Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genomic Technologies by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
3,474 ratings
540 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

SS
May 27, 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK
Nov 20, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 537 Reviews for Introduction to Genomic Technologies

By Abhilash K T

Apr 26, 2020

Overall, the flow and the materials covered are good. I was really interested to learn the statistical part of the course, however, there were very few examples and the speaker went through all the materials like everyone here knows all the statistics that he was teaching.

By Nikita T

Jul 13, 2017

Mostly, it is an interesting course, although it is very short - if a person knows something about molecular biology, then it is feasible to finish it a couple of hours. Nevertheless, probably it provides us with a good introduction to the rest of the series.

By Sergio R B

May 29, 2020

I did not find the course on an intermediate level, it is pretty basic. The statistics parts need materials different than the videos to have a deeper understanding of the different parameters/calculations and what do they mean.

By Clara M G

Jun 6, 2020

could have a bit more application of analyses, at least the statistical parts. I enjoyed the application of reading the paper and answering questions. I am looking forward to the next section of the course!

By Khairunnisaa' B S

Aug 15, 2020

If you are learning this for the first time without any prior knowledge like me,this course is difficult and there are many technical terms which you have to memorise and know for the Quiz.

By Abdur R A S

Apr 16, 2020

The Graded quiz regarding the statistical part was a bit difficult and the course project article was also difficult to understand and the quiz for that was also not easy to solve.

By DIKSHIT A

Jun 30, 2020

1 star just for instructors English , it's really disgusting , he is saying too fast .

course content is really good .

He reminds me of Phil Coulson

By Giuliano B

Apr 8, 2018

Very basic and introductive to the following courses of the specialization path. Very clear explanation, waiting for the rest of the course.

By Maria T

Oct 12, 2017

Good overview, but not very detailed - very quick to go through and not for anyone who already knows something about the area of study.

By Suki S

Mar 20, 2016

This was a little light, despite the fact that this is not my area of expertise. It was a goo start overall, tho.

By Sana S S

Jul 30, 2020

The lectures were too long and drawling. It would have been nice if lecture slides and readings were provided.

By John M

May 14, 2017

The course is very concentrated and short. I suggest to add more time and explain things in more detail.

By Michael O S

Jan 20, 2020

Somewhat easy for an introductory course, but good for people without prior background.

By Jean-philippe M

Oct 25, 2016

Good introduction to the field

Good presenters

Poor illustrations during course

Thank's

By Kriti S

Jun 16, 2020

basic introduction. The statistics lectures were new to me. good for a start.

By Harshita M

Sep 2, 2020

Not worth the time for a person having a biology background.

By Dave S

Apr 12, 2020

The stats section in week 4 sucked. The rest was spot on.

By Junior B

Jun 27, 2020

A nice but sometimes to shallow introduction into genomics

By Angela P M

Jan 16, 2017

Good as introduction, but pretty basic for me.

By Sabila

Feb 4, 2021

requires prior knowledge

By 양은제

Oct 18, 2017

so fundamental

By ANJALI P P

Apr 23, 2020

It was good

By Donghui H

Oct 13, 2018

too simple

By Julius C L

May 25, 2020

SO hard!

By KLEBER P D S

Jul 4, 2017

I didn't like much this course because teacher speaks so fast (I always had to stop and watch again) and classes are so long. I'm not a native english speaker and, beyond his high speech speed, I had difficulties to understand him sometimes because some of his sentences are truncated (he starts to say something in a sentence and he changes it by the way, turning it into a difficult sentence to foreign people understand).