Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to CSS3

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to CSS3 by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
8,162 ratings
1,673 reviews

About the Course

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

Top reviews

GC
Dec 19, 2020

This course helped me hone my CSS skills. Even though I had some knowledge on the subject, I understood and practiced many things that I had difficulty understanding before. Thanks, Professor Colleen.

MK
Sep 25, 2020

This course is a recommendable for all beginners who are interested in designing and styling their web pages. The whole course is interesting and challenging at the end of the course and I enjoyed it.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,645 Reviews for Introduction to CSS3

By Nicholas A

May 21, 2018

For a self-paced course, the hands on interactions were very detailed and helpful. The instructor's down-to-earth way of speech also helped demystify the topic.

By Sarah P

Dec 6, 2015

Great CSS course for a first-time web designer wannabe. It's clear and simple but pushes you just far enough to begin to feel accomplished. I really enjoyed it.

By José M G G M

Jun 23, 2020

This course is very good for starter in web development, here you will find all the fundamental thing you need so later you can practice and learn for your own

By Felipe R G

Apr 12, 2016

Es un curso muy interesante, aunque seria muy bueno que posea subtitulos en español para que así más y más personas puedan ver lo interesante que es este curso

By MOHIT M D

Mar 10, 2018

I Thank the instructor for the course.it was very helpful for me and well explained and practical knowledge was great.I'll suggest my friends for this course.

By Petrov A Y

Mar 16, 2017

Really worthy and interesting course. The instructor gives a lot of links to very useful materials and online tutorials. This helps a great deel in studying.

By Veronica D

Jul 10, 2016

Designing websites requires planning, a good sense of artistic theory, and creativity. This course is essential for creating pleasing (to the eye) websites.

By Joe B

Dec 8, 2015

Teacher takes her time to explain things very simply and builds up from there. Great introduction. Will be taking more classes offered by the same professor.

By Federico G

May 24, 2019

Me encanto el curso. Realmente lo recomiendo. Abarca mucho temas, la profesora es muy clara, tanto en la explicacion de los temas como su diccion en ingles.

By Menna M

Jul 30, 2020

The content , instructor and assignments were beyond perfect . It was very good experience that encouraged me to complete the next courses and learn more .

By Alena Y

Mar 20, 2016

A well paced and clearly presented introduction to css. This course lays out the basic principles of css through a set of practical examples and exercises.

By Kaila T

Nov 28, 2020

Very good course. Simple enough for the beginner, but at the same time provides all what you need to start styling your web page. The instructor is super!

By MARCIA A M R

Oct 20, 2020

Excellent course. The knowledge shared by the instructor is clear and accurate in order to develop the assignments presented in this course.

Thanks a lot.

By Koushik K D

Aug 25, 2020

I'm not from computer science background, but still I learn a lot, just for the instructors guidance. It's added a page in my career note book.

Thank you.

By Tamz T

Oct 19, 2016

Great course! Really enjoyed the topics and the peer-reviewed assignments certainly tested my abilities and helped boost my confidence as I learn to code.

By Patrick B

Feb 8, 2016

Great cource and following the Introduction to HTML5 perfectly. One is able to learn quickly and solving the assignment leads to immediate gratification.

By Kudva D P

Jul 16, 2020

Very helpful and informative for the beginners. Additionally the instructors knowledge is awesome. It was my honor to be a part of this course. Thankyou

By Sarmad A

Oct 22, 2016

5 stars. This course covers all the important and powerful properties/functions of CSS3. May be you cannot find this stuff in other online CSS3 courses.

By Juan L

Dec 31, 2015

Following the path of Web Design for everybody, after intro to HTML5, this course gives you the tools needed to experience what web design really means.

By Эдуард Р

Jun 20, 2020

Очень интересный курс. Я много нового выучил. Было бы неплохо еще русские субтитры добавить) Отличный преподаватель, отличный материал, отличные лекции

By Nad H

Jun 8, 2016

I find this course very useful!

The videos are well made, clear, and easy to understand. The assignments are interesting.

Grateful to the teaching team!

By Enrico F

Nov 18, 2015

Amazing course. The basic are well taught, now we have everything to improve it. I really loved the peer grading system, better than any autograder :)

By Sean H

Oct 13, 2016

Great course and a great instructor. If you are a beginner and exploring the other courses in this series, this will move you in the right direction!

By Brendan K

Jun 20, 2016

Really a great course. I felt much more comfortable with CSS after this course and it offered a lot of opportunities to make some interesting stuff.

By Camila A

Feb 5, 2021

Very complete, learnt so much! I had no idea what CSS was when I started, but I left having a good understanding of how it works and what it can do!