Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genomic Technologies by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
3,293 ratings
515 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

SS
May 27, 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK
Nov 20, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 511 Reviews for Introduction to Genomic Technologies

By Azady P

Oct 21, 2020

Overall excellent introduction. But quiz could be more focused. I found some questions not so relevant.

By annet k

Dec 5, 2017

I like that all concepts are explained with relevant examples. It was easy for me to grasp the content.

By Jenni M

Jun 12, 2020

This was very informative and easy to follow. This was a good introduction to genomic technologies.

By Juan P P S

Jan 27, 2016

Excellent course for someone who has little background on biology and genomics. Keep the great work!

By Patrick A

Feb 19, 2017

Excellent introduction to the topic. High quality instructional videos. Mobile app works very well.

By Maria S Y

Sep 3, 2020

Simple enough for beginners! Just what I needed to get a good Biological basis for Bioinformatics.

By Bilal M

Aug 12, 2019

Awesome Course to warm up before diving into the detailed courses related to genomic technologies.

By Angela A H P

Nov 24, 2018

It was difficult, especially towards the end. But I dig it! And will keep pushing forward! Thanks!

By María E P R

Feb 9, 2017

This course was a great introduction to the world of the science and genetic, I'll recommend 100%

By Flores A

Oct 26, 2016

Great introduction to the topic of Genomics. Wonderful concised and easy to understand lectures.

By Arjit D

Jun 2, 2020

Gave a pretty interesting insight into genomic technologies present today and how they are used.

By Dipika M M

May 2, 2020

It was very helpful to me to learn Introduction to Genomic Technologies course online.

Thank you.

By Ameya S G

Jun 17, 2016

Quite Informative. The course gave me a good background of Statistics as I am new to the field.

By Shivani S

Jun 26, 2017

Simple yet informative. I'll take it again or a similar one by John Hopkins if I get a chance.

By SILVANA C C

Oct 31, 2020

Amazing Course!! If you love this topic, it is your course!! Thanks Johns Hopkins University!

By PSD P

Aug 17, 2020

Great course content.

However, the final assessment is a bit hard. The questions are not clear

By Geoffrey K

Jul 10, 2018

Very clear lectures from experts in the field. A great introduction to online study with JHU.

By MD. H R

Apr 24, 2020

It was an excellent course that fulfilled the expectation level of the genomics technologies

By Kosisochukwu O

Sep 24, 2018

Great Course, Great Tutors!. Helped me get a lot more familiar and comfortable with genomics

By firoz A

Sep 4, 2020

Wonderful content, easy to understand and above all flexible timings to learn. Loved it!!!

By Luis S M F

May 13, 2020

Amazing course, it gives a great intro to how statistics can be used in biological studies

By Melania F

Jun 20, 2018

Really enjoyed it. It is a good introduction to what will come next with the next courses.

By Morgan M

Jun 27, 2016

Good introduction at an appropriate pace for people not overly familiar with the material.

By Ghulam F

Sep 11, 2020

Course material, duration, professors, way of presentation, everything was wonderful 🙂🌺

By Baskar

Aug 26, 2020

A bird's eye view for genomics, genomic technologies and basic statistics. Well taught.