Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to GIS Mapping

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to GIS Mapping by University of Toronto

4.9
stars
1,579 ratings
518 reviews

About the Course

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Top reviews

AF
Apr 16, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

KS
Aug 1, 2021

This course is all about the introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Don Boyes made this course very easy and so entertaining. Thank you so much.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 516 Reviews for Introduction to GIS Mapping

By Heleen B

Aug 25, 2020

This course has been very helpful for learning the basics on cartography and GIS. There's a lot of attention for some fundamental principles that need to be taken into consideration before starting with a map design (e.g. the consequences of the fact that the Earth is an ellipsoid, choosing a geographic coordinate system, methods of navigation, and so on). Many interesting examples of projects are provided, with a historical context alongisde!

By Megan M

Sep 20, 2020

Course material was wonderful but the peer reviews I received were very unhelpful. I do not necessarily see the point in having these types of roadblocks to completing the course if those grading your content are not going to give constructive criticism to your work. I received a number of low marks on my map but not a single note as to what was deficient. How can a student improve if low marks or reviews are not explained?

By Rishabb A

Jul 26, 2020

The course structure is good and thought out well. It is quite beginner-friendly and certainly helpful for people who are working to get their GIS certification. My suggestion would be to include more reading material and maybe show some additional map representations so that we can get a deeper understanding of how things work. Overall, it is a good course for beginners.

By Greg K

Apr 27, 2020

Well-organized content, though quizzes could have been better integrated into the hands-on material. One limitation was that access to ArcGIS takes up to two weeks, so it's hard to get much hands-on experience in ArcMap until the software is available. However, concepts could be tied to online versions of ArcGIS, which appeared to be available sooner.

By MELISSA E R E

Apr 12, 2021

It was a very interesting course about maps. I know that its the introduction of mapping, and it was foccused on the geography and geology on maps, however I would have love to have more practice with arcmap. The proffesor was great, very clear and even funny! :)

By SONU K

Jul 27, 2020

Lots of things can be learned fro this platform in a very easy way and this can be helpful in the career because in this modern technical world software knowledge is like a success of KEY. So please go through this and developed or enhanced technical skills.

By Manuel C D

Apr 14, 2020

En general es muy completo como base, quizás una parte practica en cada semana estaría bien y como proyecto final algo un poco más complicad, aunque completo me ha parecido un poco fácil.

Un saludo

By Carolina Z

Sep 14, 2020

Great course, very necessary for the people with zero knowledge of GIS, like me. It tackles difficult subjects but with a very simple approach that makes them very easy to understand.

By Xi L

May 19, 2020

Easy to understand. If there's more practice include in this course will be better. Hope professor can add more related data materials for students to practice with each course video.

By Prevena v p

Sep 30, 2020

Wonderful course! Easy to digest for anyone who doesnot have any background before. The assignments and activity is fun to do. This is very interesting as well as useful course.

By Jens B

Feb 12, 2020

Very good explanations of geografic coordinatesystems and projections.

I would give it 5 * if it used arcgis pro which, as I understand it, is the new platform of choice.

By Tsanyu K

Jan 12, 2020

A really good entry course starts with the basic concept of GIS. Students would have an opportunity to create their own map at the end of the course.

By Alberto R D

Aug 20, 2020

A very good entry point to GIS software. I like that the instructor not only explain how to use it, but he teach you the basis of every process.

By Muthanna M T

May 27, 2020

It was a good course, thanks for you. But i have one note that i think a gis mapping must complete with a vedio of the map layout, regards.

By Laura D B

Jun 4, 2020

Is a lot of theory, they can implemento some practical excercises, in that way we can explore the program following some instructions.

By Anna K

Apr 17, 2020

Very informative, Prof Boyes is a great instructor. One minor thing, I felt Week 1 and 2 could be abbreviated and combined.

By Gleyman A C G

Sep 10, 2019

Muy bueno para comprender los conceptos básicos. Me sirvió de mucho para la creación de tablas y geodatabases

By Anamika D K

May 13, 2020

Very informative videos and the instructor is very good at it.His instruments on every topic was standard.

By Jonathan C

Nov 11, 2020

I thinks it's a great way for the begginers, in this course the theacher speaks about the concept basics

By Vincent Y

Jan 25, 2021

Super introduction to GIS mapping. Clear and precise and the discovery of a great app for map designs

By Ahmed S S

Jun 26, 2020

this course have a lot of basic data and basics of cartography.

By MUHIBULLAH

Oct 22, 2021

It is a great course in which I learned about basics of GIS.

By Pradip S

Jan 30, 2020

A good course to learn the basics of geospatial tools

By HITESHKUMAR S

Jun 10, 2020

best MOOC for learning GIS software

By Muhammad F K

Jul 1, 2020

Good to learn. more theory.