Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python by EDHEC Business School

4.8
stars
1,098 ratings
310 reviews

About the Course

The practice of investment management has been transformed in recent years by computational methods. This course provides an introduction to the underlying science, with the aim of giving you a thorough understanding of that scientific basis. However, instead of merely explaining the science, we help you build on that foundation in a practical manner, with an emphasis on the hands-on implementation of those ideas in the Python programming language. This course is the first in a four course specialization in Data Science and Machine Learning in Asset Management but can be taken independently. In this course, we cover the basics of Investment Science, and we'll build practical implementations of each of the concepts along the way. We'll start with the very basics of risk and return and quickly progress to cover a range of topics including several Nobel Prize winning concepts. We'll cover some of the most popular practical techniques in modern, state of the art investment management and portfolio construction. As we cover the theory and math in lecture videos, we'll also implement the concepts in Python, and you'll be able to code along with us so that you have a deep and practical understanding of how those methods work. By the time you are done, not only will you have a foundational understanding of modern computational methods in investment management, you'll have practical mastery in the implementation of those methods....

Top reviews

SW
Aug 5, 2020

I am self taught in Python and have an industry background in Finance. This course was a good connector/provided additional insight on using Python to process portfolio performance and data analysis.

MA
Nov 29, 2020

Awesome Course, Great instructors that give a nice balance of theory and practice, the practice is very hands-on and will help you understand the theory and give you useful tools from the first week.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 312 Reviews for Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

By Mychajlo C

Apr 19, 2020

Quite interesting course for a person who has no idea what investment instruments are. However for same kind of person it lacks more practical part as to how to build portfolio (tools, platforms, time-related plans)...

Definitely recommend for all beginners

By Parag S

Jun 27, 2020

Designed by a top-tier Business School (EDHEC Business School) and taught by top level Professors (Lionel Martellini and Vijay Vaidyanathan) provides a high quality technical knowledge on portfolio construction, leveraging Python programming language.

By Aman j

Oct 1, 2021

A very well paced and detailed with respect to the Coding side, the Finance side can be bit short for someone who has not heard some basic terminology. Overall very good course for someone who wants to start with Asset Management using Python.

By Ciaran J O D

Dec 8, 2020

I found the course very interesting and educational. I think the course could be improved if the labs were more intereactive (e.g perhaps a concept is explained and then there is a pause for the user to attempt to write the functions first)

By Soheil S

Jan 4, 2020

A very robust curriculum with good coding instructions and explanations. It is helpful for even someone who has not any portfolio construction experience. But definitely need some level of understanding of the financial market.

By Wayne Z

Jun 14, 2020

The week 4 content is not as applicable as the rest, especially some code does not work well at my side. So it took me extra time to complete the course. But I generally enjoy it and look forward to continue the learning.

By Daniel A C C

Jul 26, 2020

It's really good since it combines portfolio theory with practice during the lab sessions. I would just like some more practical ecercises with the answers in order to get confident with the lab sessions.

By Jesús A J M C

Jan 18, 2021

I think it gives you an excellent introduction for the portfolio analysis and improvement of your programming skills. However, you might have a solid knowledge of some mathematical concepts.

By Svitlana K

Dec 8, 2019

The course is great, I enjoyed very detailed Python labs, they taught me a lot. But almost no support from the staff in the forums. If you don't understand something, you are on your own.

By Matt P

Aug 6, 2020

There is a tremendous amount of material to be learned in this course and it is quite challenging material but for anyone interested in this topic I think the instruction is excellent.

By Tim

Dec 27, 2019

Very useful course that covered some simple investment strategies and taught you to implement it using python. Recommended to those who want to enter the quantitative investment world.

By Trang N

Jun 26, 2021

I am grateful for bọth EDHEC and coursera help and supports. After finishing this course, I am now able to write some codes and I also know how to build a nice portfolio for myself.

By Thảo N P

Feb 11, 2021

The course is extremely useful. I understand more the investment strategy. I'm able to use python for data process. It's really convenient as compared to excel in simulation.

By Sean S

Jan 28, 2021

I found this course to be a great mix of programming and investment management principles. Both instructors did a good job of making the subject matter accessible.

By Miguel A L C

Aug 7, 2020

Great course. Professors explain very good. You will learn new things about python coding and definetly about basic portfolio construction and how to enhace it.

By Hector B

Feb 2, 2021

Really challenging and informative course. Assignments are a little bit frustrating and time-consuming offering a lot of learning opportunities.

By Hardik P

May 3, 2020

This course is not at all an Introductory course. It is quite advanced and requires a decent level of commitment to keep up

By Ng

Feb 8, 2020

A bit quick in the later part, but overall gives me the knowledge of finance theory and hand-on experience in coding.

By Nisanth S

May 25, 2020

A very beginner friendly course with more a lot of focus on financial concepts and how to execute them using Python

By Minshen C

Dec 3, 2019

it would be great if this course could be splitted to 6 or 7 weeks; the session of each week is too long now

By FRANÇOIS L

May 19, 2020

Very interesting course on portfolio construction with enthusiastic and passion-driven teachers.

By Alejandro C

Aug 19, 2020

Really great teacher and extremely clear. Wish there was more emphasis in learning of python.

By Johan G B

Aug 30, 2020

awesome course! The labs are really good. Maybe the lectures should be improved.

By Igor R

Nov 20, 2020

Very informative, though a bit of a mismatch between labs and lectures.

By Cheikh A C A

Apr 30, 2021

Very interessting course with examples of real world