Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
1,958 ratings
568 reviews

About the Course

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course doesn't assume you have any previous programming experience. Don't worry if you've never written code before; we'll start at the very beginning and work our way up to building small games by the end of the course. Throughout the course you'll learn core programming concepts that apply to lots of programming languages, including C#, and you'll also learn how to apply those concepts when you develop games. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Beginning (assuming no prior programming knowledge) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C# console application and Unity script Module 2: Learn how we store data in our programs Module 3: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 4: Learn the basics of Unity 2D games and take "Final Exam" “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Top reviews

MM

Jul 29, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

JT

Jan 17, 2020

Very good instructor walks you through every step and then has assignments for you to do on your own to practice your coding skills. Emphasizes using documentation and practicing fundamentals.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 575 Reviews for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

By Victoria K

Apr 13, 2020

It is really a great course for beginners. Lectures are simple and easy to understand. A lot of exercises to help you to understand and practice.

By Thanachote K

Jan 5, 2022

P​retty nice overview. I think the C# stuffs is a bit complicated for complete beginners to programming. But overall, it's a nice introduction!

By Bruno G A L

Aug 15, 2021

I loved the course!!! Although I took me a while to get used to Dr. Tim Chamillard humor... just kidding! Excellent professor! Thank you Dr. T!

By Rahul M

May 3, 2021

One of the best course to enroll when you are getting started with unity game developemnt and C# programming.A very good course for beginners.

By Fernando H P G

Sep 20, 2020

The course is excelent and handy, I never work in game programming but now I feel very confident to try it in the projects which I have joined

By Aakmal Y

Jun 17, 2020

Introduces Unity and C# concepts in one fell swoop. Get ready to spend more time of your day digesting it all, it will be useful. Very useful.

By Prithvi D

Mar 6, 2020

It was one of the best courses i have ever done. The course instructor is very enthusiastic and he just made my experience exciting and worthy

By Louis g

Apr 22, 2018

Great course, awesome instructor. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning C# programming for Unity game development.

By JAVAN T

Jul 17, 2021

Loved it. I HIGHLY recommend this for anyone who wants to get into game programming. Having a little bit of knowledge in coding will help.

By Marek H

Apr 26, 2020

Great course! Loved Dr. T's humour and the way he explains things. I'm definitely looking forward to completing the whole specialization!

By Brian R N

Nov 20, 2020

Really interesting course, and a fun way to learn the basics of unity and c#. The tutor enthusiasm makes the course a lot more engaging.

By Guilherme C

Feb 21, 2019

Dr T delivers a good introductory lecture and makes you research more about how Unity and OOP works. Recommended to do the whole series!

By Yi-Xuen T

Sep 10, 2020

Dr. T is amazing, love how enthusiastic he is. I find week 3 and week 4 classes a bit hard to follow but overall the course is amazing!

By Anirudh V

Aug 30, 2020

It taught me the basics of C# programming as well as Unity. If you are beginner and trying to learn this at a slow pace try this course

By Victor G C

Feb 14, 2020

This course is worthy to those who want to learn the basics of how to make your own applications using Unity. I strongly recommend it!

By K7 S

Nov 3, 2019

Your course is very useful sir. I love your teaching skills thank you so much sir you have made me to learn a new programming language

By Thomas J H

Jul 17, 2021

G​ood couse for helping learn C# and Unity. I highly recommended it for anyone who has an interest and game designer and programming.

By Ng J W

Feb 1, 2022

Great course that serves well as an introduction to C# and Unity. Though I would absolutely love to have more Unity-related content.

By Bitf19m003-MUHAMMAD S

Dec 23, 2021

This course is awesome for beginners. I already have programming background but still it's the best course for beginner.

Thanks Dr.T

By Zach W

Feb 14, 2021

Great introduction course for those new to programming/code, as well as those looking to get familiar with Unity and game design.

By Davi C M d A

Jul 18, 2020

Extremely useful course even for those who already have some knowledge of programming and want to enter the world of game making.

By Mohammad A A

Jun 1, 2020

Amazing Course, You can learn all things deeply and pretty well. And exercises and assignments are cherry on cake for this course

By Mahmoud F M F

Apr 2, 2020

very detailed and precise, in terms of teaching method. A great course to ease you into coding especially if you never did before

By swathi

May 13, 2019

It was very good to learn here,And easy to Understand each and every concept.Thanks a lot for supporting us through online course

By Evans T O

Jun 9, 2020

Though this is my first programming course, i was able to follow through the lessons and understand what was being communicated.