Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to GIS Mapping

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to GIS Mapping by University of Toronto

4.9
stars
1,480 ratings
484 reviews

About the Course

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Top reviews

AF
Apr 16, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

BA
Aug 3, 2020

This course is the basic introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Out of all these Professor Don Boyes made is so entertaining. Thank you Prof!!!

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 481 Reviews for Introduction to GIS Mapping

By Manuel C D

Apr 14, 2020

En general es muy completo como base, quizás una parte practica en cada semana estaría bien y como proyecto final algo un poco más complicad, aunque completo me ha parecido un poco fácil.

Un saludo

By Carolina Z

Sep 14, 2020

Great course, very necessary for the people with zero knowledge of GIS, like me. It tackles difficult subjects but with a very simple approach that makes them very easy to understand.

By Xi L

May 19, 2020

Easy to understand. If there's more practice include in this course will be better. Hope professor can add more related data materials for students to practice with each course video.

By Prevena v p

Sep 30, 2020

Wonderful course! Easy to digest for anyone who doesnot have any background before. The assignments and activity is fun to do. This is very interesting as well as useful course.

By Jens B

Feb 12, 2020

Very good explanations of geografic coordinatesystems and projections.

I would give it 5 * if it used arcgis pro which, as I understand it, is the new platform of choice.

By Tsanyu K

Jan 12, 2020

A really good entry course starts with the basic concept of GIS. Students would have an opportunity to create their own map at the end of the course.

By Alberto R D

Aug 20, 2020

A very good entry point to GIS software. I like that the instructor not only explain how to use it, but he teach you the basis of every process.

By Muthanna M T

May 27, 2020

It was a good course, thanks for you. But i have one note that i think a gis mapping must complete with a vedio of the map layout, regards.

By Laura D B

Jun 4, 2020

Is a lot of theory, they can implemento some practical excercises, in that way we can explore the program following some instructions.

By Anna K

Apr 17, 2020

Very informative, Prof Boyes is a great instructor. One minor thing, I felt Week 1 and 2 could be abbreviated and combined.

By Gleyman A C G

Sep 10, 2019

Muy bueno para comprender los conceptos básicos. Me sirvió de mucho para la creación de tablas y geodatabases

By Anamika D K

May 13, 2020

Very informative videos and the instructor is very good at it.His instruments on every topic was standard.

By Jonathan C

Nov 11, 2020

I thinks it's a great way for the begginers, in this course the theacher speaks about the concept basics

By Vincent Y

Jan 25, 2021

Super introduction to GIS mapping. Clear and precise and the discovery of a great app for map designs

By Ahmed S S

Jun 26, 2020

this course have a lot of basic data and basics of cartography.

By Pradip S

Jan 30, 2020

A good course to learn the basics of geospatial tools

By HITESHKUMAR S

Jun 10, 2020

best MOOC for learning GIS software

By Muhammad F K

Jul 1, 2020

Good to learn. more theory.

By AHMED " T S A D

Sep 6, 2020

Great Course

Great Teacher

By Varun k

Dec 28, 2020

great basic course

By Reza A

Jun 21, 2020

Thanks coursera..

By Md. R K

Jun 22, 2020

Amazing Course.

By Alvaro A P C

Jul 20, 2021

Good course

By ABDUL M K

Jul 27, 2020

nice

By Edison M B Y

Jul 1, 2020

GOOD