Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity by University of Colorado System

4.7
stars
1,424 ratings
423 reviews

About the Course

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course doesn't assume you have any previous programming experience. Don't worry if you've never written code before; we'll start at the very beginning and work our way up to building small games by the end of the course. Throughout the course you'll learn core programming concepts that apply to lots of programming languages, including C#, and you'll also learn how to apply those concepts when you develop games. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Beginning (assuming no prior programming knowledge) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C# console application and Unity script and learn how we store data in our programs Module 2: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 3: Learn the basics of Unity 2D games and discover how we make decisions in our code Module 4: Get and use player input in your Unity games Module 5: Complete final peer review and take "Final Exam" “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Top reviews

MM
Jul 29, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

JT
Jan 17, 2020

Very good instructor walks you through every step and then has assignments for you to do on your own to practice your coding skills. Emphasizes using documentation and practicing fundamentals.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 420 Reviews for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

By TikAcademy

Oct 1, 2019

I love Dr T's style and teaching, though in week three was my downfall because I could not omplete the activities anymore and querions or help resources are non-existant so, let's see how otehr classes go.

By Ali H

Aug 9, 2018

This course is so amazing, Its Funny its amazing its helpful i even bought the book i cant thank Mr T I mean Dr T enough this course is amazing and its very helpful couldn't recommend it enough

~ Ali hatim

By DAVID F M M

Jul 7, 2020

It's a pretty good course, I had some experience with C# and Unity and I was able to follow it and learn a lot of new tricks, although it may be a little bit too fast for someone without any experience.

By Marcel

Jul 30, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

By Luis F C T

Sep 18, 2020

Dr T. Is great at balancing both explaining things vs. having you sort and learn thing out on your own, you can see the effort and love he puts in his videos and that's really motivating.

By Elizaveta

May 17, 2020

It is incredible course for C# Unity newcomers! I really love it. Especially I like the professor's attitude to learners and creating tasks and lectures. Thank you very much, Dr. "T"!!!

By Masoud K

Aug 11, 2020

I'm glad I took this course because it helped me a lot to understand the fundamentals of game develop.

Everything in this course is great. It has videos, it had exercises. It's awsome.

By Gue C

Mar 10, 2020

It was very helpful to me, and make me get a priliminary understanding about C# and unity. Dr.T is very humor and his class is truly intersting. I can‘t wait to start the next course!

By MARTÍN A C L

Jul 6, 2020

I learned a lot! Sometimes the learning curve was really steep, but it was for the best in the end, learning to think and to solve the problems instead of just following tutorials.

By Chane D T

Apr 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course not only was it a great learning experience. The lecturer has a wonderful way of presenting the content and keeps you engaged while giving you a smile.

By Igor N

Sep 29, 2019

Till now, is very well explained! It permits the learner goes tracking the map. The teacher tries to inspire us through the lessons. Up to the present moment everything is good.

By Edward M

Apr 25, 2020

Dr. T is so much fun to learn with! His passion for programming is clearly seen in his lectures. He explains everything extremely well and makes the overall process enjoyable.

By Ernesto B J

Apr 8, 2019

This is a great course for those who want to learn C# for Unity. Dr. T is very effective in his instructions plus the program exercises will make you learn C# in no time. :-)

By Agustin A M M

Jul 19, 2020

It was very useful for someone who doesn't know much about programming, like me.

Dr. Tim is a very charismatic instructor and he gives very good explanations in each lecture!

By Marcelo J R

Apr 8, 2018

Fantastic course!

Dr. T creates the best learning curve by balancing perfectly the level of difficulty in their courses. Worth it even for intermediate C#/Unity programmers.

By Solaiman A

Jul 6, 2020

Great Course!! Many challenges!!

Week 3 and Week 4 programming assignments were a little hazy in description. I had to sift a lot through internet to pass these assignments.

By Gorkem O

Jul 9, 2020

Dr. Tim has excellent teaching skills. When you complete tasks, you became able to implement them on your own. I will definitely take other courses of this speculation.

By Jeyson J M N

Oct 7, 2019

This course is excellent the instructor Tim and his book were a great help during the course i definitly recommend this course to anyone how want to create video games.

By David F

Apr 29, 2020

This is a great introduction to C# and Unity which was excellently explained and well presented. A big 'thank you' to Dr. T, The University of Colorado and Coursera.

By Gabriel A G d F

Oct 18, 2020

Great course! It really helped me kickstart my C# and Unity learning process, the tests are great and Dr T. is really in-depth about fundamental programming topics.

By Aman D S R

Feb 5, 2019

I really appreciated the course, lots of things to learn for newbies (like-me) at times it can get bit difficult but you have to keep trying its they way we learn.

By Brian G

Mar 31, 2018

I have never programmed before, and this made it approachable, it can feel a little 'advanced' at times, give yourself plenty of time to research topics if needed.

By Кочев Г Г

Aug 5, 2019

The course is very interesting, I enjoyed it so much. Instructor Dr. T explains everything very good so I can easily understand programming theory and practice))

By Shafiq I

Jul 13, 2020

Amazing course! Very beginner friendly and intuitive. It has really helped me grasp the basic aspect of C# programming considering that I'm totally new to this.

By Jamie K

Aug 22, 2020

Great intro to C# and Unity.

I wouldn't recommend this course for someone new to programming since I think it would be easy to get stuck in syntactical errors.