Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Embedded Systems Software and Development Environments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Embedded Systems Software and Development Environments by University of Colorado Boulder

4.5
stars
429 ratings
127 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the Introduction to Embedded Systems Software and Development Environments. This course is focused on giving you real world coding experience and hands on project work with ARM based Microcontrollers. You will learn how to implement software configuration management and develop embedded software applications. Course assignments include creating a build system using the GNU Toolchain GCC, using Git version control, and developing software in Linux on a Virtual Machine. The course concludes with a project where you will create your own build system and firmware that can manipulate memory. The second course in this 2 course series , Embedded Software and Hardware Architecture, will use hardware tools to program and debug microcontrollers with bare-metal firmware. Using a Texas Instruments MSP432 Development Kit, you will configure a variety of peripherals, write numerous programs, and see your work execute on your own embedded platform!...

Top reviews

HH
Jan 5, 2020

I have done a few computer science courses already and some of them were related to embedded systems. This is one of the best so far.\n\nHigher level than a introductory course.\n\nHighly advisable.

SC
Oct 9, 2019

The course was excellent for me, as a beginner. Of course, the learning curve was steep and the assignments challenging, but I learnt a lot. Thanks you Coursera and University of Colorado, Boulder.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 125 Reviews for Introduction to Embedded Systems Software and Development Environments

By NICOLAS D C

Jan 14, 2021

A great entry point for embedded systems.

By Raj A S

Nov 6, 2019

Very detailed and informative

By Lakhan N

Oct 29, 2019

Very well explained concepts

By CHAOUA A

Dec 4, 2019

très interressant cours

By Ahmed F M A E

Aug 26, 2019

Very Informative Course

By Julio E F

May 31, 2017

Great, but expensive!

By Akrarai M

Sep 30, 2017

Very good course !

By ROHAN C C L

Aug 7, 2020

Excellent course!

By Mikhail A R R

Jan 11, 2021

Excelente curso

By 丁竑傑

Feb 18, 2018

very helpful

By Lee C H

Jan 28, 2018

very good

By Vipul G

Jun 19, 2017

Good one

By NIRANJAN B

Sep 4, 2020

Super

By Kishore k

Jun 5, 2020

Great

By pradeep.L

Jun 4, 2020

nice

By RAJU R

May 14, 2019

good

By Vishal.p

Jun 4, 2020

Vg

By Erick C

Dec 10, 2020

It's a great course! With all the knowledge acquired in this course I finally get a solid base of Embedded Systems. In a practical way, I had to do a lot of research for the assignments, specially for the one of Makefiles. It's a lot of theory in the videos, but reduced practice, so I had to do several hours of my own research to get things done on the assignments.

By Karthik S

May 1, 2020

Course material delivery is of good quality. Peer reviews coding assignments are good to check if the assignments are implemented correctly. It would be good to have more assigments similar to the Final Assessment from this course, where the there are certain tests that must pass as it helps in establishing a validation criteria.

By Jacob A

Mar 9, 2020

There seemed to be a few bugs in the final exam outline that I had to work around. Overall content is a helpful introduction to build systems and cross-compiling, with a high-level overview of embedded system architecture. I don't like the requirement to pay to submit assignments.

By Ahmed A A

Jun 16, 2020

Material good and well presented, the programming assignements are fun but the quizzes are sometimes ambiguous and give you a 'hit or miss' feeling...Overall, I learnt a lot and I'm thankful for that.

By Alain B S

Oct 19, 2020

Actually very well explained and goes straight to the point wich is very good. The pace might be a bit fast for students who does not have any experience with EmbSys.

By Pakorn K

Nov 5, 2019

The course is good in general esp the contents but the assignment part has loophole that people use just to get them passed without doing any work.

By Mohamed A

Jun 12, 2018

Very informative course if you don't know about memory sections and Makefiles. But the last programming assignment is a bit uneasy.

By Venkata R C

Feb 15, 2018

Excellent course. Could do with more videos on Makefile and more interaction of the instructors and mentors in the forums.