Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to CSS3

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to CSS3 by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
7,847 ratings
1,599 reviews

About the Course

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

Top reviews

MK
Sep 25, 2020

This course is a recommendable for all beginners who are interested in designing and styling their web pages. The whole course is interesting and challenging at the end of the course and I enjoyed it.

NP
May 18, 2020

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,574 Reviews for Introduction to CSS3

By Ezekiel E

Dec 2, 2019

Nice Work Colleen van Lent Ph.D. thanks I like the pace really nice but if the discussion could involve some real-time admins its would be better all the same nice 👍.

By Arturo C V

Sep 3, 2020

It is a very good course for someone who knows little about HTML but wants to dare to design web pages without getting discouraged in the attempt. Very good teacher.

By Kevin L A M

Aug 21, 2020

Excellent course, everything is shown in a simple yet effective way. Something that i would like to see is more code together classes, but still an excellent course.

By Lucio O d O J

Apr 5, 2017

Colleen is an excellent teacher and all of her courses are very well prepared and organized. This was the second course which I took and I am already on a third one.

By Michele F

Nov 26, 2015

Good sequel to the Introduction to HTML5 course. In my opinion, the best beginner level web design specialization on Coursera. Colleen Van Lent is a great lecturer.

By Ali O K

Sep 25, 2020

Its very good course for CSS3. Because the teacher not to try teach everything, she just give the keyword then you dive the codes. Very helpful, thank you Colleen.

By Fadoju O E

Feb 20, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. The lectures were perfect and I was able to get along easily. The asignments were a little challenging too but in the end, it was fun.

By Noemi Z M

Mar 12, 2018

I thank very much for this incredible opportunity. In few days, a very complete view of the wonderful world of styling Web pages, always thinking in accessibility.

By SHRUTI J

May 24, 2020

I found this course very useful.I have learnt a lot about styling my web pages and how to make them more accessible.Ms Colleen has been a very awesome instructor.

By Bernard d V

Apr 16, 2020

I'm a front end developer and this course helped solidify some CSS concepts I've had trouble with, especially the position property, with it's clear presentation.

By Daniel D d L S

Apr 13, 2020

I had no experience before taking these courses, but the materials given are really helpful for everyone to learn, and you end up with a lot of useful knowledge.

By Domingo A B P

Jan 2, 2018

excellent, very educational, interactive, good learning, sharing interesting content, also useful for those who want to learn as much as the one who already knows

By Adan M

Jun 28, 2016

Great continuation of the material in Intro to HTML5. Allows a quick and efficient grasp of CSS fundamentals. Highly positive and responsive professor and staff.

By Nicholas A

May 21, 2018

For a self-paced course, the hands on interactions were very detailed and helpful. The instructor's down-to-earth way of speech also helped demystify the topic.

By Sarah P

Dec 6, 2015

Great CSS course for a first-time web designer wannabe. It's clear and simple but pushes you just far enough to begin to feel accomplished. I really enjoyed it.

By José M G G M

Jun 22, 2020

This course is very good for starter in web development, here you will find all the fundamental thing you need so later you can practice and learn for your own

By Felipe R G

Apr 12, 2016

Es un curso muy interesante, aunque seria muy bueno que posea subtitulos en español para que así más y más personas puedan ver lo interesante que es este curso

By MOHIT M D

Mar 9, 2018

I Thank the instructor for the course.it was very helpful for me and well explained and practical knowledge was great.I'll suggest my friends for this course.

By Petrov A Y

Mar 16, 2017

Really worthy and interesting course. The instructor gives a lot of links to very useful materials and online tutorials. This helps a great deel in studying.

By Veronica D

Jul 10, 2016

Designing websites requires planning, a good sense of artistic theory, and creativity. This course is essential for creating pleasing (to the eye) websites.

By Joe B

Dec 8, 2015

Teacher takes her time to explain things very simply and builds up from there. Great introduction. Will be taking more classes offered by the same professor.

By Federico G

May 24, 2019

Me encanto el curso. Realmente lo recomiendo. Abarca mucho temas, la profesora es muy clara, tanto en la explicacion de los temas como su diccion en ingles.

By Menna M

Jul 30, 2020

The content , instructor and assignments were beyond perfect . It was very good experience that encouraged me to complete the next courses and learn more .

By Alena Y

Mar 20, 2016

A well paced and clearly presented introduction to css. This course lays out the basic principles of css through a set of practical examples and exercises.

By Kaila T

Nov 28, 2020

Very good course. Simple enough for the beginner, but at the same time provides all what you need to start styling your web page. The instructor is super!