Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genomic Technologies by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
3,505 ratings
545 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

SS
May 27, 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK
Nov 20, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 542 Reviews for Introduction to Genomic Technologies

By Mustafa A

Sep 16, 2016

This course is a great introduction to python, and probably helpful for anyone who doesn't know much genetics.

By Simran U

Aug 10, 2020

THIS COURSE HAS TAUGHT ME THE IMPORTANCE OF STATISTIC AND HAS DEVELOPED MY CONFIDENCE IN GENOMIC DATA SCIENCE

By Katherine W

Jul 13, 2019

This class was very helpful in introducing me to genomics, and it is definitely a career path I would choose.

By Dustin

May 9, 2019

A nice introduction and the project is good for the beginners like me to start off the genomic tech readings.

By Anasuya D

Feb 12, 2018

A good introductory course which lays a sound foundation for genome biology as well as genomic data analysis.

By Xiang M

Jul 19, 2016

I learn a lot from this course about very basic knowledge and history of development of genomic technologies.

By Eric M

Sep 22, 2020

It's a great introductory course, you may need to brush up on some basic molecular biology and statistics.

By pranusha r m

Sep 21, 2018

Very informative course to revise the important concepts of molecular biology and sequencing technologies

By Zhikuan Q

May 28, 2018

A good introduction to Genomic Technologies including molecular biology, computer science and statistics.

By Abe N

Oct 28, 2017

Great course, which I found quite relevant to my own studies and academic participation at my university.

By Janak B

Mar 20, 2021

This course offered by Coursera is one of the best and the institution offering the is the best as well

By Nauman A

Mar 23, 2021

That was a very amazing course. I really enjoyed it and learned a lot of new concepts from this course.

By Azady P

Oct 21, 2020

Overall excellent introduction. But quiz could be more focused. I found some questions not so relevant.

By annet k

Dec 5, 2017

I like that all concepts are explained with relevant examples. It was easy for me to grasp the content.

By Keaghan B

Jun 17, 2021

E​xcellent course to introducing the different fields, technologies and applications within genomics

By Jenni M

Jun 12, 2020

This was very informative and easy to follow. This was a good introduction to genomic technologies.

By Juan P P S

Jan 27, 2016

Excellent course for someone who has little background on biology and genomics. Keep the great work!

By Patrick A

Feb 19, 2017

Excellent introduction to the topic. High quality instructional videos. Mobile app works very well.

By Maria S Y

Sep 3, 2020

Simple enough for beginners! Just what I needed to get a good Biological basis for Bioinformatics.

By Bilal M

Aug 12, 2019

Awesome Course to warm up before diving into the detailed courses related to genomic technologies.

By Angela A H P

Nov 24, 2018

It was difficult, especially towards the end. But I dig it! And will keep pushing forward! Thanks!

By María E P R

Feb 9, 2017

This course was a great introduction to the world of the science and genetic, I'll recommend 100%

By Flores A

Oct 26, 2016

Great introduction to the topic of Genomics. Wonderful concised and easy to understand lectures.

By Arjit D

Jun 2, 2020

Gave a pretty interesting insight into genomic technologies present today and how they are used.

By Dipika M M

May 2, 2020

It was very helpful to me to learn Introduction to Genomic Technologies course online.

Thank you.