Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genomic Technologies by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
3,389 ratings
526 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

SS
May 27, 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK
Nov 20, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 522 Reviews for Introduction to Genomic Technologies

By José F G C

Oct 10, 2020

Amazing course and a great introduction for genomic data science, although people with general knowledge of genetics and statistics may find it a bit basic.

By Yemurayi H

Jan 12, 2021

Great intro course if you already have a strong bioinformatics/ statistics background. Easy to get through and refresh your knowledge of computational bio.

By MANUEL J P G

Jun 26, 2020

Even though most of the information in this course was familiar to me, I really enjoyed reviewing some concepts and learning new things. Thank you so much!

By Nishant S

Mar 18, 2021

This course challenged and provoked the ability to thinking in multiple directions to solve a problem. I am highly interested in doing hands-on exercises.

By Serimbetov Z

Nov 20, 2018

Very good introduction to the field of computational genomics. Good overview of how biology, computation and statistics are intertwined to study genome.

By suo y

Dec 19, 2016

introduce the basic but crutial knowledge about genomic technology, containing biology, computational and statistics. the course is easy to understand.

By J'aime M

Nov 27, 2016

I have significant background in this material. I enjoyed the presentation style and felt the quizzes and assignment were well matched to the material.

By Mariana L

Jul 5, 2020

El curso cuenta con el material necesario para tener una introducción básica al tema. Utilizan ejemplos de la vida real y videos claros para explicar.

By Alexa F

Jan 15, 2017

A thorough, yet concise introduction to the specialization and to some of the technical difficulties associate with genomic technologies. Thank you!

By Kejia H

Aug 17, 2020

Really enjoy the course. Steven and Jeffrey are both great lecturers and I like the way they make complicated knowledge into smaller, easier pieces.

By Esma N Y

Sep 21, 2020

It was an amazing course. There were lots of basic informations and details. Thank you so much for given this opportunity and such an informations.

By Eshwar U

May 3, 2020

Excellent - good material and presentation. It makes a difference to have people in the field that are excited about their work give the lectures.

By VENKATESH G S

Oct 30, 2017

Nice and Valuable Course by John Hopkins University, Hats off instructor. Due to this Course I have cleared many doubts on Genome and Data Science.

By Callie B

Sep 2, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. I found it highly informative and challenging. I would recommend this to anyone interested in genomic technologies.

By Ronald D

Sep 27, 2016

This course gave me the basic terms and tools to start the understanding what genomic technologies are and how they have changed since they began.

By Sitie F A

Mar 15, 2016

Good understanding of high school biology is needed to grasp the genetics concepts (chemistry too to understand 5' and 3' carbon number concepts).

By Vishesh S

Jul 3, 2020

Being a beginner as a System Biology student this course helped me big time to get knowledge of into, discoveries and progress in Genomic field.

By Deleted A

Dec 19, 2018

This course is an excellent one with appropriate difficulties for starters who want to get a thorough understanding of the genomic technologies.

By SHIVAKANTH C

Apr 29, 2016

Awesome course to get real time experience of learning 'introductory genomics'. Excited to look forward and learn from more of these courses.

By Manasi l

Mar 2, 2018

the math part was a bit hard but i loved the course!! it was really helpful and i could understand it even though i am a high school student

By Bryan C

Jun 17, 2020

It was a great introduction course. It helps me to remember some Molecular Biology concepts and Statistics concepts. It was a great time...

By Lisa H

Feb 7, 2020

Really informative course! Well presented, explains the basics very well (and briefly) at the beginning, so it's easier to follow the rest.

By Rajan G

Feb 15, 2016

Excellent introduction to the many different dimensions of genomic data science. Brings all the aspects together in a comprehensible manner

By Samuel M B

Aug 12, 2020

As a student with mainly biology background and a little stats, It has been a great experience to be introduced to computational biology.

By César N M M

Mar 31, 2020

Love it! Excellent material and instructors. Looking forward to the next course in the specialization. I recommend this specialization.