Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genomic Technologies by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
4,228 ratings

About the Course

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

SS

May 27, 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

NL

Apr 25, 2020

Great introduction to Genomics. The instructors really laid out the practical terms and gave great resources. Weeks 3 and 4 ramp up in difficulty, so some outside research in statistics is helpful.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 656 Reviews for Introduction to Genomic Technologies

By María A C

Jun 23, 2021

Excellent course! provides very useful information about genomic data science, biology, statistics and helps you become a better researcher

By Bryan C

Jun 17, 2020

It was a great introduction course. It helps me to remember some Molecular Biology concepts and Statistics concepts. It was a great time...

By Lisa H

Feb 7, 2020

Really informative course! Well presented, explains the basics very well (and briefly) at the beginning, so it's easier to follow the rest.

By Rajan G

Feb 15, 2016

Excellent introduction to the many different dimensions of genomic data science. Brings all the aspects together in a comprehensible manner

By Samuel M B

Aug 12, 2020

As a student with mainly biology background and a little stats, It has been a great experience to be introduced to computational biology.

By Xiaoshi D

Oct 30, 2021

The lesson include basic biochemistry theory and bio-statistic knowledge. And the professor are both professional. An excellent course.

By César N M M

Mar 31, 2020

Love it! Excellent material and instructors. Looking forward to the next course in the specialization. I recommend this specialization.

By Ishola O

Aug 24, 2021

This is definitely a great course for me. Thanks to the instructors of this course on how they made it simple and easy to understand.

By Aline P C

Oct 25, 2020

Excelente introdução sobre o assunto com ótimas revisões para refrescar o conteúdo na cabeça antes de seguir para os próximos tópicos

By Matthew A S

Mar 5, 2018

Fantastic overview. Really love the statistical emphasis and examples, these are critical scientific things many people seem to miss.

By Tran N H

Sep 13, 2021

A useful course that hepls me to upgrade my knowledge about Computational Biology. I hope to be studied some courses like that!!

By Aditi B

Apr 29, 2019

It was highly informative, engaging and as this is a field that I wish to pursue in the future, it was a treat for me. Thank you.

By Bill G

Jun 18, 2018

Great Course, well explained and enjoyable material. Professors are engaging and well articulate the desired information. Thanks!

By Nelson A

Mar 18, 2022

Excellent course. It can be very useful even for beginners. Although introductory, it manages to offer a good depth of concepts.

By Brian S

Nov 3, 2021

The instructors really did a great job explaining things in as simple of terms as possible, I feel like I really learned a lot.

By MILAY A R Z

Nov 11, 2020

Un curso muy completo donde el único y principal objetivo, es que el alumno (en mi caso) aprenda y aplique nuevos conocimientos.

By Kerry A

Jul 30, 2020

A great introduction for newcomers and a nice refresher for those with experience. Good equiliser and good start to the course.

By Mahnoor N

May 19, 2022

This course was bsolutely worthfull and informative for me. I have learnt alot about gene sequencing. human genome project.

By Gilson B d J

May 8, 2017

Excellent course!

I only regret one thing, not to explore Genomica's part any more, I think a deepening would greatly enrich.

By Shiyu_Zeng

Mar 29, 2020

I have reviewed the basic knowledges of biology in this lesson. I think it was great to take this class. Thank you so much.

By Lee S

Mar 15, 2018

A nice introduction to the topic. Some background experience will be needed as the information is reviewed quite quickly.

By Cheolsoon I

Jun 28, 2020

Great course but some explanation in biology is a bit hard to follow. A more detailed explanation would be much better.

By Abu Z

Feb 25, 2023

Amazing Course! instructor started from a very basic concept to advance and how nicely connected each video to other.

By Ricardo A L L

Apr 24, 2021

Muy educativo e ideal para introducirse a la genómica de datos y aplicación de nuevas tecnologías en análisis genómico

By Sudarshan G

Nov 2, 2019

Thank you so much for such a wonderful course. I really got an opportunity to learn genomic technologies from scratch.