hamza B K

Feb 18, 2020

need many update..

By Saketh M

Sep 11, 2020

nice course

By Amit K K

Jan 11, 2016

good basics

By ABHISHEK S

May 19, 2020

outdated

By THIPPAVARAM A

Jul 31, 2020

GOOD

By K M M H R

Jul 30, 2020

Good

By KRAKOU D G S

May 19, 2020

good

By Charles L M

Nov 12, 2015

While I love Dr. van Lent's teaching style, I was somewhat disappointed in the course as a whole. After about the first week the instructor was not heard from again on the forums. It wasn't until about the last week that some official teaching staff started to make an appearance.

This was an issue as, especially in the first week, as there was a good deal of discrepancy between what was on the grading rubric, what was provided in description for the homework, and what was in an optional video that described the homework. All with no official direction as to what was correct, or how things should be properly graded. The students were just left to themselves to try and interpret what the instructor meant, and what was the proper thing to do in regards to the peer grading. This continued, albeit to a far lesser extent, through the remainder of the course.

While I don't expect instructors to be in the forums all that often, I do expect them to clear up obvious issues, and to make some type of official statement as to how students should proceed. I believe this was the first offering of this course, and I hope as it offered again those discrepancies are fixed, and perhaps more official teaching staff are able to monitor the forums.

As far as the material itself, it is pretty good, and covers most of the basics well. As I said at the start, I really love Dr. van Lent's teaching style. She is very encouraging, and easy to understand. She is also very human, making mistakes as she goes along, and correcting them. I feel this gives the student a good experience of the real world iterative process that coding is, that even with experience mistakes are still made, and to be expected, and how to go about doing some debugging to correct those mistakes.