Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
2,358 ratings

About the Course

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course doesn't assume you have any previous programming experience. Don't worry if you've never written code before; we'll start at the very beginning and work our way up to building small games by the end of the course. Throughout the course you'll learn core programming concepts that apply to lots of programming languages, including C#, and you'll also learn how to apply those concepts when you develop games. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Beginning (assuming no prior programming knowledge) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C# console application and Unity script Module 2: Learn how we store data in our programs Module 3: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 4: Learn the basics of Unity 2D games and take "Final Exam" “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Top reviews

MM

Jul 29, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

AN

Jan 25, 2022

I took up this course as a refresher after a long hiatus, but this would be amazing if I was an absolute beginner too! Kudos to Dr. T and I'm excited to complete the rest of the specialization! 😍😍🤩🤩

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 683 Reviews for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

By Ayesha M

Nov 3, 2019

I knew nothing about unity and it sounded so intimidating to me but this course gradually made me a confident beginner in game development in unity . I was also afraid of the process of debugging in unity but the professor explained the process very well i like how the tutorials are not completely scripted like the professor does make some errors and then he corrects it makes the overall learning session more natural. At leats no i know the very basic of game development like keyboard mouse game controller input spawning , applying force , screen clamping the thing that most of the advance courses doesn't cover. for a complete beginner especially who is not a very good programmer i would highly recommend this course

By Shan S A

Sep 15, 2020

I loved every second. There were times it was hard for sure, but if this is something you truly want to do, you will figure out the way to make the code work. You will find the error. Even if it takes multiple hours, you will fix it. Why? I have never in my life experienced such great teaching. Dr. Chamillard knows his stuff, keeps you engaged, entertained, psyched, and actually want to code. I actually find myself laughing during the lecture because of how funny, and witty he is. I am going to complete all 5 of the courses. Not just because I have a burning desire to, but because of Dr. Chamillard.

By Ria C

Jul 29, 2019

Extremely informative intro course with a primary focus on programming! I'm completely new to unity and have only taken an intro to programming c++ course. Personally I found the course hard to follow along sometimes and I highly recommend doing Beginner Scripting on Unity Learn first.

edit: I've finished the course in 1-2 weeks and am pretty proud of all the programming I've learned! For that I'd probably bump up my rating to a 5 star haha. It's a little sad that the end product as the final project isn't "flashy" per say, but it's still very much worth taking the course!!!

By Marcel

Jul 30, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

By Alison C

May 9, 2021

Spoiler alert:

LEARN SOME C# FIRST!!! Learn it even if you plan to take other Unity courses instead of this one! It will save you from some hell. Also, If you plan to earn (or IMO cheat / fake) just the cert, it will be very easy. You can complete all assignments with no Unity knowledge and only elementary C# knowledge likely you can learn in 1 day even without prior programming experience. Most of what you learn from the course are not in those assignments too.

The reason behind this, according to the notes in the non-graded exercises from week 3 and 4, is that the exercises are actually what used to be the assignments. Since those former assignments are not compatible with the course grading system anymore, they were left out as non-graded exercises. You need some extra discipline to learn the real stuff from this course, because the non-graded lectures and exercises are the real deal and I can't say it is paced easy and reasonable enough for someone looking for spoon-fed information. Even if you try to actively read the document, most of the time you will be at 30% understanding what's going on and 70% copying the lecture codes. It will make more sense to you later on! Have faith! (Yes I am speaking to "two weeks ago" me)

For hard-selling his book: It might seem so at the very beginning of the course. but you don't really need that book to complete the course. Also he's offering a free digital copy so why complain about that lol

I agree that the videos would be more useful if there is more screencast than seeing Dr.T shaking his body frequently. Also the in video quizzes could provide some more thought provoking questions than jokes and common-sense questions. That's why it's a 4-stars for me. You can really learn some Unity in this course and IMO it's still better than the famous one from U****(game***.tv), at least it's not putting in tonnes of theory, asking you to memorize all of them while none of them is related to the exercise part (and they don't explain what they are doing). Comparing these two, this course is more like "you don't immediately understand because Unity is that difficult and a bit overwhelming", while the game***.tv ones are like "you don't understand and we are not going to explain as you won't understand afterall". YMMV but I am going to finish the rest of the specialization.

By Eliza K

Jun 17, 2023

I really liked this course as an introduction to game programming. I probably didn't need it because I am already familiar with coding in other programming languages but I participated in it anyways (there should be an option to just learn the Unity Engine for people already familiar with programming). I think the best part of this course was the fact that it reviewed common mistakes people make when they first start coding in C#, which were all mistakes I made and learned from the hard way. It would have been nice to hear about common mistakes when I first started learning programming! One thing I didn't like was the lack of further math explanation. I wish that there could have been more resources provided for people regarding base math knowledge, such as a textbook we could reference or a list of math concepts that would be useful to know for the duration of the course. Overall, this course is great for beginners who want a structured way to get started with making games, and I definitely recommend it for those people. I would say that if you have prior programming knowledge in a language such as Java or C++, you can skip this course.

By Christopher W

Dec 13, 2020

Jumps a bit in difficulty towards the end, which may throw off very new programmers. I had no difficulty, but was taking it to learn C# and Unity, not learn how to code period.

By Kyle R

Apr 17, 2020

Although the majority of this course is easy, I feel the instructor could give more information on the the current week's assignments. As he tells you to do things he didn't really talk about in previous lectures and requires people to look up what he's talking about. Also, it seems that he does the long and hard approach to to coding in C# instead of showing the easy way to do things.

By Rachel B

Dec 10, 2019

Goes way too fast and IS NOT for absolute beginners. The instructor assumes that you understand a lot of concepts without ever explaining them and then focuses only on some of the foundation concepts you need to know to understand what's going on. The class structure is like this: 3 simple concepts and then an assignment worth points that uses those simple concepts plus 5 complicated ones that were never explained. The forums are dead and you can't really get any help to understand the concepts that were never explained. For someone who has never programmed, it is incredibly frustrating and confusing.

By javier g

Jun 29, 2020

2 stars, becasue it is not for begginers, I dont bealive the topics are well explained and if you are a beginner you won't understand. The projects that have to be done don't always allign with was shown during the videos. Too much code is done off camera with a brief explanation of what it does is given much of the time not corresponding with what you are learning at that point wich becomes distracting and confusing.

By Bushra Y

Feb 22, 2018

The instructor sound is monotonous. After deplying zip files not mentioned what to do? Until, the user bravel marks it complet only then how to choose environment is known

By Ong J H

Dec 30, 2020

There's a bombardment of terminologies that aren't very beginner-friendly; this specialisation/course feels more like a refresher rather than a tutorial

By Cannon S

Dec 11, 2020

It is not what you expect at all.

By Michał D B

Jan 8, 2022

Bruh

By Evan C

Nov 19, 2020

Excellent course. I was looking for something to teach me Unity and some basic coding concepts after learning C# on Code Academy. I feel like I benefited from knowing some C# beforehand but this course does go slowly and explain all relevant coding thoroughly. Definitely worth the time if you're interested in the subject. Two quick pieces of advice: #1 read the book! the book is great at explaining everything in detail when some things are glossed over in the course videos. #2 after you're thought the basics, I recommend taking some initiative in figuring out how to do some of the projects on your own, succeed or fail, because I felt trying to problem solve was a great measure of my comprehension of the material, and maybe you'll feel the same too!

By Ian J

Jul 2, 2021

I found this course very helpful. I had previously completed a course on 3D game design in Unity in book form and found it a struggle. This course started from the basics and explained them in a much more straightforward way. Dr T's style is enthusiastic and engaging and the exercises he sets are directly related to the material he presents in the lectures. The graded assignments are a challenge but if you persevere, you can do it! There are some additional exercises that were previously set as a graded assignments but are now optional. I would advise all students to complete these, especially the Asteroids game as they give you a lot of practice in problem solving and you can see a real game evolving before your very eyes.

By Aman Y

Aug 10, 2018

This was an awesome experience. I had been trying to learn Unity since an year. What this course provided me was a systematic approach of what I was trying to achieve. The content of the course was very precise. The course instructor was very informative and responsive in the threads though out the course. I really learnt a lot in this course of time. Rating my peers was also a joy. The assignments were needed skills but that was made clear through the lectures. Over all I would like to suggest this course to my friends and pursue to the next course. Thanks. Thumbs up.

By Hodder C

Sep 13, 2020

A very good introduction to C# and Unity for people who have never done Video Game Programming. Thoroughly enjoyable course and easily understandable. Provides clear instructions and in a suitable sequence. The Lecturer shows a clear passion for the subject and ensures Knowledge is transferred to the Student at a reasonable pace. With excellent use of materials and relevant humour throughout I have really enjoyed this first course of many and I look forward to continuing my journey with C# and Unity through continuation with the courses and the further future beyond.

By Marilou J

Aug 29, 2018

It has the right amount of a "challenging" course where instead of learning from the materials that the instructor given you will be pushed to look for other sources in order to complete the requirements and to look for reliable sources and to really and literally practice your skills. I hope to finish the course though but I don't have the luxury to constantly renew my payment whenever I miss a class and I was expecting for the course to not have an expiration date with regards to the subscription.

By CHI L L

Sep 30, 2023

This course is an excellent course teaching C# programming and game development for beginners. Along with other specializations and courses, Dr. T as usual did a superb job in breaking everything about programming and making it easy and simple. They are a really good starter in C, C++, and C# programming, game development with Unreal Engine and Unity across Mac or Window. Suggestions for people without any programming experience start with Computational thinking with Beginning C Programming.

By Faraz E

Jun 18, 2023

I wanted to express my appreciation for the course on Coursera. The content was clear and well-organized, making it easy to understand. The interactive quizzes and assignments helped reinforce the concepts, and the prompt feedback from teaching assistants was invaluable. The supplementary resources provided additional depth to the topics. It would be great to include more hands-on projects or case studies in the future. Overall, thank you for creating such a valuable learning experience.

By Roy M

Oct 1, 2020

Wow! I have taken MOOCs before, but this course was so much better than any I have taken before. It was closer to a true online college course. I enjoyed how the weekly assignments were structured so that (even though they weren't graded) you had to complete them to have any hope of advancing in the class. This kept me on track as many times I wanted to mark "complete" even if I hadn't finished the assignment. Instead, I forced myself to get it done and learned a lot in the process.

By Santiago O S

Dec 29, 2020

Great course, I learned a lot about unity and programming in c#, it gives you insights into how videogames work and the amount of work that goes into creating them. I encourage anyone who takes the course to do all the extra exercises and projects (like rock of ages and shipbuilding 101) they really help you to put into practice what you learned in the modules and give you lot of programming experience, you really learn a lot by doing shipbuilding 101.

By Muhammad H

May 4, 2020

This course at COURSERA is the best most appropriate course you should get if you are looking forward to become a great GAME DEVELOPER. I'm just a BIG fan of DR. T the course instructor he is my Favourite instructor so long the way he has taught this course with examples and a lot of in course assignments is just OUTSTANDING.

Tip: YOU Should take the whole specialization. you will learn everything needed to become a game Dev. from beginner to advance!

By Gerard C

Dec 5, 2020

I wish I found this course a couple years ago when I started learning about Unity and programming. It's a great introduction course and even I learned a couple things I still didn't quite understand.

Anyways I've got to admit for someone who has never done any programming at all it can be a little confusing at times, specially the last two weeks, but if you download and follow the course material and do the exercises it shouldn't be a problem at all.