Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to CSS3

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to CSS3 by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
7,403 ratings
1,506 reviews

About the Course

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

Top reviews

AF

Dec 26, 2015

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

NP

May 19, 2020

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,483 Reviews for Introduction to CSS3

By ANKIT S

Sep 03, 2019

I will rate this course as outstanding because I learnt a lot in this course because of the great teaching methods. I have learnt that how can I make my website beautiful by applying CSS to it.

By Claudia B

Jan 12, 2017

I liked the course very much, the teacher is very dedicated, step by step, she encourages us to experiment and try new things, and she gives us very useful advices and tips. Thank you so much!

By Anne T G

Feb 25, 2016

This was challenging, but interesting, engaging, and I learned a lot about the different ways to style elements on a page. I feel pretty confident in making my own web page after this course.

By AFIFAH K

Aug 13, 2020

This course is really great because their module/curriculum is easy to follow even for absolute beginners. Besides, the good spirit of the teachers/professors spread to its online students :)

By moussa a m

May 03, 2020

the instructor was really awesome , the content was so helpful and enjoyable ... my English is not good enough to say what i feel now .. i wish Allah bless you all and slam ......../Egypt

By Deleted A

Nov 01, 2015

I can't believe I learnt that much!! Thank very much for offering so much quality in your courses and let everyone to be part of it, even if someone can't afford the certificate. Thank you!

By Wilfredo E S S

Dec 30, 2019

I recomend the course it gives you the basic knowledge of ccs3, the teacher and the materials, as well as the asignments are great and very fun to do.

Thanks Coursera for the economic help.

By Brandon K

May 02, 2019

This course won't make you a Designer, but it will give you a solid understanding of CSS. Comparing this course to other resources, it's one of the better ones I've found. Worth the $50.

By Leah D

Sep 08, 2016

This was a great intro to CSS for a non-programmer. I felt like I could make so many changes to a site after this course that now I want to know how I can do more! On to the next course!

By Aisha E S

Jul 05, 2020

Great to learn the basic concept of CSS which make me understand how the stylesheet work and how to find out our materials and resources to strength our web design skills. Thanks a lot!

By Viale V

Dec 09, 2017

Great chance to learn by doing.

Colleen van Lent is very understandable and motivating. The final page looks good and I feel I can retain a high percentage of what we saw in the course.

By Dana M

Mar 10, 2016

I loved this class. Colleen did a great job in explaining, teasing, and enticing us to learn more about CSS3. I had no idea that all this power was available to me. Thanks, Colleen!

By Dushyant M

Aug 10, 2016

Very helpful introductory course to get one started to make beautiful-looking web pages. The instructor is friendly and paces each lesson perfectly. All in all a very good experience.

By Bhavesh

May 25, 2020

I am pursuing BTech form CENTRAL UNIVERSITY OF HARYANA and joining this course firm not only to gain knowledge but also to get some real-life experiences for my bright future ahead.

By Anisha D

Sep 17, 2020

Absolutely loved the course! It was interactive and was taught with utmost patience. Thank You for this wonderful introduction into the world of CSS, and in fact, webdev as whole!

By Jacob B

Jan 06, 2016

As a beginner, this is a must take course! Dr. Colleen van Lent is excellent at hitting the right points, delivering the right content at the right time. Easy for anyone to learn.

By Anjima R

Aug 15, 2020

As this was a completely new thing for me I was doubtful about how well this course will turn out to be. Indeed this learning process was excellent. Loved the explanations given.

By Mcvean S

Jul 31, 2020

An amazing course to get started with styling your web page! Combine this with an amazing instructor and it is a course that is highly recommended for beginners and others alike!

By Ryan F

Nov 02, 2018

This course, and entire specialization so far, has been fantastic! Teaches you the basics of CSS3 along with continuing on the foundations of HTML5. Fun to put it all together!

By jui s

Jul 09, 2018

The course builds on the previous HTML5 course. It helps to understand and learn basic and fundamental concepts of CSS3. The projects help to put learnt skills to practical test.

By Matthew A

Nov 15, 2016

Excellent course! I find myself going back over my notes, over and over. There was so much included in this course, it's hard to remember it all. But it's definitely worth it!

By Edilbrando R D W

Aug 08, 2020

Muy bueno el curso, facil y intuitivo gracias al profesor que facilita las herramientas de aprendizaje. Es mejor que la universidad donde estudio. Aprendes mucho en poco tiempo.

By P R A

Jun 27, 2020

Great course recommend to everyone who wants to learn css especially the peer graded assignments are the best thing in the whole course(only after video lectures) and readings.

By Vivek C

Apr 22, 2020

Best Explanation I've Ever got (Collen Van Lent) Awesome Professor She Explain Things Very Nicely!!! and Clearly!!!. Cant't Wait to learn More from her. Cheers!! Peace :-) .

By Muhammad W U R

Nov 22, 2019

Colleen van Lent has done a brilliant job with this course yet again. The videos are beautifully put together and the content is fairly easy to digest. Definitely recommended!