Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to GIS Mapping

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to GIS Mapping by University of Toronto

4.9
stars
1,657 ratings
542 reviews

About the Course

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Top reviews

KS
Aug 1, 2021

This course is all about the introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Don Boyes made this course very easy and so entertaining. Thank you so much.

AF
Apr 16, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 539 Reviews for Introduction to GIS Mapping

By Suraj D U

Aug 22, 2020

This course has covered all key concepts of GIS and its software ArcGIS and Professor Don Boyles has taught it excellently.

By Jennifer L B D

Jul 30, 2020

Excellent course. The professor explains everything with clarity and using useful examples. everything is so understandable

By Rodolfo

Jun 5, 2020

Great pace, very good contents for people studying for the first time GIS. Videos are sometimes long. I enjoyed the course!

By AS-AD U N

May 25, 2020

Dr. Don Boyes did great!! He made the GIS more easier to the learners. Thanks to Coursera and of course to Dr. Don Boyes!!

By Joham A A S

Oct 21, 2020

An excellent course, with very good contextualization and explanation of the topics. Very happy to have taken this course.

By Ashiqur R

Jun 13, 2020

It was a great course.It helped me to get the fundamental knowledge of GIS. I am very happy to participate in this course.

By Juan A G

Oct 14, 2019

Excellent. Maybe a little tricky in the scale and projection areas, but I think all the fine for the first course. Thanks!

By Michelle Z L

Apr 29, 2020

Great course for beginners! The professor passes the content naturally and shows the application of the theory in Arcmap!

By Jared A D

Sep 22, 2021

Como curso introductorio es muy bueno, ayuda a entender en porqué de las cosas antes de adentrarnos como tal en ArcGis.

By Camilo A S A

Aug 4, 2021

V​ery good introduction to GIS, the explanations are very clear and the examples are helpful to understand the concepts

By César A V L

May 24, 2021

It is a very good course and with an extremely good teacher, with criteria and a broad knowledge of the subject matter.

By Luis R C S E

Feb 21, 2021

It is a very light and easy to understand course, they explain things about software, online services and their theory

By Mubarak G

Aug 26, 2020

This course had explicitly opened my eyes to ArcGIS and how to use it.

Wonderful lecture and easily understand.

Thanks.

By Prayush J

Jun 27, 2020

Very good course for beginners. Mr Don Boyes is the best for this job. Explains about the basic terms in full detail.

By Ruth M P C

Aug 5, 2020

The information it provides is excellent, thanks for this wonderful experience and I will continue with more courses

By Kironmoy P S

Aug 5, 2020

it's a great journey with Prof. Don Boyes. For beginners in GIS, this course is so helpful to understand the basics.

By UPENDRA R S

Jun 27, 2020

this course is very informative, but software need to make for free use to complete the task & trial also.

thank you

By Raul F

Nov 11, 2021

Great introduction to the topic and explanation of the fundamentals behind map making. Don is pleasant to follow.

By G K M N

May 17, 2020

Course is really good . Course Coordinator helped a lot through this course journey. Overall a good experience.

By RAUL M M

Feb 28, 2020

Very well thought of format and delivery of the course. Kudos to everyone involved in making this course. Thanks.

By Rizki D

Jul 24, 2021

Prof. Don Boyes, as a Lecturer of this Course, was such an understandable person for non-native learners like me

By Lyannie Y G V

Mar 10, 2021

Loved the course, I learned a lot and i want to continue the other courses, the teacher is great very inspiring

By Karim E M D

Jun 18, 2021

t​his is is very great and a big thanks to mr Boyes who is a great teacher, i hope work with him in the future

By Diego J S L

Nov 17, 2020

Very good course, the explanations are clear and very detailed. There are practical classes with the software.

By Ricardo D

Jul 10, 2020

Great introductory course! Lots of theory, of course, but very well explained. Don Boyes is a great professor.