Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Embedded Systems Software and Development Environments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Embedded Systems Software and Development Environments by University of Colorado Boulder

4.5
stars
482 ratings
147 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the Introduction to Embedded Systems Software and Development Environments. This course is focused on giving you real world coding experience and hands on project work with ARM based Microcontrollers. You will learn how to implement software configuration management and develop embedded software applications. Course assignments include creating a build system using the GNU Toolchain GCC, using Git version control, and developing software in Linux on a Virtual Machine. The course concludes with a project where you will create your own build system and firmware that can manipulate memory. The second course in this 2 course series , Embedded Software and Hardware Architecture, will use hardware tools to program and debug microcontrollers with bare-metal firmware. Using a Texas Instruments MSP432 Development Kit, you will configure a variety of peripherals, write numerous programs, and see your work execute on your own embedded platform!...

Top reviews

HH
Jan 5, 2020

I have done a few computer science courses already and some of them were related to embedded systems. This is one of the best so far.\n\nHigher level than a introductory course.\n\nHighly advisable.

SC
Oct 9, 2019

The course was excellent for me, as a beginner. Of course, the learning curve was steep and the assignments challenging, but I learnt a lot. Thanks you Coursera and University of Colorado, Boulder.

Filter by:

126 - 146 of 146 Reviews for Introduction to Embedded Systems Software and Development Environments

By Vidhi V V

Jul 4, 2020

It was amazing and great...Learn something completely new.

By Frank B

Nov 24, 2020

Good class, good knowledge gained, great instructor

By Malek M

Aug 29, 2021

This course is a must for every ES engineer.

By Bourama T

Aug 23, 2020

that is a great course

By Nerella S S A 1

Jun 5, 2020

good

By Beshoy A W

Apr 26, 2020

Good and easy contant and well explain

But i become so disappointed with the assessment it's so hard and not match the content

I agree it's about the learning contant but it's not easy like it

There weren't many examples to understand the assessment and do it easily

I made many Searches on Google to understand and to be able to do the assessment

I suggest and hope that you prepare some new videos to practice more and to be able to solve my assessment problems

By Rosa C

Mar 17, 2021

I learned a lot! I think the assignments need to be explained in a better way, sometimes they get really confusing and the instructions are not in order sometimes. As college student still, it gets pretty confusing on the assignments, I was lucky to enroll in the course with 3 other peers and we helped each other when we got stuck. Besides this, I did learned many things.

By Danillo M S

Sep 27, 2021

T​he course material is good, the videos are clear and the assignments really complete the learning. However, as a embedded systems introductory course I would expect more hands-on activities, flashing microcontrollers and debugging the code in the target would be the bare minimum to cover on this phase.

By varun m

Sep 18, 2019

The course is good and well structured, but do not expect any support from the instructor or moderators during the course. There is no way for you to review a decision during peer reviews. I had to upload the same submissions again due to incompetent peers marking my answers as wrong.

By Dwayne I

Aug 31, 2017

An interesting course but the assignment goals aren't always the clearest. While i understand the importance of code reviews, I don't believe that they are the best way to grade assignments due to the varying skill levels of persons taking the course.

By Matias S

Apr 13, 2018

The content is well crafted, there are some rough issues around the homework and the support in the forums is null.

By Xinyun Z

Jan 13, 2021

The topic is good but lack of maintenance in these days. Also, no access to the downloadable slides.

By Shady H M

Mar 19, 2020

It's a good basic Intro but does not go into details as I would expect.

By Ganesh S

Jun 5, 2020

Good

By eminent 6

Dec 12, 2019

While this course has some very good information, the way it's presented is really poor.

After the information tsunami of every video, at the end of each week there is an assignment which does a bad job of bridging the gap between what was taught and how it should be applied. It feels vague, and I spent hours merely deciphering the requirements of the project. The last assignment was a huge letdown - almost no 'true' embedded programming at all, simply pointer tricks, fumbling with makefiles, gcc flags, and print statements. It was a repackaging of all the other assignments into one ambiguous conglomerate.

By Tamas C

May 30, 2019

Listening to the lectures and reading the material is not enough to get more than 20-40% of the max score in some of the tests. The reviewers can give lower scores even if the assignment has been done correctly, just because why not, Coursera couldn't care less. References/paths are often out-of-date. Neither the Android app, nor the web interface displays the correct answers.

By wathek g

May 29, 2021

too much into software , very few practical embedded system knowledge

By Karalan

May 31, 2017

All are basics only. . . and its not a hands on training

By Kieffer Q

Dec 5, 2020

The lecture videos are pretty decent, but the quizes, tests, and assignments are brutal with confusing instructions, little to no examples or relevant resources for help. The entire course is littered with typos, spelling errors, etc. that need to be reviewed. The Final Assignment did not provide a solution to refer to after submitting it. I know I didn't do it correctly, but somehow I passed that last assignment and the entire course. This course is such a joke. I can see now why employers don't take Coursera certificates seriously. Seems like a money grab without any effort to actually help the students learn the material effectively. Such a waste of my time and money. Lost faith in Coursera and am now exploring alternative options like Udemy, which seem to be higher quality for cheaper.

By Astitwa R

Jun 18, 2020

I can assure you that if you are a beginner and thinking to get knowledge about the subject and learn something useful than u are at a very wrong place. If you are from India just go to NPTEL channel on youtube and learn from there because this course is a package of unnecessary high-level things without any explanation.

the professor will explain some topics well like memory management but will not explain about the practical codes (which are useless) he will write not even a bit.

So don't waste ur time just enrol in some other course or as mentioned learn on youtube.

By Eric S

Jan 22, 2021

There is no way to unenroll from this course. No way to contact anyone. The help center mentions an outdated method that no longer works. Do not enroll in a course here, unless you are certain that it's a course you want to take. The only way I have found is to cancel my subscription.