Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to CSS3

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to CSS3 by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
7,868 ratings
1,603 reviews

About the Course

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

Top reviews

MK
Sep 25, 2020

This course is a recommendable for all beginners who are interested in designing and styling their web pages. The whole course is interesting and challenging at the end of the course and I enjoyed it.

NP
May 18, 2020

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,574 Reviews for Introduction to CSS3

By Nicole V A

Aug 16, 2016

Colleen is a top notch instructor. This course not only made CSS3 fun, but accessible and easy to understand. Do not miss this!

By Michael P D

Jul 5, 2020

Great pacing on introduction of material. The supporting code was very helpful and I like the emphasis on learning via doing.

By Hasan I

Aug 30, 2018

Colleen van Lent is a wonderful lecturer. Concepts are clearly explained and her encouragements are helpful indeed. Very good.

By Sriram S

Apr 16, 2018

Wonderful lecturer, great course materials.. Have feel proud to complete this awesome course online. Thanks to Collen:-):-):-)

By Holly D

Nov 8, 2020

I feel that this class gave me a good introduction to CSS. The material was broken down in a way that was easy to understand.

By Pradhuman S

Apr 11, 2020

Excellent course helped me revise my concepts and also helped me to learns new things about pseudo classes and accessibility.

By Marcelo J R

Jun 30, 2017

Great course! The professor is amazing! I love it and strongly recommend it to all that want to go further on WebPage design.

By Shantanu

Nov 1, 2016

I learnt many new things about CSS. This course is very optimised, with proper and necessary material. And great assignments.

By Heather G

Mar 3, 2016

Excellent intro to CSS. Colleen van Lent is awesome. I really enjoy her teaching style. The content is clear and interesting.

By Omnia M S

Jan 6, 2016

It's amazing what u can learn in a month ! , thanx for such a great course , thanx for proff, Collen ! and Iam really happy .

By Nirali S

May 23, 2020

It was a great experience throughout the course and I love they covered the main parts of CSS in a beginner friendly manner.

By Melvin B

Oct 25, 2017

Great course o CSS! Thank you very much Dr. Colleen van Lent. Looking forward to the next course on Javascript. God bless...

By Adam S

Nov 7, 2016

This is an excellent course for giving beginner's a feel for how CSS works. The projects are pretty interesting and fun too.

By Leire R S P

Apr 18, 2016

I loved this course, I think that it gives you the basic tools that allows you to make experiments and a lot of crazy things

By Janvi S S

Jul 8, 2020

It was a really nice course. The way our instructor explains us the concept is awesome. Thank you for such a great course.

By Kateryna P

Nov 3, 2016

Informative and easy to understand course. Allows to acquire the basics of CSS3 while helps building on. Highly recommend.

By Nabarun N

Nov 8, 2015

Excellent designing of the course. Though sitting at home and performing tasks but feels like a real lecture and classroom

By Diego L

Mar 20, 2016

Great course to learn CSS3 from scratch. The instructor is very eloquent and teaches in a simple way. Highly recommended!

By Douglas Y

Jun 18, 2016

Like the HTML5, even beginners are well informed in this course and activities are very much hands-on. thanks to Dr. Van

By Luis L

Apr 13, 2016

A very friendly way to jumpstart your CSS knowledge with lengthy explanations that are easy to understand for beginners.

By Matías S M

Apr 10, 2016

Colleen is an amazing instructor. Her unique and modest teaching approach helped me stay on track and finish the course.

By Jason M

Jan 13, 2016

Amazing! Great Work, love the way she explains things ...I think I'm in love.

Awesome course for anyone trying to learn!

By Sanskar s

May 26, 2020

It's an amazing course all thanks to collen mam she taught really well...ty for such amazing lectures and assignments..

By Гуров А С

Dec 20, 2019

Thanks for this course! I understood everything, doing practical exercises I gained confidence and a desire to develop.

By Adrian L

Aug 16, 2018

Excellent course about CSS3. It's very well explained by Colleen van Len. And has a lot of resources to practice with.